We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Resort in Okanagan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sparkling Hill Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend in November at the Resort. Our room had a spectacular view of the lake through the floor-to-ceiling window, and the natural decor and colours added to the serenity. We enjoyed the indoor salt water swimming pool, outdoor infinity pool, hot tub and various saunas. The spa area is amazing, as was our couples massage. A high point was our dinner. We decided on the chef's selection 5-course, which was outstanding. While the sandwiches at the Barrique were very tasty, the pastries with the coffee and at breakfast, did not match the high standard to be expected at such world class resort. As locals, this could be a very special spot to take visitors for coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dalene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,867)
There are newer reviews for Sparkling Hill Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,685 - 1,689 of 1,868 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

Great location, interesting ultra-modern architecture, wouldn't ever expect it to be near Kelowna. Staff are good, all rooms are nicely appointed.

The spa is the reason to stay here. It's one of the best I've ever experienced. Loved the "adults swim hour" around 9-10pm...we participated!

Hotel is a 5 star, spa is a 7 star.

Room Tip: Preferred the valley view to the lake view. YMMV.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My husband and I went for the weekend to rest, relax and "take in the waters". We were not disappointed. From the moment you enter the lobby, beneath the incredible architectural feat of a crystal, you are treated like royalty. The staff are welcoming, friendly and most courteous. There are home made Austrian Cookies or Strudel or Stollen beautifully presented for you to take, at the check-in counters.
The decor is simple but beautiful. Swarovski Crystals are everywhere to be seen...the chandelier in the dining room is made of crystals that are strung in the shape of Lake Okanagan, in the ballroom they are strung in the shape of maple leafs....
The rooms are beautiful. We had a room overlooking the lake and the view was spectacular. The room is nicely furnished and the beds are exceptionally comfortable. The bathtub is placed such that you can still enjoy the view and the free standing shower has a rain and a conventional shower head. The room is nicely appointed.
But, you don't want to stay in the room...the Kur Spa is the place to be. We had the mud and muscle treatment which was a mud wrap and then a deep tissue massage. The mud was only on my back tho, I was expecting it on my legs and tummy too...
We also tried the Ice Box. This is a chamber to relieve arthritic and joint pains as well as to make one feel generally better. You go in with a "guide" and move from -10 degrees Celsius to minus 60 degrees Celsius in ten seconds and then you go into - 110 Degrees Celsius for three minutes. It is so unbelievably cold...but....we came out invigorated. I felt so energized...I felt i could have gone out to run a marathon!!! It is certainly worth a try as it is the only one of its kind in North America right now.
The sauna area is out of this world...there are seven different saunas that you can go in and out of...all of varying temperatures and humidity levels...and all beautifully designed and big enough to accommodate about 18 or 20 people at any one time. This area is clean and quiet and very well maintained to make sure your experience is perfect.
There are two pools, one indoor and one outdoor. They are both heated to a comfortable temperature. The outdoor pool is an infinity pool with a great view. There is a large hot tub as well as the very European style of Knipe Pool where you walk slowly through warm and cold water alternating as you walk, to stimulate the circulation while relaxing the body..and the mind!.
The exercise room is well maintained with good machines. There is a large "serenity room" for quiet time...reading or meditating as well as a large " tea room" where one can lounge but talk quietly if you want to.
The staff are always there to clean and check on the facilities but so quiet that you never hear them. They are most friendly and helpful if you need them.
The food was excellent. The dinner was outstanding and the service was superb. Breakfast is a buffet and nicely appointed with a small yet wholesome array of healthy food.
There are beautiful trails around the property for nature walks or runs and they are well signposted.
We left there feeling sooooooo relaxed, rejuvenated and pampered. This is truly paradise. We are telling all our friends about this wonderful place...we shall be back.

Room Tip: the lake view room are beautiful and the view is awesome, however, the hotel is dug into the side of...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAMCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My family and I attended the resort for a weekend of rest and relaxation, and we were not disappointed. The saunas and steam rooms were amazing. The salt water pool was the perfect temperature. The spa area was beatifully maintained. Our dinner was out of this world. The service was marvelous and the food really was exceptional . We will be back. Thank you Sparkling Hill for the wonderfull weekend. PS Our rooms were third floor lake view, again perfect.!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WearyBones_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Our wedding ceremony and reception dinner was held at Sparkling Hill Resort. Having never been to the resort until the day before our wedding, we were a little nervous of the experience. The physical features of the Resort exceeded all of our expectations and we were pleasantly greeted with good customer service starting off with complimentary valet parking, pleasant check in and Bell-Man Service.

We stayed in the Anika Penthouse Suite and once again, this exceeded our expectations. Everything was very clean and new. The views are unreal with the full ceiling to floor windows that overlook Lake Okanagan. The bathroom was a delight with some special features like personal sauna, heated toilet seat, dual shower heads, deep soaker tub and more.

The bed was a very high end memory foam mattress with nice linens. I found the gas fireplace to run sparatically.

Our spa experience was overall really good. Upon our arrival, they didn't have our consultation booked in the calendar properly, so when myself and bridesmaid arrived for our hair and make-up appointment they only booked enough time for myself. When I showed them the schedule that the spa had sent me with both appointments, they were confused. The situation didn't exactly inspire confidence. That being said, they squeezed both of us in for our consult and our appointments before the wedding went off without a hitch.

If you are getting flowers, I used Harris Flowers in Vernon. She was wonderful to deal with but when I received everything only about 1/2 an hour before the wedding itself, the colors were wrong, wrong flowers, all the white flowers were old with a lot of brown on them, pin was sticking out of the stems where you would hold your bouquet...it was very unfortunate. Nothing like dripping blood from your hand in a very large white dress only minutes before you do one of the most nerve intense moments of your life. Not the hotels fault, but she is one of their recommended vendors to choose from.

We were married in Gernots. This a little cozy room on the lower level. Everything was set up exactly as I had asked.

Food and beverage:

Ceremony - We arranged for champaigne and appetizers for right after the ceremony. The serving staff didn't seem very experienced and were not ready to serve after the ceremony. I practically had to yell across the room, 'we're ready!' The appetizers were ok, not great, ok.

Reception Dinner - Originally we had arranged for our dinner to be in Gernots, but what wasn't explained to us at the time of booking is that the kitchen 2 stories up and food has to travel a long ways to get to you. For this reason we decided to do the dinner in the restaurant. I was very specific how I wanted the table organized and it was not set up the way I had asked. We ended up choosing quite a fancy dinner amous bouce and 5 course for $100 per person. We were really happy with the quality and the taste of the food. But once again the downfall was in the serving staff. Our dinner was only 14 people, all 14 had a standing place card in front of them with their name and only one person had special requirements. Jen, will only each chicken or beef and has an alergy to all seafood. The menu was prepared over a month in advance and the chef had prepared special selections for her. When the 'duck' amous bouche arrived and was placed in front of Jen, I mentioned ot the server all of the details again. She acknowledged my statement and left the amous bouche. I thought that was ridiculous. 1st course arrived, pan seared fois gras, again the server placed a plate in front of Jen. Again, I mentioned to the server Jens requirments. Again the server was going to leave the plate there. This time I had to take the plate and place it in her hand and request for something different. The 2nd course arrived, Sea Scallop Gnocchi, and again the server placed a serving in front of Jen. Again, I took had to mention to the server Jen's details. At this point, this isn't even something that she doesn't care for, it's something that can kill her. The server arrgued that there was no seafood in the dish and that Gnocchi is a pasta. I had to read to her from the menu what the dish contained and that the Gnocchi was not pasta, but scallops cut to the size of Gnocchi. After these incidents, the servers finally figured out who Jen was and started to bring her the correct food. For such a small group (14), paying upwards of $230 per person including wine, I found the serving to be appaling. At the end of the evening my new husband congradulated the kitchen staff on a job well done. His standards are high as he is an Executive Chef himself at a 4.5 star resort.

Buffet Breakfast: Fantastic breakfast! Loved it and had excellent service every morning.

Check Out: This should be simple and flawless as I had pre-paid for everything in advance. However, I was double charged for all of the incidentals.

This resort would be unstoppable as one of the best in Canada if their level of service matched their amenities. The spa is like none other that I have visited. I highly recommend this resort to experience, however, beware if you are planning a special event communication and service are needing a big improvement in some areas.

Room Tip: This resort would be unstoppable as one of the best in Canada if their level of service matched thei...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShannonRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#3 of 20 in Vernon
266 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Address: 888 Sparkling Place, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vernon
#2 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range: ₹ 16,577 - ₹ 24,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 3.5 million crystals infused within this modern oasis – a most remarkable hotel and wellness centre with European-inspired design elegance. Nestled in the mountains near Vernon, BC, and overlooking Lake Okanagan, your personal journey to whole body health and wellness begins at our standout among British Columbia resorts. Wellness Packages at KurSpa Sparkling Hill’s reputation as an internationally-renowned wellness center and health retreat is unparalleled. What better way to spark your journey towards a new you than our Wellness Packages, providing savings on spa and wellness treatments at KurSpa. Learn more about our Weeklong Wellness Packages. Also be sure to explore our fitness classes and meditation workshops to promote well-being in mind, body and spirit. KurSpa: A Holistic Health Spa The heart of our Lake Okanagan resort is KurSpa, our 40,000 square foot European-inspired spa, clinic, and wellness center. It is the largest spa in Canada and shines brightly as a worldwide wellness destination. Relax, renew, and revitalize at KurSpa's seven unique aromatherapy, steam, and sauna rooms. Swim in Kurspa's serenity pool featuring underwater music and a Swarovski crystal night sky. Choose from over 100 transformative spa treatments and therapies to detoxify the body and promote optimum health. Consult with our professional team including our naturopathic physician, psychiatrist, massage providers and kinesiologists and view their renowned clinic services. Enhance your relationships with the help of our SHaRP program, which can range from romantic to work relationships. Schedule yourself a mini silent retreat in our Serenity Room. Or, experience the first European Cryo Cold Chamber (-110°C) in North America, our signature KurSpa treatment. Our Luxurious British Columbia Resort Take in the stunning beauty of the Okanagan Valley from our BC resort’s luxury guest rooms and penthouses, which feature sweeping lake and mountain views and operable floor to ceiling glass window walls that can be opened to instantly transform your room into an outdoor oasis. Swarovski crystals illuminate fireplaces, fixtures and ceilings, lending a luminous and luxurious ambience to every space. Fresh Fine Dining Sparkling Hill Resort is also home to the best fine dining destinations in Vernon, BC. PeakFine, our signature restaurant, serves a menu emphasizing the freshest and finest ingredients the Okanagan Valley has to offer. Known as the "Napa of the North" the region's spectacular wines are on offer at PeakFine and Barrique & Java, our more casual wine, tapas, and coffee bar. Stunning Swarovski crystal chandeliers and accents imbue our dining spaces with glamour and elegance, and those seeking an elegantly rustic setting for private dining or special events will find it in Gernots. Discover Sparkling Hill Recognized as a trendsetter in healthy living and wellness hospitality, our Okanagan Lake resort is a distinctive destination for the modern sophisticated traveler. Whether planning a couple's escape, corporate wellness retreat, or incentive travel, our British Columbia resort delivers an unforgettable blend of relaxation, restoration, and wellness. Please explore our website; we look forward to welcoming you to Sparkling Hill Resort on your personal journey to whole body health and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing