We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A very nice surpise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Listel Hotel Whistler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Listel Hotel Whistler
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very nice surpise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Nice hotel next to the center with breakfast, sona,... for a very good price!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yweibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    419
    171
    56
    33
See reviews for
209
350
66
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed one night only. Reception/front desk was helpful and found us a room, quite reasonably priced (though I think charging $18 a day for parking is a rip-off). BUT, we were required to have a $100 breakage deposit levied on our credit card. Very odd. When we got to the room, there were some things wrong, which I wouldn’t ordinarily have complained about, but with this breakage deposit I wasn’t prepared to take a chance, so I complained about a table lamp that was broken, a missing TV remote control, a cracked sink in the bathroom, a broken cover on the air conditioner and a recessed ceiling lamp that was falling from the ceiling! The young man on the front desk was again very helpful and the table lamp was replaced, the falling ceiling lamp repositioned and the TV remote provided. The other two problems required more work. So, the front desk was most helpful, and the room was okay (apart from a very dangerous power extension cord that was hanging out of the wall socket because there were too many appliances plugged into it. A small child could easily have been electrocuted on the exposed plug pins, and this would have been condemned in my country!).

Breakfast, as others have noted, was a free buffet, quite well stocked in theory. Perhaps we were unlucky on the day we were there, though, because we couldn’t get near the toasters and the bagels, Danish, etc. The breakfast room was very busy, and people were standing around the toasters like flies round a honeypot, toasting bagels for armies – they were walking away with plates of 6, 8, 10 bagels! Never seen such a greedy bunch of people before.

When we checked out, I told the helpful young man on the front desk that I’ve stayed in a lot of different hotels (1* to 5*) in a lot of different countries in my time, but I’ve NEVER before been asked to pay a breakage deposit. He informed me that this was quite usual for hotels in Whistler, and that many required as much as $350! Perhaps that says something about the clientelle in Whistler – the behaviour at breakfast would certainly support that. Pity, as it’s quite a pleasant place (in a Disneyesque sort of way).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeMckinnon, Front Office Manager at The Listel Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to post your review for fellow travelers. The authorization of $100.00 at the time of check in is for incidentals. It is a very common practice at our hotel, and most in the world to my knowledge. It is to cover any potential charges to a guest’s room such as signing meals from the restaurant to your room, phone calls made from the room, minibars etc. It isn’t In fact a charge but a hold, and is released at the time of check out should no further charges be pending to the guests account.
Parking at the Listel is at a charge of $18.00 per night plus taxes. While parking fees are Whistler wide for the most part, we are one of the most affordable options in comparison to neighboring hotels in the heart of the village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Got a good deal on this hotel room, but there was no air conditioning and therefore we had to leave our window wide open and it was on the parking lot side and we could hear everything! Nevertheless, had a horrible night's rest. Also, no swimming pool, just a jacuzzi that was always packed full of people.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The elevators and rooms do not have air conditioning, meaning on a fair summer day it is impossible to get to sleep

Terrible value, won't be booking here again

Room Tip: Choose air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_M0ckf0rd, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 7 October 2015
I am sorry to read that you didn't have a good stay with us, we do have a number of rooms without air-conditioning, typically due to our mountain location its not an issue, but when it occasionally gets very hot it can be a problem.

Again my apologies,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.2 km away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Whistler? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Whistler

Property: The Listel Hotel Whistler
Address: 4121 Village Green | Blackcomb - Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,237 - ₹ 35,212
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Whistler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Listel Hotel Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whistler
Whistler Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing