We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Made a trip to Whistler for NYE and stayed at the Fairmont. Considering the rooms rates were around $600-$700 per night I had some expectations. I must say that the building itself and the common areas are very beautiful. The location in the village is somewhat isolated and can be a plus or minus depending on what you are looking for. Unfortunately the service levels were not there. Walking into the lobby with tons of bags and ski gear workers just walked right by us not offering any baggage assistance. Check in was neither quick nor smooth, as there was confusion with our booking. Our room was average at best, smallish, and with a dated bathroom. The biggest issue we had was with the ski valet on the property. A number of times when coming or going from the hotel to the slopes the valet was nowhere to be found and I had to find someone to come get my skis. This was very irritating and unacceptable especially for a property of this stature. Our favorite thing about the resort was the outdoor pool and hot tubs, however, the drink service was so spotty that we never had the chance to even get a drink. Overall I was rather disappointed with the Fairmont Chateau Whistler and would probably not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagotraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your time with us over New Year's Eve, and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay. Please contact the Front Office Management team at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com. We look forward to restoring your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,102
    669
    243
    87
    50
See reviews for
950
1,092
78
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
512 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Classy and elegant hotel that needs upgrading badly-like any old grand dame
Havent seen flip up light switches in a decade even in a 2 star hotel, furniture weathered and battered
Pool , hot tub jacuzzi , area very nice, good wine selection at bar, excellent service

Room Tip: Higher rooms afford nice mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Have stayed here numerous times. The pools/hot tubs always make us come back. They are amazing! Hard to beat sitting outside in the hot tub with the snow falling on you enjoying a beer. Rooms are nice and comfortable in typical Fairmont style (lots of floral). Location is in the Upper Village which is a ten minute walk to the main village. We prefer to stay up here because it is a bit quieter than the main village but still has some good restaurants/bars. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_traveling_pants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

In town for a wedding and chose the hotel based on it's proximity to the venue and the rate offered.

Parking was convenient and there seemed to be ample spots. The $30 for self-parking was high but in line with everything else in Whistler it seems.

Check in was smooth and quick despite a small hiccup about the room type. The clerk "checked with her manager" and we were given what was listed on our reservation without a hassle. Otherwise no complaints. The room was spacious and comfortable with a king-sized bed and plenty of seating. The usual expected amenities such as iron, hair dryer, toiletries, coffee/tea, mini fridge, etc. were all provided. Having never stayed at a Fairmont property it's hard to rate it against comparables but to us it was a higher end hotel room that was nice for a one off decadent weekend.

Check-out was quick and convenient through the tv system. The bill was delivered under the door early in the morning for convenience.

The restaurants/bars were expensive. $24 for nachos in the bar, $8 for a non-alcoholic drink and $14.50 for an alcoholic one. $60 including tax and tip once it was all said and done. The service was excellent as was the food.

Breakfast in the Wildflower the next morning was equally as expensive, $70 for 2 including tax and tip ordering off the menu. Again the service and food were good.

Although we knew it would be a pricey weekend given the locale we were still a bit surprised at how pricey. We won't be back any time soon as Whistler is just not high on our list of place to visit but our stay at the Chateau was lovely and we have no reason not to recommend it to others who can afford to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookworm1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Had a great time at this Hotel. Location was great with shuttle service every 15 mins. Nice room with the most comfortable beds and pillows ever! Great pool and Mallard Lounge. Found parking to be outrageous at $30/night

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank Ferje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
4.2 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
0.9 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,547 - ₹ 37,950
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing