We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
90
24
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
24
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshemingway suiteernest hemingwayprivate bathroomcharming b beach morningkitchen areayogurtvisiting victoriasaxeprivacystraitseagullshostsharbour
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017

The room and adjacent private bathroom both had the best in bedding and clean and modern facilities in a beautiful house that is full of authentic antique decoration and furnishings. The hosts are a very intelligent and attentive couple, eager to look after your every need, without being fussy or intrusive. The breakfasts are terrific.

Room Tip: The whole house is very quiet and all the rooms seem spacious and airy.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erichnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

If you're a fan of Hemingway or you're just looking for a quiet, clean bed and breakfast you'll enjoy Hemingway by the Sea. A half hour walk will take you to downtown Victoria. Charley & Patty, the owners treat you like visiting friends.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed 2 nights. Pat and Charlie are gracious hosts. They greeted us at the door and were on hand for breakfast. The Key West bedroom is large and the bay window gave us a view of the water. It has a ceiling fan, which we did not need during our early September visit. Beautifully carved antique bed and side tables are reminiscent of Hemingway's home. The mattress was super comfy. The closet was roomy, and had fluffy bathrobes and a small fridge. We had plenty of hot water and thick towels for the shower. The weekday continental breakfast included fresh fruit, hot and cold cereal, yogurt, muffins, breads, coffee, tea, and juice. For dinner, we enjoyed a short walk to a local restaurant overlooking the water. From there we rode a water taxi ($6 and includes explanation of the sights) to downtown Vic to the museums, Empress Hotel, bus tour and whale watching tour ticket place, etc. In the sitting room, we enjoyed talking with the other guests.

Room Tip: There is a huge suite with private balcony overlooking the back garden.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

A clean and charming room in a beautiful building in a very nice and quiet area of Victoria, walking distance by the Center of the city (about 30 minutes walking). The owners Patty and Charlie are very kind and efficient in answering every question you have.

Room Tip: Being a B&B some rooms have bathroom inside, some dont.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Totello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Charlie is a very, very kind host and did serve us delicious ‘customised’ breakfasts. The rooms were very spacious and loaded with facilities… in a very quiet environment. Our host was also very helpful and gave us good advice.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gert Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews