We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
213
282
78
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
213
282
78
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator beacon hill park quaint hotel few blocks dallas road third floor stay there again older hotel government street heritage house rooms are small old world charm within walking distance no air conditioning an easy walk tea and coffee bed was comfortable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2022

Staff was so friendly and Hedy suggested several places for us to walk to. Staff was top notch! Beds were very comfortable. Its an old building with no elevator but staff will carry your bags up the stairs for you. Charming lobby with water, tea and coffee served. Best part, its an easy walk to the inner harbor, downtown, and the neighborhood park. Easy morning walk to a few coffee shops as well. Its also on the route for the horse buggies. I would stay again w/o hesitation. Downstairs pub was filled with locals, and has the same menu as the dining room.

Room tip: Free parking and close to the Ferry if you're coming from Port Angeles
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EllenCatL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ric Allen, General Manager at James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We will be sure to share your kind words with our team. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2022 via mobile

We had a nice stay at the charming James Bay inn Hotel.
Friendly staff.
No air conditioning but there was a fan in our room.
There is no elevator which might be a problem for some people.
But no air and no elevator is clearly stated on website!
Our room was large. Beds were comfortable. Plenty of soft, fluffy towels.
Super clean.
It’s not a complaint, just a fact. I believe the exhaust fans from the kitchen were outside our bedroom window so at times our room smelled fishy. We found out later that fish was the evening special.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 757SueH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ric Allen, General Manager at James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

Thank you for sharing your balanced review. Such a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2022

Lovely base for a 3-night stay in Victoria. Our room was very comfortable and clean but hot (thankfully a fan was provided). We had a fridge, tv (which we didn't use) and a huge bathroom with a shower cubicle. The WIFI was also very good. We overlooked the carpark which was mainly quiet. The door to our room had quite a gap under it but a draft-excluder had been provided to block out the light.

The hotel itself is in a great location, not far to walk to the harbour area and Beacon Hill Park was just a short stroll away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were on the 3rd floor and the receptionist very happily offered to carry our suitcase up to our room. Tea and coffee is provided each morning in the lobby. It would have been nice to have had this throughout the day.

Décor around the hotel is in keeping with its age and sofas are provided along the corridors. Just opposite our room was a balcony that looked out onto the main street. I went out to sit here a couple of times because it was much cooler than our room. It was lovely watching the horse and carriages go by.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButtercupOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ric Allen, General Manager at James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

Amazing and very detailed review, thank you so much. We hope you will come back to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2022

We were one of two couples who shared a cottage (and bathroom) in the grounds of the hotel. We chose to take advantage of the kitchen to make our own breakfasts but enjoyed our meal with a larger group in the James Bay pub one evening.

The historic buildings naturally affect the facilities on offer (no lifts or air conditioning) but the warmth of the welcome makes up for it. The easy walk into the centre of Victoria was a wonderful convenience and the James Bay area was a nice place in which to stay.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ric Allen, General Manager at James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

Such a nice review. Thank you so much for sharing. We hope to have you as our guest again. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2022

We loved this place! we stayed 2 days and had a great time! Hedy at Front desk is the man! I would hire him any time! ( I'm in the Hotel business! ) Full of knowledge and happiness! Yes, the rooms are small but full of history and flair! Building is old but has charm and character! Great price for the location! We will be back for sure!!! Try the Restaurant and Pub, great food!!!! Thanks so much Hedy! You made our days great!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eutin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ric Allen, General Manager at James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

Hedy, says thank you for the special mention. We are grateful for this wonderful review. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews