We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent service and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Helm's Inn for 4 nights in March. Our room overlooked Beacon Hill Park and was very clean and put together. The front desk staff were attentive and helpful providing us with restaurant tips and the best things to see and do. The Inn has a nice little lounge for reading, visiting or doing a puzzle and there is always coffee or tea. We were very impressed with the rate of our room, you would have a hard time finding a room for the price. Our room had a little kitchenette and sitting area and plenty of room for all of our belongings. Bathroom was a little small but nothing that we couldn't work with. Our room was right above an intersection so there was some road noise but they even provided a fan in the room so that we didn't hear the noise at night. The location is also amazing, parking lot backs onto the BC museum and parking is only 5 dollars a day. We wouldn't bring our kids here as there was no pool but for a couple this place is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautyForAshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    189
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
119
244
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

A lovely boutique hotel, excellent service and lovely, but small rooms. Beautifully decorated and appointed.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor if possible. Although all rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parkdale38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The staff are friendly and always willing to help out. The rooms are nice and very clean. Never had a bad stay :-)

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy corner in Victoria. Ask for inside room if you need quiet to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 days for a Christmas show in Nov. The room was clean and it was very handy to have the kitchenette (we kept milk in there for cereal and ice cream for pigging out at night). Bathroom as a little on the small side but definitely adequate. Front desk staff was always very pleasant. Husband commented on how comfy the bed was, i wish there was a down duvet instead of heavy weight blanket ...

Also wish we didn't have to pay extra for parking ...

Location was great for us, only a block away from the Crystal Garden where we were working.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yatyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed for three nights and the large king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was fine apart from the lack of space around the sink to put any toiletries. The kitchenette is very well stocked and the fridge is a great size. We had a large room on the first floor wtih a small dining table and two chairs plus another coffee table and two armchairs overlooking the entrance to the reception area. Traffic noise wasn't a problem for us but may be for some. Also having to carry suitcases up stairs was a little inconvenient as there is no elevator.

The location of this place is fantastic, just across the road from Beacon Hill Park which was delightful and a lovely place to take a stroll. Also close to the waterfront and various restaurants.

A great place to stock up on any food requirements is Thrifty Foods at James Bay in Simcoe Street which is a couple of blocks away but worth the walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,093 - ₹ 11,654
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing