We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Gables”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gables
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Gables”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Absolutley the best!! fully equipted condo,nestled in the Village.Close to all ammenities.I highly recommend this vacation spot for all those travelling to the Olympics,or just wanting to get away!!

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank LorraineL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

We stayed here for our recent Whistler vacation! I realize that all of these units are individually owned, but I imagine that many of them would have the same layout...

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit (we did have to climb about 20 stairs to get to the entrance of the condo - which was a little hard for some of our older family members) - one bedroom on the main floor and two upstairs. We absolutely loved the nice size and open layout of the kitchen, dining area and living room! It was great! All of the bedrooms were wonderful as well! Although there isn't a lot of privacy in the upstairs bedrooms (and this may have been specific to the individual unit we were staying in), as they are really lofts with cut out "windows" overlooking the living room - so no outside air from these rooms either, other than coming from downstairs. Also of course if you are in the living room you can hear everything from upstairs, and vice versa. That was the only con about this unit.

The location is the BEST! Right in between both mountains - but closer to Blackcomb Mtn, but super quick to Whistler Mtn as well! We loved the location!

All in all it was a wonderful condo, great layout and perfect location!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2007

My family and I have just returned from an excellent 10 days in Whistler. We stayed at the Aspens last year, which was very good, brilliant ski in & out for the Wizard chair, but a little inconvenient for the Whistler gondolas.

This time we stayed in a condo in the Gables. The Gables is excellently sited with a around a five minute virtually level walk to either mountain base, not a problem, even in boots. Whistler town and the Upper Village are also only short walks away but the Gables were quiet and secluded in their own wooded area.

We understand that the condos are all individually owned and therefore can vary, and can therefore only write about our limited experience: The condo was very well appointed with anything you could need and the owners could not have been more helpful, booking was easy over the internet and communication was also excellent. Our apartment was strictly non-smoking and with a useful entry hall where all outdoor paraphernalia could be left leaving the main living area clean and uncluttered. We used the Perimeter Bus service door to door from Vancouver airport, but underground garage parking is available if you have a car.

As you can tell, we are very happy customers and would undoubtedly look at the Gables again if (or more likely when) we return to Whistler.

  • Liked — Good quality, excellent location.
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Dannysdadski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2006

My family just finished a stay at a Gables condo in Whistler. As Condos go, the Gables units are pretty typical in layout and amenities with full kitchens, etc. They do however, include covered, secure parking at no extra cost. This feature alone is worth about $15-20CDN at any of the hotels.

The location of this property between Blackcomb and Whistler bases is terrific and a very good value in a resort where you definitely pay for every extra foot closer you get to the lifts. The property is nestled in the woods slightly below the Blackcomb Way street level. The footpath leading from day parking to the Blackcomb base passes the edge of the property.

The units are individually owned and rented. We found ours (#3) via the Alluradirect website. The rental process was easy and professionally managed with no surprises. One benefit of this approach is no GST to pay or try to get reimbursed!!

The specific unit we rented was very nice but could use some updating especially in the bathroom. It also had the noisiest plumbing I have ever encountered in any room anywhere. Forget running the water if anyone else was sleeping.

The unit lacked a second TV in the bedroom, so when it was time for bed for our child on the pullout couch in the living room, no one else could watch TV.

My only reservation about recommending this condo 100% is that the units may be noisy when/if the property is fully occupied. When we were there, it was obvious that the units above and around us were empty. Given the secluded location however, the noise of others will be the only noise you would ever hear.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Thaumaturge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2005

We have stayed at The Gables condos five times during the past six years and find them to be convenient (walk to gondolas), quiet and comfortable. They are not quite budget-class (e.g., spartan), but are quite reasonable compared to similar condos in Whistler. They're all individually owned, so decor varies, but of the three different units we've tried, all looked fine. And owners provide many personal touches like restaurant guides, discount coupons, backpacks for taking lunch, etc. We've tried some hotels as well, but unless money is no object, you can't beat these condos for the above reasons.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank PalyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 km away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.7 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: 4510 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,335 - ₹ 39,219
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing