We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Sparkly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sparkling Hill Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

An incredible resort! We visited with 2 children ages 12 and 15 in July 2012. We were greeted by a luggage trolley and were led immediately to our rooms. We booked the Arnika Penthouse suite- much recommended. The decor was amazing, crystals ( of which I am told are some of $10m worth) were everywhere. Beautiful, comfortable furniture overlooking the lake too! Te bedroom had 2 king size beds in with mould to your body mattress' which were great. The bathroom had a free-standing bath and a glass, marble shower. A glass wall to look at the lake from too. We were even more taken back when we saw a sauna in the room! Also the toilet was heated, with a B-Day installment! It was very fancy! We went down to dinner and were impressed!! It was a gorgeous menu, with gorgeous ambiance and gorgeous food! Couldn't of got better. The pool was only for 16's and over and was really disappointing. There was no outside space round the pool, just space for a few deck chairs and small tables. The pool was also disappointing and the spa wasn't as great as it states. Also there wasn't much outdoor seating for lunch or in the restaurant. Apart from that it was a very special stay!

Room Tip: Arnika Penthouse, or any penthouse. Also rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelExpert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,591 - 1,595 of 1,927 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

Last summer, my girlfriend was getting married and booked rooms and hair and makeup appointments for her bridal party at Sparking Hill. As one of the bridesmaids, I can attest to the rude, dismissive service that we received at the resort. There were several reasons why we found our experience to be very disappointing:

1. For the hair and makeup appointments, all the bridesmaids were required to send a picture of the hairstyle they preferred to the hairdresser a good week before the appointment. When it was my turn to get my hair done, I asked the hairdresser if she could make a slight adjustment to the hairstyle shown in the picture. The hairdresser loudly snapped at me and went off for a minute how I should have sent a picture with the EXACT hairstyle I wanted. As one who doesn't like confrontation, I shut my mouth and sat awkwardly through the rest of the (mediocre) and overpriced styling....

2. The appointments for the hair and makeup were originally booked in the late afternoon the day of the wedding but the resort moved them to the early morning due to some conflict in their booking issues. The bride was very sweet about the changes and, as the appointments were very early (starting at 8am), she decided to book a four-person room the night prior for her bridesmaids and herself. Along with booking this room for the night, the bride booked a different room for her and her fiancé to move into the day of the wedding as they would be spending a few nights at the resort post-wedding. She discussed the plans in detail with someone at the resort and was given a quote for the total price of the rooms as well as assurance that the staff would be happy to move her things to the new room the day of. Well, when we arrived at night to check-in, we found out that the reservation was completely messed up and the cost for the room that night was almost double the price the bride had been quoted. The staff never apologized for their mix-up nor did they show willingness to negotiate the price as it was their mistake. Exasperated and tired, the bride just forked up the money for the new bill and we went to bed.

3. As mentioned above, there were plans for the staff to move the bride's things to the new room around check-out time the following day (wedding day). However, when the other bridesmaids and I went to the reception desk to finalize the plan, we were told that the bride had not booked a different room and the resort was full! Again, no apologies made by anyone. After much discussion with a few attendants at the reception, they were able to book her a different room as someone had just cancelled. However, we were told that the bride's items could not be moved into the new room until later that afternoon (an unspecified time) and that we would have to figure out what to do with the things until the proper check-in time! As her wedding was later that afternoon, this was not really an option. Luckily, we got hold of a nice attendant who agreed to store the items in the backroom for the time being.....

I apologize for the long diatribe but I finally had to post about the terrible service we experienced at Sparkling Hill! The bride was looking forward to a pleasurable and relaxing time at the resort amidst the stress of planning a wedding but was faced with a crap-load of stresses due to the sloppy and dismissive service and miscommunication! I don't know if we were treated with less respect than other visitors as we are a casual group of twenty-something girls, but we are very mellow, respectful people and feel that we should have been treated with more respect from the resort, especially since the bride and groom forked down several thousand dollars for the rooms!!

As beautiful as the resort is, we will be staying far away from the resort. VERY disappointing!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is one of the most unique hotels we've stayed at in North America, and well worth a visit. Especially since kids aren't allowed (this must have been a controversial decision, but it makes the hotel true romantic retreat).

The setting is amazing, on top of a mountain with views that rival the Post Ranch Inn in Big Sur or the cliff-top hotels of Santorini.

Soaking tubs in the rooms take full advantage of these vistas. Otherwise, the rooms are a bit small. Beds are really comfortable, and TVs are HD, which is still a rarity in most hotels.

A few tips: First, pick a room on the lake side of the Spa Wing (the East Wing). You'll get the very best views (lake views in the West Wing look over a bit of a parking lot). The wi-fi in our room at the end of the West Wing was showing no bars. The housekeeping staff needs to watch for scuffs-- which really stand-out in such a minimalist room. And the bath products could use an upgrade, including body wash (a bar of soap seems a bit Holiday Inn-ish these days).

Breakfasts are a bit spartan, in the style of the hotel's Austrian management. If you like sausage, deli meats and odd muesli/yogurt combos, you're in luck.

There's a great lunch cafe below the main dining room-- try the chicken and apple sandwich with a side of bacon. Amazing.

Dinners were very good, and the amazing views certainly helped.

The real star of this property, though, is the spa. I'd really recommend the Cold Sauna, the first in North America. Apparently, three minutes at Minus 110 C does wonders for inflammation issues. I can't vouch for that, but I do know I felt amazing after the experience. Super-alert and refreshed.

Massages were fine, and we had very attentive pedicures and body scrubs. Very nice indeed.

The hotel is pricey (we paid $500 a night), but watch for package deals. Ours included a $300 spa credit, three-course meals from the regular menu each night, and two drinks in the lounge each night. When you add in the free breakfasts, free wifi and free valet, Sparkling Hill is quite the deal.

Room Tip: Lake-view, West Wing, above the spa and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cstaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have had the pleasure of staying at the resort a couple of years ago and we can't wait to return! Everything was above average. From the amazing service the staff gives to all the small details that make this place a real gem.

Our room was amazing. The view spectacular and the highlight for me, the huge soaker tub that overlooks the valley and lakes below. I had a massage and facial in the spa and it was amazing! I felt rejuvenated and very relaxed. My husband and I enjoying spending time in all the saunas and the beautiful pool. He even was brave enough to try out the cold sauna (and loved it)!

We will definitely be returning when we feel the need for a get-away. It's worth the drive if you're coming from Vancouver and almost makes it more special when you arrive.

Room Tip: Upgrade or ask for the corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazzmin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have had the pleasure of staying at Sparkling Hill 4 times. Each time was more exciting than the last. The entire hotel is full of delightful sights, starting as you drive up and see the beautiful "gem-like" entrance. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and immaculate! As is the rest of the hotel. The staff is helpful and friendly, from the second you pull into the entrance, there is a smiling face to greet you and take your bags. It doesn't stop there! The desk staff gets you checked in and whisked away to your "one of a kind" room in no time, where you can slip into a luxurious robe and enjoy the breathtaking view. The steams and saunas are stunning and relaxing, and the pools are wonderful! The breakfast that is included with your stay is fresh, hot and delicious. The restaurant is beautiful and the serving staff is fast and friendly. All in all Sparkling Hill is a "once in a lifetime" experience, but you surely cannot stay just once!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Formermayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernon hotels
12.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vernon
12.5 km away
Best Western Pacific Inn
12.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#3 of 20 in Vernon
291 reviews
11.7 km away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
13 km away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#8 of 20 in Vernon
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Address: 888 Sparkling Pl, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range: ₹ 17,028 - ₹ 25,383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 3.5 million crystals infused within this modern oasis – a most remarkable hotel and wellness centre with European-inspired design elegance. Nestled in the mountains near Vernon, BC, and overlooking Lake Okanagan, your personal journey to whole body health and wellness begins at our standout among British Columbia resorts. Wellness Packages at KurSpa Sparkling Hill’s reputation as an internationally-renowned wellness center and health retreat is unparalleled. What better way to spark your journey towards a new you than our Wellness Packages, providing savings on spa and wellness treatments at KurSpa. Learn more about our Weeklong Wellness Packages. Also be sure to explore our fitness classes and meditation workshops to promote well-being in mind, body and spirit. KurSpa: A Holistic Health Spa The heart of our Lake Okanagan resort is KurSpa, our 40,000 square foot European-inspired spa, clinic, and wellness center. It is the largest spa in Canada and shines brightly as a worldwide wellness destination. Relax, renew, and revitalize at KurSpa's seven unique aromatherapy, steam, and sauna rooms. Swim in Kurspa's serenity pool featuring underwater music and a Swarovski crystal night sky. Choose from over 100 transformative spa treatments and therapies to detoxify the body and promote optimum health. Consult with our professional team including our naturopathic physician, psychiatrist, massage providers and kinesiologists and view their renowned clinic services. Enhance your relationships with the help of our SHaRP program, which can range from romantic to work relationships. Schedule yourself a mini silent retreat in our Serenity Room. Or, experience the first European Cryo Cold Chamber (-110°C) in North America, our signature KurSpa treatment. Our Luxurious British Columbia Resort Take in the stunning beauty of the Okanagan Valley from our BC resort’s luxury guest rooms and penthouses, which feature sweeping lake and mountain views and operable floor to ceiling glass window walls that can be opened to instantly transform your room into an outdoor oasis. Swarovski crystals illuminate fireplaces, fixtures and ceilings, lending a luminous and luxurious ambience to every space. Fresh Fine Dining Sparkling Hill Resort is also home to the best fine dining destinations in Vernon, BC. PeakFine, our signature restaurant, serves a menu emphasizing the freshest and finest ingredients the Okanagan Valley has to offer. Known as the "Napa of the North" the region's spectacular wines are on offer at PeakFine and Barrique & Java, our more casual wine, tapas, and coffee bar. Stunning Swarovski crystal chandeliers and accents imbue our dining spaces with glamour and elegance, and those seeking an elegantly rustic setting for private dining or special events will find it in Gernots. Discover Sparkling Hill Recognized as a trendsetter in healthy living and wellness hospitality, our Okanagan Lake resort is a distinctive destination for the modern sophisticated traveler. Whether planning a couple's escape, corporate wellness retreat, or incentive travel, our British Columbia resort delivers an unforgettable blend of relaxation, restoration, and wellness. Please explore our website; we look forward to welcoming you to Sparkling Hill Resort on your personal journey to whole body health and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing