We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night, but if you really want fine service and comfort, try the Sheraton's.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sparkling Hill Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I had heard good things about this hotel, and decided to try it out on one of their promotional offers ($125.00/night + tax). The hotel is in a lovely, though secluded, area, with glass vistas most everywhere you look. If you aren't coming to hang out in the pools and saunas and buy treatments, there really isn't much else around to do in shoulder season. Down the road is Predator Ridge for golfing in the summer, and there are some trails around the hotel, but not too inviting if the weather is nasty, as it was while we were visiting. The rooms are beautiful, with floor to ceiling glass windows the entire length of the room. A lovely place to gaze even in bad weather.
We enjoyed the pools and steam rooms thoroughly, though the steam rooms don't open until 2:00 pm and become quite crowded on the weekend. One restaurant, one small cafe area, both expensive. You could head back in to Vernon (about a 20 min drive) to eat, but would cut in to your very limited time line between check in and check out.
We did eat dinner in the restaurant, and our meals were very good, $175.00 for entree and salad, inexpensive bottle of wine and gratuity. As mentioned in other reviews, the breakfast is wonderful.
The rooms are not very sound proof-fair gap between the the door and the floor. As a result you hear everything and everyone in the hallway. It was annoying, as some of the folks on our floor were loud in the hallways, obviously having a good time and moving from room to room with their group. Our main complaint was the bed itself. It was desperately in need of replacement, with a dip on my side, which kept rolling me back into one position. Certainly not what one would expect in a high end hotel. Definitely not a 'good sleep' night. We told the staff about the poor bed on check out, and they responded with a 'thanks for letting us know'. If I had been paying rack rate for this hotel, I would be very unhappy with the ratio of spend/quality. A few nights later we were in two of the Sheraton hotels in Vancouver, both had terrific beds, quiet soundproof rooms, and superior customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Freestylefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,868)
There are newer reviews for Sparkling Hill Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,620 of 1,868 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

My girlfriends and I were excited for a girls weekend away in a resort filled with Swarovski crystals and 7 different steam and sauna rooms. We left disappointed. We would not come back here as there are much better quality resorts around BC and AB for the price.

The main Swarovski areas are the chandeliers in the lobby. There is a small Swarovski panel and structure in each room. There are no Swarovski in the hallway or lounging areas.

We checked in around 11pm and were greeted by two very snobby men. They were grouchy and did not want to answer our questions such as, what can we use these fun fit vouchers for? The gentleman told us to ask the spa receptionist in the morning. When we said we didn't want to miss scheduled classes, the gentleman said there were no classes at the spa. In fact, the vouchers are for scheduled classes which occur only once during the day, such as, yoga, aquafit, meditation, and trails. You will receive these vouchers if you stay at least 2 nights.

One room had 3 girls so we asked for one more set of towels and when we opened the door to receive the towels, the gentleman shoved the towels at us and stalked off. He did not respond to our friendly hi and thank you. When we went to ask for our car (all valet service), he barked, what do you want now? Our car would be nice since there was nothing to do at the resort after 10pm.

The morning buffet was yummy, filled with fresh fruit, warm pastries, oatmeal, sausages, scrambled eggs, pancakes, smoked salmon, and cheese and meat platter. The service in the PeakFine varies. The service was lacking on Saturday morning as no one came to offer us coffee or tea and the service was terrific Sunday morning.

The rooms were reasonably clean with a few dusty areas. The memory foam mattresses were amazing! We had rooms facing the mountains and the view was gorgeous. Unfortunately rooms facing the mountains also meant facing the walking trails and the parking lot so we had to close all the curtains when we were showering (shower doors are glass with no frosting and directly faces the windows). I also soaked in the bathtub right next to the window wearing my bikini so if you're a couple wishing to use the double person bathtub without a suit, you may wish to upgrade for rooms facing the lake.

The steam and saunas were very relaxing. The ice room was consistently out of crushed ice so we did not have a chance for an "ice scrub". The people working in these areas were very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic; they brought us on tours voluntarily! The hours of operation are 2 - 10pm. I would have preferred an earlier opening hour.

The infinity pool is a little dirty but overlooks the lake and mountain so the view was absolutely gorgeous. The glass fence surrounding the pool and the windows in the saunas are all quite dirty though. This takes away from the view. We had a nice discussion with a couple from Italy thinking the exact same thing :)

There is nothing to do in Vernon. Perhaps two pubs were open on a Saturday night with most kitchens closing at 8pm.

Overall, we enjoyed the saunas, steam rooms, and the mattresses. The service was poor and the windows, ledges and certain areas were dirty.

We keep hearing world class resort, but I have stayed at many resorts and this one is second class. Google "hot springs" BC and AB and you will find better places to go.

As a side note - I left my charger in my room Sunday morning, called Sunday night and just received notice (after I called for the 5th time) that they found my charger. Apparently house keeping brings up lost and found items once every 3-4 days and the resort cannot ask house keeping directly to check rooms for lost items. For a world class resort I would expect more reliable service.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor (lobby is floor 0) and noise was reasonable. We could hear people talking...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Serafinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a beautiful spa hotel billed as a "wellness retreat". We stayed there with our grandchildren so were not able to partake in some of the adult only offerings. The children were not allowed to use any of the pools. We booked the "good neighbours" package for Alberta and BC residents. It was an incredible buy considering it included an excellent buffet breakfast. We would consider going back on our own or I would book a ladies get away there. Every room is the same and all have huge lovely windows and crystals everywhere. The spa facilities are excellent. We used the hotel as a base for skiing at Silver Star. At the price we paid, there is nothing comparable in Vernon.

Room Tip: ALl rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barb_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Spent the weekend with my partner and it was absolutely spectacular. The room was beautiful, the staff incredibly friendly and helpful, and the spa and steam room completely melted away any stress I carried in there. The restaurant offered an excellent array of food and everything was absolutely delicious. I would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Get there as early as possible to enjoy the steam rooms and saunas as they do not open until 3 hours...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have stayed here twice now and absolutely love it! The rooms are stunning, whether mountain or lake view. The spa is gorgeous, and the saunas, streamrooms and pools are all excellent as well! It's a great place to stay for a quiet relaxing night!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#3 of 20 in Vernon
266 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Address: 888 Sparkling Place, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vernon
#2 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range: ₹ 16,725 - ₹ 24,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 3.5 million crystals infused within this modern oasis – a most remarkable hotel and wellness centre with European-inspired design elegance. Nestled in the mountains near Vernon, BC, and overlooking Lake Okanagan, your personal journey to whole body health and wellness begins at our standout among British Columbia resorts. Wellness Packages at KurSpa Sparkling Hill’s reputation as an internationally-renowned wellness center and health retreat is unparalleled. What better way to spark your journey towards a new you than our Wellness Packages, providing savings on spa and wellness treatments at KurSpa. Learn more about our Weeklong Wellness Packages. Also be sure to explore our fitness classes and meditation workshops to promote well-being in mind, body and spirit. KurSpa: A Holistic Health Spa The heart of our Lake Okanagan resort is KurSpa, our 40,000 square foot European-inspired spa, clinic, and wellness center. It is the largest spa in Canada and shines brightly as a worldwide wellness destination. Relax, renew, and revitalize at KurSpa's seven unique aromatherapy, steam, and sauna rooms. Swim in Kurspa's serenity pool featuring underwater music and a Swarovski crystal night sky. Choose from over 100 transformative spa treatments and therapies to detoxify the body and promote optimum health. Consult with our professional team including our naturopathic physician, psychiatrist, massage providers and kinesiologists and view their renowned clinic services. Enhance your relationships with the help of our SHaRP program, which can range from romantic to work relationships. Schedule yourself a mini silent retreat in our Serenity Room. Or, experience the first European Cryo Cold Chamber (-110°C) in North America, our signature KurSpa treatment. Our Luxurious British Columbia Resort Take in the stunning beauty of the Okanagan Valley from our BC resort’s luxury guest rooms and penthouses, which feature sweeping lake and mountain views and operable floor to ceiling glass window walls that can be opened to instantly transform your room into an outdoor oasis. Swarovski crystals illuminate fireplaces, fixtures and ceilings, lending a luminous and luxurious ambience to every space. Fresh Fine Dining Sparkling Hill Resort is also home to the best fine dining destinations in Vernon, BC. PeakFine, our signature restaurant, serves a menu emphasizing the freshest and finest ingredients the Okanagan Valley has to offer. Known as the "Napa of the North" the region's spectacular wines are on offer at PeakFine and Barrique & Java, our more casual wine, tapas, and coffee bar. Stunning Swarovski crystal chandeliers and accents imbue our dining spaces with glamour and elegance, and those seeking an elegantly rustic setting for private dining or special events will find it in Gernots. Discover Sparkling Hill Recognized as a trendsetter in healthy living and wellness hospitality, our Okanagan Lake resort is a distinctive destination for the modern sophisticated traveler. Whether planning a couple's escape, corporate wellness retreat, or incentive travel, our British Columbia resort delivers an unforgettable blend of relaxation, restoration, and wellness. Please explore our website; we look forward to welcoming you to Sparkling Hill Resort on your personal journey to whole body health and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing