We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$ 271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 164
US$ 159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$ 207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 160
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 311
US$ 276
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 205
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 210
US$ 201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 272
US$ 248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveller rating
196
207
105
41
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
207
105
41
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomcafe loungea private double roombed dormrooms are smallcommon areasfree breakfaststreet noisedowntown victoriastayed two nightscentral locationvancouver islandhostelfridgestoragesinkcanada
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 569 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We were here for a short stay, and I thought the rooms were quite small. It was perfect for a few nights, but if you were staying for 3+ days I would probably consider another hostel. No free breakfast, but they do have reasonably priced options. Conveniently located in Victoria. Staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. The building and rooms were older, but they were spruced up and looked good. The bathrooms were pretty small but clean. It was a good value and I'd suggest it for a short stay but not too long.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slick828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanIslandManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thank you for your comments. Our rooms are small on purpose to offer low prices to budget travelers. We also have discounted rates for stays of a week or more. Please check our website for detailed information about each room type, including photos and floor plans. Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Wwoofing in a hostel is just the perfect opportunity to explore a city for very cheap. Instead of spending a lot of effort and time looking for job and accommodation you can more easily enjoy your stay in Victoria at this hostel, work 30 hours a week and get your bed and even food and drinks for free. Meet great people from all over the world and Germany in particular! If you don't mind housekeeping check this out!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravellers11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanIslandManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I traveled for a year around Canada and I must say: the Ocean Island Inn is one of the best Hostels I ever been!
Located in the hart of Downtown it isn't far away to cheap supermarkets and other attractions.
The staff is very friendly and help you in any questions. The Hostel is very clean, including the toilets and bathrooms!
The best thing is the in-house bar: from 5 to 12pm you can buy some very good food from all over the world and of course drinking beer. So they have a choice of over 20 sorts of beer from all over the world. I like :>

Finally i can say it was a great time in Ocean Island and if I have the possibility I would come back to this Hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friederich90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanIslandManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Awwww…. Thank you! We hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

It`s a good possibility,at whoofen and safe money,to get ocean-island dollars for work.
The staff are very easy and friendly.It`s a amazing location.
Guests from all over the world feels good.

The rooms are very differently from privat rooms til 8 beds room.

Room Tip: usually private rooms are noisier than share room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautiful008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanIslandManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thank you for your comments; we’re glad you enjoyed your stay!
I’d like to add to your room tip: the people in shared rooms may be quieter, out of respect for their roommates. But in general, if you’re looking for a quiet night (in a private room or a shared room), go for a room on one of the upper floors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed here with the BF for 2 nights. First up, Tim ( I think) was very helpful but I think he gave us a more expensive room than what we asked for (and we paid for it). As with the rest of the reviews, the room was tiny - and we were given a mid-size! The room could definitely be improved by removing the ridiculously large cupboards that are built into the wall (think kitchen style) - so pointless and took up so much room.
The bed was fairly uncomfy but there was absolutely no noise from outside.
The doors needed a bit of effort to be closed properly (including bathroom) so at all hours of the night when people returned it was really loud.
Bathroom was ok - they're remodelling at the moment and the ones that haven't been done really need it.
What really let this place down is re space allocated to the cafe/kitchen/lounge. The kitchen is awkwardly set up and could do with a few more fry pans but other than that has ample everything. We cooked dinner at 830pm one night and couldn't sit anywhere because of the open mic running in the 'lounge'. (seats... 30 people)
We attended the trivia night which was an absolute shambles. Disappointing as the trivia at the Samesun in Vancouver was spot on. The quiz wasn't written when it was supposed to start, the PA system didn't work and then the host kept adding things onto questions. Or was unsure of answers. Then she want sure how many points the quiz was out (we correcte them by swapping)... So anyway. We left.

Overall. It's clean. That's the positive. I would stay there again for the location and because I believe it to be the best of a bad lot.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tawdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanIslandManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thank you for staying with us. I asked Tim about the room upgrade, and he said your room was upgrade at no extra charge. The price you paid was the price of the original room you booked, not the price of the upgraded room. Sorry for any confusion.
We’re glad you appreciated the cleanliness of the building. We have a team of housekeeping staff who work very hard to keep the building in tip-top shape.
Our rooms are small in order to keep prices low. Our private rooms are priced far below other options, and every room has a fridge. A few rooms also have cupboards for extra storage, but not all of them: if you’d prefer a room without cupboards, consider booking a #4 or a #9 room (neither of those have cupboards, and the #9’s have private bathrooms too). Please also be sure to check out website for photos, floorplans, and detailed notes about each room type, as each of our rooms (even the ones that are the same size) may have different features.
I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the seating plan of the Lounge. It’s true that sometimes the Lounge can be crowded, but most guests enjoy the atmosphere. Usually, if the Lounge is busy, it’s only for a few hours: from, say, 8:30 to 11:30 pm.
Hopefully on your next visit, we’ll be able to change your opinion from “the best of a bad lot” to simply “the best.” Please let us know if you have any special requirements, and we'll do our best to accommodate them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews