We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location But Then Falls Away”

Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #49 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The location is just a few minutes to downtown, which is hard to come by in Victoria. However, upon arrival the initial feeling is disappointing because unlike other properties in the area, the presentation is very poor-basically no garden (where the norm is for gardens to be a highlight) and rough path to front door. Greeted with a warm welcome by Naoko. Had an upstairs room with ensuite. Stairs are narrow and similar to European style. There was no offer to assist with luggage as Dan was preoccupied with their child. Good queen and single beds but this takes up most of the room space leaving little area for luggage. There is a tiny bench with kettle; the bathroom is attic style and one person only; the water is hot and the fan quiet with good ventilation. Curtains are not bad; there is some floorboard noise and noise from downstairs travels up and vice versa. Decor is inconsistent and low grade. There is 1 eating area downstairs(to accommodate the 4 rooms - not sure about the outside cottage). Breakfast is average however, the prior advice of special diet met with a note to purchase our own items and they would be refunded. A receipt and product was left with the B&B but no refund was supplied. No consideration was given for an early departure. The hosts kitchen and office areas are as messy as you would see anywhere and that was indicative of the general cleanliness.
Overall, location is the prime asset and most other aspects were disappointing. We would look elsewhere on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dan-naoko, Owner at Carriage House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you very much for your comments. I'm sorry to hear you were not happy here.

I believe the main issue is money for your "special diet" breakfast.

Yes, I asked you to buy something for your own breakfast. We have gluten-free homemade bread, muffins, granola, etc., (because one of us
is sensitive to gluten) but you said you have more than just gluten sensitivity, apparently including even honey and fruit. When I realized the
severity of your health problems I thought it was better for you to get what you know you can safely eat.

I prepared a breakfast for your early morning departure, as you requested, and I believe you consumed it. I asked if you wanted me to
remove the bread from the freezer so you could find it easier but you said no need to do that. I also asked about tea and you said you would
make it yourself. So, I gave you permission to access our private living space in the early morning hours for your personal convenience.

As for reimbursement, I discounted your room price from the twin rate (as you used two beds) to the double rate (using one bed) which is $10
less per night--more than the cost of the food items you purchased.

Did I forget to tell you about this discounting? If so, I apologize for the lack of communication.

It may be true that our private living spaces are not always as neatly kept as the spaces we offer to our guests. As for other issues, I don't say
I agree, but we are always trying to improve our place and make guests feel comfortable in our home.

Sincerely,

--Naoko Yamamoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

excellent location in the area and in an historical Victorian house and very close to town center; very convenient to stay in a separate house with kitchen when staying with kids,..... but cleanliness of pillows, carpet and overall house did not meet our expections. Breakfast was also not abondant (had to ask for any additionnal toast or cup of coffee) however the hostess and husband were very nice, friendly and the stay was overall positive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BXLneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I have stayed with Dan & Naoko at their Carriage House Bed & Breakfast for many years now. They are consistently helpful and friendly while providing a very comfortable stay. The location is an easy walk from the downtown area in the attractive James Bay neighbourhood with its tree lined streets and heritage homes. From the B & B you can easily walk to Beacon Hill Park, the Empress Hotel, shops, restaurants, the Island Bus station, the floatplanes or cruise ships. Dan & Naoko provide a very nice hot breakfast and if you need any helpful hints, they are eager to please and to make your stay in Victoria memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gema28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this B & B and found it to be comfortable and very will situated. The rooms themselves were a bit dated (and no TV) but otherwise comfortable. Breakfast was lovely both mornings and the hosts Dan and Naoko were really kind, helpful and informative. The best thing about this B & B is its proximity to the city centre. Entirely walkable to the city whilst being suburban at the same time. Unusually for a stay in the city, the only traffic that awoke me was the sea planes above!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooeyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Very convenient location, we travelled to Victoria by bus/ferry/bus from Vancouver airport and it was an easy walk to b and b from bus depot down near harbourside area. Victoria is a delightful place, very picturesque and a trip to Butchart Gardens is definitely worthwhile.
Dan and Naoko start you off with a great breakfast, perfect host and hostess.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallcanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Heathergate House B&B
Heathergate House B&B
#17 of 92 in Victoria
59 reviews
James Bay
Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Island Suites
#46 of 92 in Victoria
15 reviews
James Bay
Gatsby Mansion
Gatsby Mansion
#12 of 92 in Victoria
210 reviews
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 596 Toronto St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1P4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: ₹ 3,153 - ₹ 5,781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing