We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
157
252
70
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
252
70
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator beacon hill park emily carr restaurant downstairs quaint hotel horse drawn short walk few blocks three blocks nice neighborhood dallas road government street third floor heritage house an older hotel main building rooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We booked the family suite on first floor which provided separation of lsleeping quarters for 2 people. The room was very nice. The location of the Inn was excellent, set amongst historic homes, very little traffic around, yet walking distance to Ogden Point, Beacon Hill Park, Fisherman's Wharf, The Inner Harbour and Legislature Buildings and downtown. Average cost was $190 per night for 2 people. There are many places to stay in Victoria but this Inn makes you feel very welcome and at home.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank invue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Our room was very big, clean with a really comfortable king bed. Check in was very quick and easy. It was 6-8 minute flat walk to the city centre and a 3 minute walk to the beautiful Beacon Hill Park. There is a bar and cafe down stairs. Breakfast isn’t available until 7-30am so just be aware if booking morning tours. Prices are very reasonable. We definitely stay here next time

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

If you love funky old hotels, you'll love the James Bay Inn. The biggest drawback for me was that is no elevator. There is a full flight of stairs just to get to the lobby. The lobby is decorated with antiques and has some lovely stained glass. The room was small and it was difficult to find a spot to watch the TV. There was a large comfortable seating area on the landing as well a shared balcony. There was no air conditioning, but with open windows we had a nice cross breeze that kept the room cool.

The pub and restaurant were very nice and reasonably priced. They seemed to popular with locals as well as hotel guests. Although not in the heart of the popular harbor area, it was within reasonable walking distance and there were restaurants and pubs withing a few blocks.

Room tip: If you have problems with stairs, ask for a room on the lower floor.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Nice location within walking distance of Fisherman’s Wharf and the harbour. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Free parking also a bonus.

We were on the 3rd floor in room 321 which was a large corner room with double aspect windows. Yes the floors are a bit uneven and there aren’t any lifts and lots of stairs but it’s a lovely old building with lots of character.

There is a mini fridge in the room. No tea or coffee making facilities but there is an iced water dispenser in reception and coffee available in the morning as well. Breakfast is available in the restaurant from 0730 and the pancakes were great and service quick, shame the evening service wasn’t so efficient as we waited 50 mins for our main course to arrive.

We really enjoyed our stay though but would maybe find somewhere else to have an evening meal.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dlp39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We enjoyed a two night stay at JBI, staying in one of the suites, which was really a full scale apartment. Very homey and charming. The location was excellent - a quiet and interesting neighborhood with good restaurants and shops. An easy walk to the harbor and downtown area.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndreaJ2621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews