We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location however was quite disappointed in room size”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location however was quite disappointed in room size”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I would agree with most posters here that this is a great hotel for location, the staff are friendly and the complimentary breakfast is good.

We arrived at about 1.15pm, admittedly somewhat early for a 3pm checkin. I had hoped that we could check in as the weather was miserable out. Unfortunatley the room wasn't ready yet, which is fair enough however the young man at the front desk said he would call me as soon as our room was ready. Alas we never got a call and we returned at 3pm to check in.

We had only booked one night in Whistler as it was just a short family getaway (we live on Vancouver Island) for my husband's birthday. I decided on the studio suite as based on the picture of the floorplan this would meet our needs (2 adults and 2 young kids) fine and it looked like a spacious room. However our room 4405 did not reflect the room on the floorplan (see picture attached) at all. Our studio suite did not have a breakfast bar as per the studio suite description and once the murphy bed and sofa bed were pulled out it was very difficult to manouvre around the room as the beds practically meet each other. There was a very narrow space left between the two beds and both my daughter and I stubbed our toes trying to make our way to the bathroom.

Had I realised that this suite had such little space with the beds out then I would have opted for a 1 bed suite. Price of course is a factor when booking accommodation however not at the cost of comfort. The floorplan picture clearly shows plenty of space even with the beds pulled out however room 4405 has completely different layout and little to no space once beds pulled out. I didn't bother going to reception to enquire about another room as I overheard them saying earlier that they were pretty much fully booked.

I have no doubt that had we been in a more suitable suite that my review would have been completely positive like the other reviews here. I suspect that this is probably the smalles studio suite in the hotel so my advice is that if you are going to book a studio suite, only do so if there's a party of 2. Really room 4405 is not suitable for more than 1 bed.
I did have an opportunity to voice my disappointment in the room at check out when asked did I enjoy my stay. I regret not having brought it up but with another miserable wet day ahead of us, I just wanted to head back home and put the weekend behind us. I had planned on doing the Peak to Peak gondola ride but it was very windy and the clouds were hanging so low hat you couldn't even see the mountains from the ground. Wasn't going to spend all that money only to be looking at clouds.

This was our first time to Whistler but hopefully we'll head back up again later this year. We can only hope for better weather the next time. Our experience hasn't put us off the Gran Pacific however there are lots of hotels in the village so will be checking out what kind of rooms they have on offer.

As a side note - if you live in BC check out their BC resident rate as it includes complimentary parking which normallly costs $25 per night so not cheap. The hotel carpark is below a public carpark which I believe only costs $10 per night so if parking is not included in your rate you could park here instead and save a few $$$.

Room Tip: Avoid studio suite if more than 2 in your party. Be careful with bathroom door. The lock is diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheelagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing a review with the travel community. I'm glad to hear that overall you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel and our warm, friendly service. At the Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre, we offer 2 Studio Suites and the floorplan online is the alternate suite to which you stayed in. I regret that we could not assign the larger studio to your family. On your next visit, feel free to contact me directly so that we can ensure your request for the larger studio is noted. We would also recommend our One Bedroom Suites as the ideal room size for your family of four. In regards to the parking available while staying at Pan Pacific Whistler, we do offer complimentary parking as part of our BC/WA Residant's rate and the rate of $10.00 in the attached parkade is from 6am - 6pm. We hope to welcome you back to Whistler soon.

Sincerely,
Nicole Leddy - Director of Rooms - Pan Pacific Whistler - nleddy@panpacific.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    287
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
649
488
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Coming from a tropical country, it was a real treat for us to have our very own fireplace. So we were thrilled to walk in our 2 bedroom suite and see a gas fireplace! It was cold when we visited Whistler so the heat was well appreciated.

Our suite was very clean. The 2 bathrooms were good sized with separate shower and tub. The living room sofa pulls out into a bed. There is a balcony, full kitchen. There are no laundry facilities in the suite, but there is are coin operated laundry machines in the lobby level.

My run from the hotel to Lost Lake via the running trail was wonderful. The lake is gorgeous and must not be missed. On the other day when it was raining, I used the hotel's gym. It was small but sufficient for my needs.

Location is great. Easy access to the village for shopping, street kids shows and free arts and crafts for the kids. Earl's across the hotel was great for dinner on one of the 3 nights we were there. Service was excellent. Concierge and front desk staff were helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was well appreciated.

Overall it was an excellent stay. We have no complaints. We will most definitely stay there again and even recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We got a room in the 4th floor. It was fine with us and didn't regret not paying extra for a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

We are just about to check out of this wonderful hotel after a 2 night stay. The staff here are wonderful and accommodating. We arrived early on the Rocky Mountaineer train and were just expecting to check in and drop our bags before returning later. The staff said we could check in (it was 12.15pm) and we got an upgrade to a higher floor. Our suite was lovely and had everything we could want. Housekkeping is excellent. The included breakfast has lots of choice and occurs in lovely bright room. The hotel is in a great location to access restaurants and local attractions. If I ever get back to Whistler or know anyone who is, I would definitely recommend this hotel highly.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We selected this hotel for its price and location, and were not disappointed. The rooms are fantastic, very spacious and have all the mod cons. We had a one bedroom suite, and although the view from the bedroom was of the Holiday Inn next door, we had a very comfortable stay and felt very much at home. The hotel has a wonderful exterior and certainly one of the more attractive in the area. The location was great and close to all of the amenities. Our visit was out of season, so the price we paid was extremely good and worth every dollar. Wished we could have stayed longer. Continental breakfast was included in our price and certainly met our needs with various cerals, toast, fruit and pastries.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We travel frequently to Whistler for weekend getaways, and have stayed at many hotels in the area. The Pan Pacific Village Centre is one of our favorites, and although it can be quite expensive, especially in the high season, it is worth it based on our experience.

Liked:

Fantastic location right in the middle of the main village. Although several properties, including the Pan Pacific Mountainside, are closer to the actual ski lifts, this one is still easily within strolling distance, and has the added advantage of being closer to the shops, restaurants, nightlife, and kids' playground.

Awesome service. We stayed with our two little kids during the shoulder season when the hotel was obviously not full, and were upgraded from a studio to a deluxe one-bedroom suite without us even asking. When we got to our room, there was a full complement of baby gear waiting for us, including a high chair, tub, a nice crib with bedding, and kids' bathrobes and toiletries. Fantastic hospitality.

Beautiful rooms. Our suite was one of the largest one-bedrooms we've seen so far in Whistler, and it was impeccably furnished with contemporary fixtures, excellent beds, nice appliances, a full kitchen, multiple flat-screen TVs, and a little covered porch. We thoroughly enjoyed hanging out in the room with our kids.

Free breakfast. You don't see this often at five-star properties. During the low season, it's a continental buffet only, but it's such a rarity to see complimentary anything at luxury hotels that it was a pleasant surprise. For a family of four, this perk can definitely help defray the high cost of the room.

The pool. It's not big, but it's heated well and has great mountain views. One of the hot tubs was out of commission during our stay, but there was another one that was just as nice.

Disliked:

Parking is expensive - but unless you're staying at a condo far away from the main village, it's going to be expensive everywhere.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and if you can find a promotional deal to bring the rate down a little, this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: They're all nice, but there is a big difference in size and space between the studio and one-bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowkarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.4 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,651 reviews
3.6 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
848 reviews
0.2 km away
Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre

Property: Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre
Address: 4299 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#4 Family Hotel in Whistler
#7 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,509 - ₹ 32,575
Hotel Class:4 star — Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre is an intimate, family-friendly oasis located in the heart of the Village stroll, yet a 5 minute walk from the Gondolas to both mountains. Complimentary perks include a daily breakfast buffet, wireless Internet, local calls, in-resort shuttle and slope-side valet ski/bike/golf storage. Spacious suites feature full kitchens, bathrooms and balconies and range in size from Studios to Three Bedrooms with Den. Enjoy spectacular mountain views from the sunny deck with salt-water pool and two hot tubs and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre Hotel Whistler
Whistler Pan Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing