We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a holiday visit to Victoria.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Orcas Island, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a holiday visit to Victoria.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I was traveling with my 85 year old mother and we were given a ground floor 1-bdrm suite that met our needs perfectly. If traveling with someone who doesn't do stairs very well, be sure to ask for this as there are no elevators. The beds were great, the kitchen was surprisingly large and well equipped and the price was excellent, particularly with the winter rates in effect. No view but a very nice patio to be enjoyed in warmer weather. The location is excellent, bordering the Provincial Museum and Beacon Hill Park and within easy walking distance of the Inner Harbor and downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    189
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
119
244
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The location was great and the room was overall nice and clean. But the shower drain was totally plugged, and I had to pull out a long handful of gucky hair, bit by bit, before it would drain. Yech! And make sure you get one of the rooms with balcony or patio. Ours had only windows that looked out on an alley at pavement level. Also, there was no counter space at all in the kitchen or bath. The only table was so narrow it could only seat one person at a time without overlapping knees. And no DVD player. Not a great experience, overall.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, Manager at Helm's Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2012
It is with all sincerity that I offer my deepest apologies that your recent stay with us was unpleasant. I have addressed this issue with our Housekeeping Supervisor, and with the housekeeping staff themselves as well, to be certain that this rare lapse in standard will not happen again. I hope that you will contact me personally, so that we might discuss a future stay at the Helm's Inn.

Chris Prescott
Manager of the Helm's Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Very nice hotel with large, clean and well decorated rooms. Ours with a all you need ktchenet. No restaurant on site but very close by and you have the option of cooking yourself your meal with the well equiped kitchenet. Right across the entrance of Beaconhill Park if you really enjoy a stroll in the park or need some open space for children to run and play.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DML08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I have been staying here at the Helm's Inn for nearly two weeks. I'm visiting Victoria while taking a class at the University of Victoria. Helm's Inn is clean and quite with friendly and helpful staff. I have rented a suite with a kitchenette witch is perfect for longer stays. The location is wonderful, close to the inner harbour and great downtown shopping and restaurants. The bus stop to catch a ride to the University is just a block away. Best of all, I feel safe here which is important when I'm travelling on my own. The cost to stay here is very fair considering the room size and amenities. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Victoria!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed at the Helm's Inn for one month. It was a modern, lovely suite and Chris the manager was very hospitable and helpful. I highly recommend this place. It's also considerably less expensive than many hotels but equally as nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deniceandbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,190 - ₹ 11,684
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing