We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,050)
Filter reviews
4,050 results
Traveller rating
2,739
847
293
106
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,739
847
293
106
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold floor mallard lounge wildflower restaurant health club blackcomb mountain beautiful hotel upper village slope side ski valet hot chocolate self parking valet service steam room end of the day apres ski outdoor pool four seasons
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 4,050 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Wonderful vacation, everyone knew that it was our birthdays and we were greeted with a special cake presented in our room. We were upgraded to a mountain view, on the top floor. The room was lovely, well cared for daily and we both slept like babies! It was a time away just for us and we enjoyed every day. Thank you for making this a wonderful experience, our first trip to Canada.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank lindaf6332018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear lindaf6332018,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your most recent stay with Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We appreciate your feedback, and are so pleased we were able to make your birthday experience and your first time in Canada a memorable one!

Thank you for choosing to stay with Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We had an 11 night stay at the Fairmont and had a wonderful time. All staff were very friendly and happy to help in any way. Check in was smooth and straightforward. Our room for a family of 4 could have had more storage and been slightly larger. The beds were extremely comfortable along with the pillows and the room was cleaned nicely every day. The turndown service was good with fresh water provided. We had breakfast at the hotel each morning, over the Easter period there were a few times we had to wait for a table but we didn’t have to wait too long. Breakfast had an enormous choice and was of good quality. We booked the grill house for 1 evening and our food was excellent. The pool/spa area was lovely and nice to sit in after skiing. It was particularly nice to have the option to have cocktails whilst in the pool! The ski hire was within the hotel which was particularly handy, it was always very busy which did mean that we didn’t get our preferred equipment sizes and they always seemed to run out of ski poles. Although there was a valet service for ski boots, we did this once and never again. We were lucky to receive the correct shoes back, others were not so fortunate. Ski lockers would work so much better. The ski valet at the bottom of the slopes however worked really well, including the hot chocolate. This hotel is in a wonderful ski in and ski out location at the bottom of Blackcomb mountain. We always walked to whistler village as it’s not far at all but there was a courtesy hotel bus provided that picked up and dropped off at various locations. The hotel provided daily newsletters on what activities were available on the day which was a nice touch. Really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Roweys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Roweys,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Fairmont Chateau Whistler over Easter for extended stay of eleven nights. It was a pleasure to read your family had an outstanding experience in all regards, from dining at the grill room & breakfast to our outdoor pool facilities. We will certainly share your feedback with our departments for recognition of their efforts in ensuring your stay was memorable! Please know we will also relay your comments about the ski valet service back to Vail Resorts who owns and operates this offering. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your family during your time in Whistler and reassure you it will be followed up with.

Roweys, thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor - we appreciate your feedback as well as the chance to connect with you again!

On behalf of the team at Fairmont Chateau Whistler, we look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We held our annual business meeting at the Fairmont for three days in April and we’re not disappointed. Overall, it was an excellent stay.
Rooms: the rooms are standard size but extremely clean with comfy beds. If you face the mountain you may hear noise from the outdoor pools. Housekeeping was excellent.
Gym: the gym is small but has standard equipment (treadmills, bikes, stair climbers) and a small area for weights. It was fine although a bit crowded. Apparently there is a yoga class offered twice a day.
Pools: There are several heated outdoor pools. I didn’t try them but it looked great.
Meeting facilities: the meeting rooms were fairly standard but the service was excellent. Very friendly staff and excellent food. We had the best bartenders in our hospitality suite (thank you Martin!) They were so accommodating and very friendly. Fairmont knows what they’re doing in this department.
Shuttles: The town center is a very short walk (7 minutes) but there is also a free shuttle that runs every 10 minutes and is very handy.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. When booking a business meeting, Fairmont always delivers.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Katrina718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Katrina718,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent meeting experience and stay with Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We appreciate your feedback, and the opportunity to connect with you again!

Katrina, it was such a pleasure to read you had an outstanding conference from your guest room to hotel amenities and of course the service. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with the utmost in service excellence so it was delightful to know your experience was exemplary of this. Please know we will share your comments back with our departments for recognition of their efforts - particularly to Martin and his direct supervisor.

Thank you once again for choosing Fairmont Chateau Whistler for your Conference; we cannot wait to welcome you back with us in the future for another memorable experience in Whistler!

Sincerely,
Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for the Easter half term. Where to start... Firstly the staff are super friendly and nice. Also, the hotel has just the right amount of modern features but still being sympathetic to its surroundings and providing that cosy feel which we wanted whilst on a skiing break. Portobello serves very tasty food with lots of choice and the staff there are great. Also, the Mallard serves lovely food in a nice setting with a good atmosphere, also as I am vegetarian they were more than happy to adapt meals for me or make me pretty much anything I asked for. Always, a sign of a great restaurant. The pool was lovely and warm and had views of the mountain. The ski services I.e Rentals, valet, bookings were easy and a great service. Ski in ski out to Blackcomb mountain on the doorstep. Lots of restaurants, bars and shops on site. Only a five minute trail walk to the village where we went each nights. Btw Whistler village is one of the most beautiful places I’ve been and I have been to a lot. It’s quaint yet has plenty going on. We will definitely be back to visit again and will be stopping at the Fairmont in the very near future.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Reh0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Reh0911,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your most recent stay with Fairmont Chateau Whistler during Easter! We are so thrilled to read you enjoyed all aspects of your experience, from dining to our hotel amenities. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back with us in the nearest future for another memorable stay in beautiful Whistler!

Sincerely,
Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

We came up to relax. A little get away treat from my partner to help me relax after the passing of my mom. We booked through the discount site so we did not know the property we would be staying at until we booked & paid for it. At check-in the women checking us in tried to up sell our room with promotions & she talked so fast we could not understand her. Reminded us of time shares sales techniques. The dining is outrageously priced - $32 for an omeltte $5 for coffee I would recommend you go next door. Funny thing is that it's part of the hotel but not listed in their dining information in the brochure in the room. $25 plus tax to rent a movie. The icing on the cake was waking up with the bill that someone had slipped under our door while we were sleeping. Tacky, Tacky, Tacky!!! So distasteful...We have stayed in many hotels & never have this happen - EVER!!! Made us feel like they thought we would leave without checking out & settling up the bill. Even if we had they swipe your credit card when you check-in. So much for making our stay a relaxing one.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Happiernowkim58,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your most recent stay with Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We appreciate all guests feedback, both positive and constructive to ensure we are delivering on our promise for excellence.

Happiernowkim58, it was disappointing to read your experience with us fell below your expectations. We would like to take this opportunity to both apologize and address the challenges you had during your time with us.

Please accept our apologies that you found your check in experience to be an unpleasant one. As one of the first if not the very first guest touch points in the hotel, we understand the importance of a great first impression in setting the tone of your entire stay. Although we extend all our guests the opportunity to upgrade their guest room based on inventory, we apologize that you found the agent's messaging to be too sales inclined. We will be sharing this with our Guest Services Manager to review and potentially adjust this particular agent's approach and emphasize the priority a warm welcome.

In addition, we are very sorry you found our dining options to be costly. As it relates to the restaurant next door, we are unsure if you were referring to our restaurant Portobello. If so, we assure you that this option is most certainly listed in the our guest rooms dining brochure. In comparison to the Wildflower restaurant, Portobello would be more cost effective as coffee would be a self serve option. Please feel free to direct message us with more information should we be mistaken about the restaurant.

As a Fairmont standard, our team does place a copy of your bill under your guest room door. This is a feature our guests typically both expect and enjoy as it offers them the opportunity to review their bill before they reach check out. Once again, we apologize you found this standard to be distasteful and more so that it had impacted your sleep. We will be relaying your comments to our Housekeeping Supervisors to ensure their team is being as quite as possible when placing this under a guestroom door.

Happiernowkim58, we are very sorry your Fairmont experience was a poor one and perhaps more so that we were unable to turn it around during your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on this platform - we will most certainly continue review the challenges you brought forth for further areas of opportunity.

Sincerely,

Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews