We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a gem in downtown Victoria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a gem in downtown Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel is nicely furnished, clean, central and provides fine service. It is walking distance to the ocean, beautiful Beacon Hill Park, down town shops, parliament building, museum, fine restaurants and the lovely inner harbour. The lobby always has a lavish and inspiring floral bouquet. Ask for a sixth floor, inner harbour view. I have stayed at most of Victoria's hotels and would make it my first choice over the grand Empress, Chateau Victoria, Oswego, Executive House, Marriott, Laurel Point Inn, Harbour Towers and Grand Pacific. It is a great value for the dollar. Only Brentwood Bay Lodge which is on the outskirts of town can provide as nice an ambiance.

Room Tip: Room with fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goliath5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,007
    373
    65
    18
    6
See reviews for
409
1,278
109
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

There definition of superior rooms is ...... haaaaw !

Well, if the only view you get is looking at an old building 20 ft away accross the street ..... Not sure I want to be in their regular rooms.

Continantal breakfast is included but there is no service at all. At least you don't feel cheap not leaving tips .

I will try something else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ago20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed at the Magnolia on June 18, 2012 to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. When we checked in we were told that we had been upgraded to the best suite. It was a beautiful corner suite on the top floor, with fireplace and a lovely view of the Legislative buildings and Inner Harbour. Perfect location! Breakfast in the morning was lovely. I had read some previous reviews about the breakfast and was concerned that it may be less than expected, however it was more. Not sure what some people expect, as we were very happy to be able to have coffee/tea, juice, fruit, yogurt, bagels, waffles, etc and so much more. They offer coffee, tea, lemonade and fresh fruit in the lobby all day! Wonderful. Would definitely stay again!
One little observation~we requested via the Guestfolio for an early check-in, however did not receive any e-mail confirmation back. When I called the morning we were checking in I was happily advised that our room was ready (even earlier that I had requested). Had we received a reply we would have been able to check in early and had more time to enjoy our lovely room~maybe next time! Thanks again to all the staff at the lovely Magnolia Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The hotel is conveniently located near the city center and numerous attractions. The breakfast buffet is awesome, and the personally made fruit smooothies were really over the top. The service, professionalism, and sincere hospitality by the hotel management and staff made our vacation to Victoria a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skidude62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I must start by saying that by all standards this is a very nice hotel and we were really looking forward to staying there. Location is central and close to shops and amenities, the rooms are bright, spacious and equipped with a number of thoughtful additions that really make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive.
Unfortunatly for us this hotel also has an A/C system that we found especially noisy. We asked to be moved from the first room shortly after checking in and classically we were told that they were fully booked for the night and so couldn't be moved. The next day, after a sleepless night and a phone call from the travel agent who organized our honeymoon, we were offered a room upgrade although we didn't ask for anything of the sort as we were just concerned about getting some sleep and all we wanted was for the constant humming to off. The noise issue was slightly better in this second room but still not ok and in the end we were just relieved to be leaving the place. Apart from the A/C problem, which I appreciate cannot be solved overnight, what really annoyed me was the attitude of the hotel staff. It took a phone call from my travel agent to be moved and when I enquired the next day if anything could be done a guy told me "Yes, now we have given you the best room of the hotel" as if we asked for it. Second when we checked out another person i hadn't seen before called me by name and unsmilingly asked me "how was our night this time". I find this pretty rude, also considering that we didn't spend our whole time complaining with the hotel staff about the room

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollivander1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Ollivander1978,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa.

Congratulations on your recent wedding, and thank you for choosing The Magnolia during your visit to Victoria. I appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback and the kind words about the caliber of our hotel.

I am truly sorry that noise from our air conditioning units caused the level of discomfort as it did during your visit with us. I can also assure you that had there been a room available on your first night stay your room would have been immediately moved to another room. I am sorry that the room move had to be on your second night, and we were hoping that our Signature Diamond view room would provide a wonderful experience on this 2nd night.

With respect to our air conditioning, all of the equipment nearby your room location has been serviced and reviewed by technicians since your stay and are operating properly at this time. I apologize again that noise from these units caused issues during your visit.

I sincerely hope that the balance of your honeymoon to Canada was wonderful.

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please contact me at gm@magnoliahotel.com
Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,731 - ₹ 19,992
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing