We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
284 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

To be frank, i didn't have much expectation when i first saw this hotel, which appeared a motel to me consisting of 3 low layer plain building.

However, after i checked in, everything is beyond my expectation and surprisingly good.

Pro:
excellent location: that's main reason we picked this as 2nd night in Victoria after Fairmont. It's just 2 min walk from Fairmont, 1min from Pacific coach station, BC Museum. What's more, Beacon Hill Park is just next to the hotel across the street.
Large suite fully fitted and newly decorated: It's true suite including a bedroom, a living room (quite spacious with sofa and TV), kitchen (it's large fully equipped again but pitty we don't have time to use it), bathroom, large closet. It'll be perfect if you need to stay Victoria for a few days and like to experience local ppl living.
Reception with free fresh apples, free coffee, free newspaper/magazine, and free advice from the staff which helped us a lot.
Wifi is free and stable too. They got free computer at reception for guests use as well
Price: all-in CAD100 sounds good deal to me. Actually, room and facility are much new and better than Fairmont:)

Con: really can't think of much. Maybe just no free breakfast?:)

Room Tip: it's true suite. g/f is good as you don't need to carry luggage for stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    189
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
119
244
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I've stayed at the helms six times now, each time at either end of a West Coast Trail hike. Helm's is a somewhat older hotel, but the rooms are well looked after, have been kept up to date and are clean and nice. There's a kitchen in most of them, and the price is really good considering you are simply crawling distance from downtown Victoria.

If you are hiking West Coast Trail this is *the* place. between the kitchen, and you walk 200M down the hill to catch the trail bus, you can't ask for more. It's also a great spot that is easy to walk to anywhere in downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Helm's Inn for 4 nights in March. Our room overlooked Beacon Hill Park and was very clean and put together. The front desk staff were attentive and helpful providing us with restaurant tips and the best things to see and do. The Inn has a nice little lounge for reading, visiting or doing a puzzle and there is always coffee or tea. We were very impressed with the rate of our room, you would have a hard time finding a room for the price. Our room had a little kitchenette and sitting area and plenty of room for all of our belongings. Bathroom was a little small but nothing that we couldn't work with. Our room was right above an intersection so there was some road noise but they even provided a fan in the room so that we didn't hear the noise at night. The location is also amazing, parking lot backs onto the BC museum and parking is only 5 dollars a day. We wouldn't bring our kids here as there was no pool but for a couple this place is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautyForAshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

A lovely boutique hotel, excellent service and lovely, but small rooms. Beautifully decorated and appointed.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor if possible. Although all rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkdale38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The staff are friendly and always willing to help out. The rooms are nice and very clean. Never had a bad stay :-)

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy corner in Victoria. Ask for inside room if you need quiet to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,739 - ₹ 11,687
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing