We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to splurge yourself.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice way to splurge yourself.”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

First fairmont I have ever stayed at. I thought that I should be there. I stay at cheaper hotels from time to time because I always think its a place to sleep. Not experience.

When I checked in, somehow we were upgraded to the president club floor. That's a nice start. Don't know what I did to deserve this, but I will take it.

Rooms. They are so nice and make you feel like you are on a ski lodge vacation. Beds are very comfortable, and the bathrooms are very clean and modern.

Location. If you ski, this is a great place for the location . So close to blackcomb. You are a short 5 min walk to the village for restaurants and entertainment.

Price. Just sign up for their newsletter as you can get some great deals.

Staff. Top notch. They are there to make your stay the best.

Pool and gym. Loved the pool. Big enough not to be crowded, and options for laying around or do laps. The hot tubs are very nice as you can relax and stare at the mountains. The gym has very modern equipment to get your workout on.

Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrentP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,265
    719
    255
    90
    52
See reviews for
1,033
1,179
82
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

First, the concierge desk went above and beyond in helping my family from the moment we stepped into the hotel. I'm always afraid that booking a higher class hotel like the Fairmonts or the Ritz-Carlton would result in the staffs treating the medium to medium-high class families like mine a bit different because we aren't rolling in money. It was obvious that we were penny pitching in order to afford this hotel. This was not the case. Regardless of how much of a hillbilly my husband acts (and dresses sometimes ...), all the staffs we encountered from the room service to the front desk, the valets, ski/board check, and the spa staffs down to the pool cleaning ladies... they were absolutely amazing. The staffs get 12/10 :)

The ski in/out location was great and the 3 hot tubs were absolutely amazing. We really enjoyed soaking our sore bodies in the tub and ordering drinks right from the pool area after a long day on the mountain. They also have indoor/outdoor pool that stays warm as well, but we primarily just stayed in the tub. It was pretty busy -- so it we had to walked around and sneaked in the tub when people got up. But aside from that, the tub was wonderful.

Tried several room service. Food were delicious and fast. Price was high as expected, but I don't think it was outrageous, esp since the food quality was good. After all, it was Fairmont, so I won't compare that to Comfort Inn or Courtyard. The restaurants attached were just OK -- I recommend that you walk to the village for food or even to Milestone restaurant right next door.

Knocked out 1 star from it being quite a walk from the village area. If you prefer somewhere more upbeat with more things to do after being on the mountain, try Pan Pacific hotel near the village. They are also a ski in/out location and they have amazing Irish Pub and Restaurant attached with absolutely amazing foods and beers! But if all you want to do is relax and to be left alone -- this is the place for you :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyxisPaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Made a trip to Whistler for NYE and stayed at the Fairmont. Considering the rooms rates were around $600-$700 per night I had some expectations. I must say that the building itself and the common areas are very beautiful. The location in the village is somewhat isolated and can be a plus or minus depending on what you are looking for. Unfortunately the service levels were not there. Walking into the lobby with tons of bags and ski gear workers just walked right by us not offering any baggage assistance. Check in was neither quick nor smooth, as there was confusion with our booking. Our room was average at best, smallish, and with a dated bathroom. The biggest issue we had was with the ski valet on the property. A number of times when coming or going from the hotel to the slopes the valet was nowhere to be found and I had to find someone to come get my skis. This was very irritating and unacceptable especially for a property of this stature. Our favorite thing about the resort was the outdoor pool and hot tubs, however, the drink service was so spotty that we never had the chance to even get a drink. Overall I was rather disappointed with the Fairmont Chateau Whistler and would probably not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagotraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your time with us over New Year's Eve, and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay. Please contact the Front Office Management team at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com. We look forward to restoring your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Classy and elegant hotel that needs upgrading badly-like any old grand dame
Havent seen flip up light switches in a decade even in a 2 star hotel, furniture weathered and battered
Pool , hot tub jacuzzi , area very nice, good wine selection at bar, excellent service

Room Tip: Higher rooms afford nice mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Have stayed here numerous times. The pools/hot tubs always make us come back. They are amazing! Hard to beat sitting outside in the hot tub with the snow falling on you enjoying a beer. Rooms are nice and comfortable in typical Fairmont style (lots of floral). Location is in the Upper Village which is a ten minute walk to the main village. We prefer to stay up here because it is a bit quieter than the main village but still has some good restaurants/bars. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_traveling_pants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
4.2 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,893 reviews
0.7 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,654 reviews
0.8 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,732 reviews
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,901 - ₹ 53,925
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing