We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calibre almost there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sparkling Hill Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Sparkling hills

Package or no package, this place is expensive. That said, a lot of work (and money) has been invested in this spa resort. Great idea. Great property. A little more attention to the guest services needs to be done now. Okay, the negative first: signage, signage, signage. If not for my husband giving me instructions (after he had made all of the same mistakes), I might never have found it! The sign to enter the property says "Predator Ridge". The only indication Sparkling Hills is also there, is a small "crystal" swoosh-like display that I only noticed the next day when someone pointed it out. Once you leave the highway, the signs are few and you are on a rural road to nowhere. When driving through the housing development of Predator Ridge, there are very sporadic, small signs indicating Sparkling Hills Resort. One or two at the most. There is no sign at the road you actually have to turn right on, until AFTER you have guessed you turn right. An easy fix...customer service. I needed the massage I booked after getting there, I was so irritated!

The restaurant (PeakFine) is a HUGE disappointment. As expensive as a high end Vancouver restaurant, the menu and food mediocre at best. I tell you no lie, the parmesan cheese in my potato gratin was moldy! We thought it was made with blue or stilton cheese, when the server asked the chef, she told us it was parmesan cheese...meaning, it was moldy. We commented on this. Our entree was not discounted, nor was there any other accommodation offered, like a dessert. Know that your choices of going anywhere else for food are a 20-45 minute drive away. The only other eatery on the property (Barrique & Java) is cheaper and excellent by the way, but stops serving entrees at 8pm. Only soup, sandwiches and baked goods available after 8pm. All that said, the included buffet breakfast at PeakFine is outstanding with very attentive staff, despite being very busy.

So the positive. I had a good experience with my treatments (massage and facial). Experienced, friendly staff. My facial with "Denise" was a hilite. The spa itself is excellent. It is co-ed, the steam, saunas, showers, pools, jacuzzi, fitness room, Serenity (quiet) room, Tea Room...all impeccably clean, well laid out, well serviced with water to drink everywhere. Good customer service throughout. Note: European style (read: naked) steam room from 9-10pm for those interested. And lastly, nice touch with the bottle of water in the car when valet brings your car when checking out.

This property is well thought out between the spa, baths, pools and many trails that can be hiked. Lots of privacy in the rooms whether looking over the lake or the hills. It seems all rooms have a view. The rooms have interesting lay-outs, are very clean, have luxourious beds and of course...lots of crystals under lighting. They are very nice. You need a minimum of 2 nights, 3 if you want to take advantage of the trails or golf. Bring your own charcuterie and wine for your room if possible. Room service is limited, very expensive and there is a $10.00 charge for "delivery".

This resort is almost there in my view, but more effort needs to be put into customer service. Oh ya, and if you do a wine tour, don't book a spa appointment afterwards. I am NOT complaining about this...but we did not get back in time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pshn4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. How wonderful that you were able to enjoy all of the complimentary amenities that are included in your stay such as the pools, steam & sauna rooms. It is also nice to hear that you experienced some of the treatments that we offer in the KurSpa. Denise is one of our lovely Spa Practitioners, thank you for specifically mentioning her, she will be so delighted to hear this. You are right, our Barrique & Java Café is excellent, it provides its guests with a special atmosphere, we do have an expanded menu available from noon until 8pm, however there is a variety of light options available daily from 9:30am until midnight, we are sorry this was not mentioned to you and hope you will be able to try this during your next stay.

It is great that you found the buffet breakfast to be outstanding, we are however truly sorry to hear about your dining experience. Our sincere apologies for the miscommunications in regards to the potato gratin. Additionally to the cheese you mentioned this side dish is also made with fresh seasonal herbs which could surprise some guests, it is made fresh daily so can assure you it was not moldy, my apology this was not explained to you at dinner. We will certainly follow up your experience with our Restaurant Team Members to ensure communication is more prominent with guests.

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback, especially in regards to the signage on the way to Sparkling Hill, I am delighted to let you know we are adding additional signs in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and allowing us to learn, we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Glorija T
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,864)
There are newer reviews for Sparkling Hill Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

THe rooms are beautiful. The common areas beautiful. The spa itself impressive. The treatments average. Their masseuses are not RMTs and it shows. The service is underwhelming. The cocktail waitresses don't know what kind of vodka they have, what flavours, forget our nuts. A summer job, unsophisticated millennial working in a high end European owned boutique resort. They need to step up their training, teach the staff customer service. I get it's a small town pool of talent, so management should teach and inspire them with the European way.
The restaurant ambience was terrible. A huge space, should be broken up, new lighting, carpet and furniture. Divide the fine dining from the family restaurant. They're not going to attract the well-to-do that have the million plus houses on the lake minutes from there that could be their regular customers.
They need to step up the their game if they want to attract the sophisticated clientele.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Rena,

We appreciate you providing us feedback on your 1 night stay. It is lovely to hear that you found the resorts architecture to be beautiful, we do have over 3 million Swarovski crystals incorporated in the hotel.

As we pride ourselves on consistently delivering a high level of service to all of our guests, we are truly sorry to hear we did not succeed to meet your expectations; this certainly does not reflect the guest experience we aspire to. We will review your feedback with our team members as we continuously train and educate for future improvements.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback and allowing us to learn from your experience, we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Glorija T
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Our arrival was greeted by very rude valet attendants. Strike one. The check in time was 4 PM and no access to the spa until checked in. Combined with a posted check out time of 11 AM, pre-dinner spar time is limited. Strike two. Items at the breakfast buffet were surprisingly limited. Strike three. On the +ve side, the spar is well appointed and service (other than the valets) cordial. But when you combine the long drive and the exorbitant price, I can't stop asking myself "Is it REALLY necessary"? The answer is a resounding NOOO!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EKKC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you found the KurSpa to be well appointed, it is the heart of the hotel and does span 40,000 sq. ft..
I am sorry to hear that our valet team was rude to you and failed to provide you with quality service, this is not acceptable and will be brought to their attention.

We would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast and our check-in, this will be forwarded to the management team for future considerations.

We hope to hopefully see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Glorija T
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

My husband and I were bought a one night package as a gift. Our room was stunning and so was the atmosphere. We had great service the whole time! The spas and pools were beautiful and relaxing as well. We would recommend two nights minimum as one night felt a bit rushed. It is also important to note that there is NO night life here aside from the bar being open until midnight. Room service also ends at 9:30pm so make sure to bring snacks! I would highly recommend this as a relax-focused vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Gabrielle,

I truly appreciate and thank you for providing us with your feedback. It is so fantastic to read you had such a wonderful time; Sparkling Hill truly is a place to escape to and relax. You are very right that guests should enjoy at least a 2 night stay so they can really experience everything that we have to offer.

We would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding our room service and dining options. We do have our lovely Barrique & Java Cafe open until midnight with a variety of light snacks and pastry options, our apologies if this was not mentioned to you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sparkling Hill in the future.

Kind Regards,

Glorija T
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We were there for a wedding but unfortunately where it was so expensive (even with the wedding rate), we could only stay 1 night. The wedding was at 3 but check in was at 4. So unfortunately, we couldn't get our room and finish getting ready as there was no early check in. Luckily, one of our friends had a room so we went to their room to get ready. When I seen their room, it was nice and big plus a great view. I said to my husband that this room is worth the money!
The wedding was beautiful and great. Drinks were expensive though! $10 a drink compared to the usual $5 a drink at a wedding. We got to check into our room, and it was a lot smaller compared to our friends room. Plus our view was rocks. Definitely wasn't as impressed.
Also, when we left our friends room, we had no idea where we were going. So one of the floors we stopped at said the spa/front desk so we got off there. Then we basically got scolded by a staff member about being in the spa area.
Yeah I know there's a lot of crystals and that's why it's so expensive. But I doubt we will be back again - we weren't that impressed for the price.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Ashley,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at Sparkling Hill. It is so nice that you visited us for such a special occasion as a wedding.

Our sincerest apologies that you were not informed about the location of the amenities, we do try to inform our guests in the welcome letter waiting in the room, I am sorry this was not provided to you and that you had a less enjoyable stay due to the prices.
Almost all of the rooms at Sparkling Hill are the same, regardless which floor level or view you have the layout and amenities are identical. Our “sunrise rooms” have the same amenities as well, however they are occasionally overlooking some natural rock, we do apologize if you did not enjoy this.

Thank you again and we hope see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Glorija T
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#3 of 20 in Vernon
266 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Address: 888 Sparkling Place, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vernon
#2 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range: ₹ 16,585 - ₹ 23,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 3.5 million crystals infused within this modern oasis – a most remarkable hotel and wellness centre with European-inspired design elegance. Nestled in the mountains near Vernon, BC, and overlooking Lake Okanagan, your personal journey to whole body health and wellness begins at our standout among British Columbia resorts. Wellness Packages at KurSpa Sparkling Hill’s reputation as an internationally-renowned wellness center and health retreat is unparalleled. What better way to spark your journey towards a new you than our Wellness Packages, providing savings on spa and wellness treatments at KurSpa. Learn more about our Weeklong Wellness Packages. Also be sure to explore our fitness classes and meditation workshops to promote well-being in mind, body and spirit. KurSpa: A Holistic Health Spa The heart of our Lake Okanagan resort is KurSpa, our 40,000 square foot European-inspired spa, clinic, and wellness center. It is the largest spa in Canada and shines brightly as a worldwide wellness destination. Relax, renew, and revitalize at KurSpa's seven unique aromatherapy, steam, and sauna rooms. Swim in Kurspa's serenity pool featuring underwater music and a Swarovski crystal night sky. Choose from over 100 transformative spa treatments and therapies to detoxify the body and promote optimum health. Consult with our professional team including our naturopathic physician, psychiatrist, massage providers and kinesiologists and view their renowned clinic services. Enhance your relationships with the help of our SHaRP program, which can range from romantic to work relationships. Schedule yourself a mini silent retreat in our Serenity Room. Or, experience the first European Cryo Cold Chamber (-110°C) in North America, our signature KurSpa treatment. Our Luxurious British Columbia Resort Take in the stunning beauty of the Okanagan Valley from our BC resort’s luxury guest rooms and penthouses, which feature sweeping lake and mountain views and operable floor to ceiling glass window walls that can be opened to instantly transform your room into an outdoor oasis. Swarovski crystals illuminate fireplaces, fixtures and ceilings, lending a luminous and luxurious ambience to every space. Fresh Fine Dining Sparkling Hill Resort is also home to the best fine dining destinations in Vernon, BC. PeakFine, our signature restaurant, serves a menu emphasizing the freshest and finest ingredients the Okanagan Valley has to offer. Known as the "Napa of the North" the region's spectacular wines are on offer at PeakFine and Barrique & Java, our more casual wine, tapas, and coffee bar. Stunning Swarovski crystal chandeliers and accents imbue our dining spaces with glamour and elegance, and those seeking an elegantly rustic setting for private dining or special events will find it in Gernots. Discover Sparkling Hill Recognized as a trendsetter in healthy living and wellness hospitality, our Okanagan Lake resort is a distinctive destination for the modern sophisticated traveler. Whether planning a couple's escape, corporate wellness retreat, or incentive travel, our British Columbia resort delivers an unforgettable blend of relaxation, restoration, and wellness. Please explore our website; we look forward to welcoming you to Sparkling Hill Resort on your personal journey to whole body health and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing