We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, comfortable room, reasonable price”
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient location, comfortable room, reasonable price”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Chose this hotel because of tripadvisor. Thank you to previous posts. Convenient location. Right next to the museum. Comfortable living space. We had a two double bed suite with a living room and kitchen. Comes with full size fridge. Very comfortable place for a very reasonable rate. Beds are comfortable - they're even replacing all the bed frames this week. It has 3 buildings. Very homey feeling. Like any old building, there are of course stairs, so for the elderly with a lot of heavy suitcases - ask for something without stairs. Very quiet when we were there. The view... well,that's why you walk over to the harbor. Our view is of the next building that is 10 feet away. Overall great location for a relatively low price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoweFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    192
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
119
248
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel. Don't let the outside sway you - inside it is very nice. The room was huge, clean and comfortable. There is no breakfast but they do have coffee and fresh fruit available all the time in the lobby which is a quiet spot to use the Internet or watch their big screen tv. Wi-fi is also available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellers026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The front desk clerk welcomed me by name on arrival. I don't know how he did it but I was impressed. Well placed right behind the Parliment buildings. Very clean. Nicely renovated and redecorated. All new fixtures. The kids actually liked sleeping on the pullout couch and remarked on how comfortable it was. Flatscreen tv's and full size fridge. Only two complaints: we paid for parking but we had to park on the street both nights as the parking lot was always full; we were awakened at 7:30am on Sunday morning by the housekeeping staff, including vacumning outside our door with a " do not disturb" on it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Two night stop over in Victoria and based on reviews, gave her a go.
Three small triplex buildings with what would be considered a standard size condo in downtown Toronto, Great location two minute walk to Imax, museum and the warf, tours, parliament buildings. Perfect central point for walking and exploring the city,

Fully stocked kitchen (mugs, plates, cutlery, pots, pans, strainer, toaster, wine glasses, dish rack ...) two seat table in kitchen.
Microwave, stove, coffee pot, teas, ample creamers and sugar.

Fair size washroom, wall hair dryer, well stocked with towels and supplies.
Middle Building ground floor unit has sliding doors to a small patio with coffee table and two chairs. Slight concern about being able to secure the sliding doors from inside with a secondary lock; there are security cameras everywhere.
Above I see balconies.
Two big closets, ample room for hanging coats and clothing; ironing board with iron.
Computer desk cabinet with chair also a handy workspace.
Firm not squishy king mattress, the finishing linens and curtains are dated but clean white sheets.
Friendly staff upon check in.

The room doors do slam shut and are loud if your neighbors don't take care enough to close them slowly. After midnight didn't seem to be an issue on our stay in the AM it was.

Good price and good location, would stay again if in the area for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akyraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breeza nsw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This was another trip advisor hotel I picked up, this was a good value property, the folks in the reception were friendly and welcoming, rooms are neat clean and a good stop over. The bathroom was a little tight, and I find it hard to work out these north american taps! Great hot shower no problems here. Cheap parking, but you walk around to the empress and eat dinner down town.

Room Tip: We had the room above the lobby so it was roadside but not all that noisy, but there is traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,332 - ₹ 11,673
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing