We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strathcona Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
US$ 214
US$ 204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
US$ 244
US$ 232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 286
US$ 272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 189
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 614
US$ 457
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arbutus Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 153
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Helm's Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 176
US$ 162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 122
US$ 116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$ 306
US$ 216
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
68
168
146
44
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
168
146
44
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargreat locationcentral locationnight lifehotel featuresliquor storebasic roomdesk stafffew minutes walkheart of downtownold world charmstayed two nightsferry terminalvancouver islandvisiting victoriainner harborwicket
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We booked three nights at the Strathcona with the dine and stay package. The hotel was centrally located..we walked everywhere! We ate 3 meals at the Sticky Wicket and the food was very good. The continental breakfast was minimally simple but was included in the price of the room. The Strath wine shop had an excellent selection of wine and beer. Our 5th floor room was quiet and the bed comfortable but the bathroom could use a refresh. The staff was friendly and welcoming! We would definitely stay again when visiting Victoria

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

CD Setters, Thank you for your review. Your comments about our property including the Stay and Dine package, the Sticky Wicket, continental breakfast at our liquor stare are appreciated and will be very helpful for future travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

I love the Strath, it's my favourite place to stay in Victoria. Perfect to stay for a night out as it is just above the sticky wicket, distrikt, big bad johns and liquor store. Ideal location to party. Clean rooms with comfy beds. Wouldn't recommend for kids. But perfect location in the heart of downtown, not bad for prices either. Their continental breakfast could use some work.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Julia, Thank you for your review. I hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The Strathcona Hotel was what we expected! Beautiful, Vintage, and very clean!!!! well appointed, and with very helpful staff.

The rooms smell fresh and they were very clean. I felt staying there as if you're stepping back into history while enjoying modern convenience.

While its location is ideal for walking in Victoria, close to shops, restaurants, the marina, also offers it's own night life downstair's bar/nightclub, where in the morning there's free breakfast.

We truly loved the convenience, reasonable priced and amazing customer service.

Thank you Strathcona Hotel, you rock!

Room Tip: Room was quiet, comfortable beds and warm rooms in winter, fantastic location!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Great hotel great staff. I was selling a house back In Ontario during my stay. The staff couldn’t do enough to help. I recommend this place close to everything and clean. Fair price as well. Room was small. Victoria has lots of homeless.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Keith, Thank you for your kind comments. My desk staff had a good laugh at my first response thinking you where staying at the Toronto Strathcona Hotel. Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Older hotel in the heart of downtown Victoria - well located for all the sites! Well appointed - has been upgraded. Staff very friendly and helpful. No air-conditioning but fans worked well. The room itself was lovely - they upgraded us to a suite as it was our anniversary. (56 yrs) We were able to walk the waterfront and enjoy the entertainment and visit shops near by. Viewed the Parliament buildings and museum. All within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pansy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Pansy50, Congratulations of 56 years. Thank you for your review. I will stop by the Hotel front desk and thank the staff personally for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews