We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stopped”

The Tropical Island Restaurant
Ranked #222 of 1,289 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 23
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: The Tropical Island Restaurant is a Malaysian, Thai, Singapore and Chinese Fusion of Culinary Art full of surprises served to Perfection from our Chef and Owner. Free delivery within 5km for orders over $25. Cash or Credit Cards only.
Reviewed 20 August 2018

This was our first visit and we found the waitress,Meghan,to be one of the best in a while. She was very knowledgeable about the food and beverages available and had a very,very positive attitude in general.
We selected the Sampler for 2,which both of us enjoyed. We shall return.

Thank eddyVictoria_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yu R, Customer Service Manager at The Tropical Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Eddy, thank you very much for your nice review. We are so glad to hear that you and your party enjoyed our food and service. We are looking forward to serve you again soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Ordered 4 dishes-

Roti Chanai- does not live up to what it should look and taste like
Char Kway Teow does not deserve to be called that as it does not come close
Sambal Green Bean - okay but this will barely pass
Tropical beef- this is deep fried beef that is crisp and tasteless.

Thank Pradeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yu R, Customer Service Manager at The Tropical Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Hi Pradeep, we are sorry to hear that Tropical Island is not your style of restaurant. As an Asian fusion restaurant, we put elements and ideas from different cultures to our cuisine in order to make it unique. In this way, some of our dishes may not look exactly the same as the original version. To make sure our food is delicious is always our priority since we first opened 10 years ago. If you mentioned your opinion about our food to our staff onsite, we will be happy to help you right away.

However, we understand that people have different preference for taste of food. For example, as many customers' favorite dish, our Tropical Beef is famous for its savory taste,but for you it is tasteless. All the Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

This was my first time here, and I am so excited to say that this food is awesome!!
The coconut rice is awesome and a definite and also the Prawn crispy rolls.
All the food is delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yu R, Customer Service Manager at The Tropical Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hi Elaine B, thank you so much for your review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our food. We are looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We’ve been coming here for years and LOVE the food. Lately, however, we’ve noticed their portion sizing has nearly been cut to half for the same price. We almost always get delivery. We love the food but have to order more items now to feed the same amount of people. It’s too bad but I would still recommend giving this place a try

Thank lisajK2101YO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yu R, Customer Service Manager at The Tropical Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi Lisa J, thank you for your feedback and being our customer for years. For our portion sizing, it is always the same. In order to pay respect to our loyal customers, we heaven't changed our portion sizing for years, even though we always use those top quality material and our labour and material cost are keep increasing. We have noticed that, sometimes we put the same amount of food in a take out box, it looks a little less. This may be the cause of your misunderstanding. On the other hand, based on our customer service and marketing research, most of our customers think our portion sizing is more than enough for them. If you have any further questions or suggestions, please feel free to contact us via email : yurao.thetropicalisland@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

We saw this place on trip adviser. Foods were nice, but we were disappointed because servers were not friendly. Even though we were foreigners, they spoke too quickly and wanted us to leave early.

1  Thank BackPacker748532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yu R, Customer Service Manager at The Tropical Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Hi 준혁 김, thank you for your review. As a Asian fusion restaurant, most of our customers are from different cultures and we always try our best to provide them the best food and service. There must be some misunderstanding in this case. We would like to know more about this case. If you don't mind, could you email us more detail about this case? Our email address: yurao.thetropicalisland@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tropical Island Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Tropical Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing