We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baths are OK. Massage made it worth it.”

Scandinave Spa Whistler
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 174.11*
and up
Whistler Mountains and Adventures Tour Including Admission to Scandinave Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Spas & Wellness in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This spectacular 20 000 sq ft outdoor spa nestled on 3 acres of land and overlooking Whistler’s incredible landscape offers the Scandinavian baths experience, also known as hydrotherapy. Renowned for their energizing and relaxing properties, the baths cleanse the skin, improve physical conditioning and promote a sense of well-being. For the ultimate relaxation the Scandinave Spa offers Swedish, Sports, Deep tissue, Thai Yoga and Hot stone massage in its 14 room massage pavilion.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I guess we got spoiled at the Fiesta Americana Bath Spa in Cancun so this was just OK.

Thank Martinez78414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 994 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

My girlfriend and I had been really looking forward to going to the Scandinave Spa as we had heard great things about it. We booked a couples massage package with RMTs, and we couldn't make it to the appointment on time due to unexpected traffic congestion in downtown Vancouver that set us back a good half an hour.
Upon arrival, the front desk lady saw that we only had 15 minutes left to our massage appointment, so without speaking about it to us, she handed us our towels and bathrobes, and instructed for us to use the pool facilities.

As we were using the different pools, we noticed there were 2 noise police dressed from head to toe in black who walked from pool to pool to stare at the guests to enforce the silence rule. It's funny to me that no one had informed us of this complete silence policy when we booked the appointments. It was even funnier to see the grown adults around us having to whisper amongst themselves so that they would not be caught conversing. While we were inside the sauna room, we were startled to have the silence police stick his head in the door to watch to see if anyone was talking, then left.

When we were finished with the pools, we went to their bistro to have a light snack. We ordered a butternut squash soup, paid for it, then got seated to wait for the soup. While waiting, we saw from out our window that the 2 silence police had a routine to go from area to area constantly, so their route got them to stop by each area every 15 - 20 minutes to disrupt any peace or relaxation the guests were having. It felt more like a prison to me. We waited, waited, waited, until 20 minutes later, my girlfriend went to the cashier to ask if they were still cooking the soup or something. The lady cashier (which was actually the same lady we had check us into the facility) said, "Oh.... I forgot." She scooped up the soup from a pot and gave it to us.

Once we were all finished and ready to leave, we stopped by front desk to ask for our receipts. We had to wait another 15 minutes before we got to speak with the only guy working at the front desk. A long line of customers was forming behind us. We were quick shocked to be informed that they would not give us the receipts, as we were late and giving us receipts would be fraud. Had we known this we would've had the 15 minute massage we had left just so we could get our receipts. We personally thought that it was fraud that the Scandinave Spa was happily taking our full payment even though we didn't get the massage then said they wouldn't provide any receipts for it.

Overall, our experience at this spa was terrible to say the least. In comparison to other spas within this price range, this spa is quite a shame. Poor and slow service, silence police so intrusive that they ironically offer anything but relaxation and peace of mind, and a business that will happily take your money without providing anything of value. Highly disappointing.

9  Thank Liya-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandinaveManager, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinave Spa Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Hello Liya-B

Thank you for visiting the Scandinave Spa Whistler and sharing your experience.
It is disappointing to read that we were not able to meet your expectation as we always strive to deliver the highest level of Guest Services.

Here at the Scandinave Spa Whistler we believe silence is essential to the experience. By embracing silence, one finds inner stillness, leading to complete relaxation. Our outdoor attendants are trained to approach guest in a peaceful and respectful manner to maintain silence on site to enhance all guests’ experiences. our lobby and cafe area is a great place to come lounge and chit chat. We can certainly understand your comment in regards to the uniform and are currently in the process of switching to a softer color.

Thank you again for visiting and sharing your feedback with us and a manager will be contacting to follow up in regards to your visit.

Relaxing Regards,

Scandinave Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stunning views, spotless inside and out, quiet, decadent experience.

Thank pikelake6951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

unique experience. have been to many spas but no other on the side of a mountain with those views.

Thank Bearwalker0481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We've been to Whistler a few times during summer months, and we thought we'd try the spa as something different (we're typically outdoorsy, active people). We love relaxing her for 3+ hours in the different pools, steam room, sauna, hammocks... and the facilities are clean while the service is pleasant. Worth the stop and entry fee!

Thank seattlebartlettpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scandinave Spa Whistler also viewed

 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Scandinave Spa Whistler? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing