We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most incredible getaway we've ever experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sparkling Hill Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2011

The whole place is absolutely breathtaking. The staff was very professional and extremely helpful. We felt like royalty.
The restaurant was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. As someone with Celiac disease I must eat absolutely no gluten, so for me any restaurant experience where I go away without being sick is good, but this was so much more. Almost every item on the menu was gluten free and the chef was willing to modify those that weren't, and there was no extra charge. The meals were very upscale European, very laid back and relaxed. It was nice to feel like we weren't being rushed through just so they could turn a few tables. I have never eaten food so good, served by staff with the right balance of friendly and professional. I'm sure any food allergy or issue would be accommodated with no fuss.
The spa was amazing. My wife was treated to an excellent massage. I tried the cold sauna and it's an experience I will talk about for years. The pools and sauna's were so relaxing we felt like we wanted to stay forever.
We will come back and tell everyone who will listen how awesome this little piece of heaven is.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cneufeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,871 - 1,875 of 1,950 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2011

We spent 2 nights at the hotel with friends (I suggested they join us - so felt somewhat responsible). The hotel itself is beautiful. The reception staff were very helpful and warm.

We checked in New Year's Eve - on the Romance Getaway package - we paid $70 each for the New Year's portion. The New Year's dinner was a complete disaster - we ordered a bottle of champagne before dinner that arrived after the cold soup was served - actually the bread for the soup arrived at the same time as the champagne! Dinner arrived, cold. We asked for black pepper and were told that they were out of pepper. The restaurant is run as a banquet hall not a restaurant - it was a very very disappointing event (well known by staff and management so I was surprized they actually did charge the additional $70 per person). My personal favorite - when the dinner bill showed up on our bill at check out they charged an addtional 18% gratuity on top of the gratuity that people left (because it was New Year's). Nice touch.

The spa was beautiful - we had manicures, pedicures and a couples massage - all very nice. Additionally my friend and I each had a Fango treatment - we both felt this was nothing like the description so would certainly not recommend this service.

18% gratuity is added to all the spa services.

All in all we came away feeling disappointed - I can't imagine ever wanting to eat in the restaurant (banquet room) again although I would go for the spa but stay at Predator Ridge.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This hotel has everything you need for a relaxing getaway. We celebrated a family birthday in their excellent restaurant and then continued to spend two fabulous days in the pools and saunas and relaxation rooms. I have not found a cleaner hotel in Canada than Sparkling Hills. We had 4 pre-teens and teens in our group and they LOVED the pools and the hotel experience. The view from the room is magnificent. The staff is always friendly and make you feel at home in the hotel. We definitely want to return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvoelkening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed Dec31 - Jan02 and enjoyed every minute.
The hotel's architecture and layout even surpassed our high expectations.
This is the place!

Fantastic room (Kingsize Superior - Lakeview, 2nd floor) with breathtaking views.
Crystal fireplace, sparkling elements in the furniture and ceiling, high end bathroom (has got grand view there, too!) supercomfy beds.

Smooth, most friendly checkin. Food was excellent. Special kudos for pastry chef's apple strudel and cakes. Unfortunately our ordered wine and bread were served long after the soup, which was delicious but luke warm ... Main course and dessert made up for the long wait time. Next day the dinner menu was absolutely delicious, too.

We agree, the party program should definetely be improved for next New Years Eve. Considering a surcharge of $70 per person you would expect more. We enjoyed our time anyways and had lots of fun with the 'fake band'.

Overall - this is a beautiful hotel and spa! We would recommend it without any hesitations. We are sure that the management will fix the small problems for future events. We will come back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelix_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Ever had those daydreams that when you awakened you felt completely rested, fresh and excited? As well the events that followed all seem to be bright, fun and positive? Sparkling Hill Resort was such an experience for us. (Friends had invited us for lunch there back in November – loved the food, loved the view and loved the experience – we booked the Winter Wonderland package for 2011 New Years immediately.) The pretty drive up through Predator Ridge is a nice appetizer to the main course resort welcome. The grand crystal lobby and the gentle caring front desk staff like Ryan help shed any stresses you failed to leave at home. Your five senses begin to fire up – Charlene claims the sixth sense is shopping. The registration, baggage and parking process is smooth and casual yet not fussy. The rooms are unique – amazing use of space, lots of bling, crystal fire place and an unequalled view. Warning on the mattress – bet you check the label before you check out - we did – best sleeps in a very long time. The spas were wonderful. Our favorite was the Crystal Steam room – we call it the Rock n Roll room as we were always expecting Tina Turner to rise out of the center column and perform Private Dancer for us. The dark room and pencil light beams were cool. The whirlpool is just right for long relaxing soaks – originally we wished it hotter, but support the current setting now. The indoor pool is fun – deep blue lights and music being played underwater – hold your breath and check it out. Executive Chef Ross Derrick and his team prepared some amazing dishes for us. We tried salmon, lamb, pork and strip loins all with full marks. We had made a unique request of the cooks. Ross Derrick himself came to our table to discuss our needs and proceeded to deliver much beyond our expectations – he wasn’t even aware it was our wedding anniversary that night. Thanks again Ross. Wander around and spend time just sitting – in the library, the tea room, the fireplace room, etc – focus on the white space and the quiet. We did really appreciate the absence of kids and teenagers this weekend. As empty nesters, parents need to recall how to be best friends and lovers far more often it seems. Down at Barrique Java you’ll meet Larina who will offer you specialty coffee to accompany your card game with friends. If you didn’t resist bringing work or studies along, you can plug in and utilize the wifi here too. Heading back to your room, the ladies like Italia will be working hard to make up your room but will take time to share a smile with you. Stay away from the Swarovski boutique boys – your sweetie is guaranteed to find something she ‘needs’ in there. So here’s our final comments: The experience was AMAZING! We actually extended the stay from 2 to 3 nights. It began as a good experience. When Chef Ross responded for us, the experience immediately shifted from good to great. Funny just how important one single event moves a whole mindset. We really encourage others to try Sparkling Hills but leave all ‘inner baggage’ and kids at home. We hadn’t begun like this either but Ross created change in us allowing us to really embrace what Sparkling Hill intended to offer. We got it finally, but our own ‘baggage’ and ‘judging’ almost prevented us from the true experience. Was there opportunities to improve? – yup. Were they significant really? – nope. Were most guests we met delighted with the packages? – yes. Relative to all our other experiences, was this good value? – YES! This resort is new and unique for this area. We see it’s world-class potential once the kinks are flushed out. New teams in a league never win the cup in their first season. Hans-Peter Mayr is the President and CEO there – I commend you sir for the magical weekend your team offered my wife and I – we promise to come back. As well we acknowledge your team’s effort to accommodate >350 people each night during these busy holidays – you have some good players on that team. Charlene and Mark de Athe, Kelowna, BC.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadeForEachOther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernon hotels
12.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vernon
12.5 km away
Best Western Pacific Inn
12.3 km away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#4 of 20 in Vernon
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon
11.7 km away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
13 km away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#8 of 20 in Vernon
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Address: 888 Sparkling Pl, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range: ₹ 17,051 - ₹ 25,833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 3.5 million crystals infused within this modern oasis – a most remarkable hotel and wellness centre with European-inspired design elegance. Nestled in the mountains near Vernon, BC, and overlooking Lake Okanagan, your personal journey to whole body health and wellness begins at our standout among British Columbia resorts. Wellness Packages at KurSpa Sparkling Hill’s reputation as an internationally-renowned wellness center and health retreat is unparalleled. What better way to spark your journey towards a new you than our Wellness Packages, providing savings on spa and wellness treatments at KurSpa. Learn more about our Weeklong Wellness Packages. Also be sure to explore our fitness classes and meditation workshops to promote well-being in mind, body and spirit. KurSpa: A Holistic Health Spa The heart of our Lake Okanagan resort is KurSpa, our 40,000 square foot European-inspired spa, clinic, and wellness center. It is the largest spa in Canada and shines brightly as a worldwide wellness destination. Relax, renew, and revitalize at KurSpa's seven unique aromatherapy, steam, and sauna rooms. Swim in Kurspa's serenity pool featuring underwater music and a Swarovski crystal night sky. Choose from over 100 transformative spa treatments and therapies to detoxify the body and promote optimum health. Consult with our professional team including our naturopathic physician, psychiatrist, massage providers and kinesiologists and view their renowned clinic services. Enhance your relationships with the help of our SHaRP program, which can range from romantic to work relationships. Schedule yourself a mini silent retreat in our Serenity Room. Or, experience the first European Cryo Cold Chamber (-110°C) in North America, our signature KurSpa treatment. Our Luxurious British Columbia Resort Take in the stunning beauty of the Okanagan Valley from our BC resort’s luxury guest rooms and penthouses, which feature sweeping lake and mountain views and operable floor to ceiling glass window walls that can be opened to instantly transform your room into an outdoor oasis. Swarovski crystals illuminate fireplaces, fixtures and ceilings, lending a luminous and luxurious ambience to every space. Fresh Fine Dining Sparkling Hill Resort is also home to the best fine dining destinations in Vernon, BC. PeakFine, our signature restaurant, serves a menu emphasizing the freshest and finest ingredients the Okanagan Valley has to offer. Known as the "Napa of the North" the region's spectacular wines are on offer at PeakFine and Barrique & Java, our more casual wine, tapas, and coffee bar. Stunning Swarovski crystal chandeliers and accents imbue our dining spaces with glamour and elegance, and those seeking an elegantly rustic setting for private dining or special events will find it in Gernots. Discover Sparkling Hill Recognized as a trendsetter in healthy living and wellness hospitality, our Okanagan Lake resort is a distinctive destination for the modern sophisticated traveler. Whether planning a couple's escape, corporate wellness retreat, or incentive travel, our British Columbia resort delivers an unforgettable blend of relaxation, restoration, and wellness. Please explore our website; we look forward to welcoming you to Sparkling Hill Resort on your personal journey to whole body health and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing