We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours

Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
Book In Advance
US$ 84.86*
and up
Victoria Marine Wildlife Tour
Ranked #1 of 97 Tours in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Wild 4 Whales! Eagle Wing Tours is Victoria, BC's 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company. Guaranteed Whales & guaranteed adventure with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and safe marine adventure tour company on Vancouver Island. Don't take our word for it: we have been rated as the #1 whale watching tour company in Victoria on Trip Advisor since 2007. As passionate stewards of a world renowned marine environment, we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just "a look at the whales". Eagle Wing Tours was Canada's first 100% carbon neutral whale watching tour company and the only one to support 1% For the Planet. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who have spent their lives learning the intricacies of the local ecosystem. This locally owned and family operated marine adventure eco-tourism company offers the only sustainable, premium experience for travellers demanding more. We realize that most of our guests have traveled great distances at high cost to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. We respect, and ultimately are grateful for this, and so with every departure we go above and beyond - maximizing guest satisfaction, overall comfort, and delivering the "WOW" factor!- at the center of the world's highest concentration of Killer whales (orca, or Blackfish) and other whale (cetacean) species in the Salish Sea, such as Humpback whales, Gray whales, and Minke whales. Our mission to you, our customer! Eagle Wing's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all wildlife in the Salish Sea, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill! PASSION - EXPLORE - INSPIRE
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Went out with these guys today and had the most wonderful time! A fun filled four hours spent chasing orcas, porpoises, sea lions, harbour seals and much more with two fun and knowledgable guides who had a great enthusiasm for their natural and beautiful surroundings. Would definitely recommend this whale watching guide to others!!! You won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,410
    100
    19
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Check this off your bucket list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have nothing but great things to say about this company!!
When you board the boat they have everything you need for the trip out! Toques, gloves, sunglasses, blankets, information sheets and not to mention an on-board washroom!

The boats are super fast which gives you more opportunity to see the whales, meaning you can go farther distances!

The driver we had was Chris, he was great! Funny, informative, and always always willing to answer questions!

We ended up seeing Harbor Seals, Stellar Sea Lions, Elephant Seals, and of course Orcas!
Since it was very early in the season they couldn't guarantee us any whales, but they more than delivered. We ended up going farther than normal and got an amazing viewing opportunity!

This company, and their staff make you feel safe, comfortable, and are just awesome!

I highly, highly, highly, recommend them if you are thinking about Whale Watching in Victoria!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tnelthorpe91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“See the orcas.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just had a great trip this afternoon. The company provides all you need to keep warm as you whiz to where the orcas are. Chris took us to a large pod of orcas. They were playing with a large sealion and we got great views, with the orcas swimming to within 20ft of the boat. Thoroughly recommend, with Chris providing knowledgable snippets of information.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CycleFan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Towards the end of our family holiday in British Columbia we took an Eagle Wing Whale watching tour. After reading lots of reviews we had opted for these guys and what a great decision that was. All equipment and warm outer clothing was provided and the crew were extemely knowledgable. We were lucky enough to see 3 pods of Orca's in the same area and must have seen over 30. The crew were very knowledgable and used their experience to loacted the best viewing areas. One pod even swam towards us and directly under our boat which meant some great pictures and video. As for the boat it appears to be one of the fastest whale watchers in the area so you get to the whales quicker and have more time viewing. The setup is a little smaller than the main ones in Victoria Harbour (which seem to catch the passing trade) but I would say this means they can give a more personal service. Couldn't fault the trip and would thoroughly recommend them to any would be whale watchers.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CycleFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“One of the best days of my life!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were booked on an afternoon tour with Eagle Wing in september 2011. It was a short walk from our hotel in Victoria and easy to find. We had pre-booked our tickets a few months in advance through the website which was easy to do. |I would say the tickets were reasonably priced considering whale watching is not cheap anyway.
When we arrived we were given warm protective clothing to wear as it gets very cold when out on the tour.
We set off on time and had a short stop to see some harbour sealions and some birds (I forget what they're called!) and another stop to learn about kelp. Then we were off...we travelled for about 15-20 at full pelt to reach the orca's and were not disappointed! We saw so many whales, I was left speechless! One whale even swam up to our boat and then underneath! The guide was fantastic and had so much information about all the different whales...he really knew his stuff! We were probably our on the water for about 90 minutes and I loved every second!
the boat was very comfortable with a toilet on board and storage for rucksacks etc.
I can't imagine any other company doing such a good job. Well done Eagle Wing...you made this a day to remember!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank catp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing