We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Victoria ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pendray Inn and Tea House
Ranked #11 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Pendray Inn is a gem in Victoria. Beautiful mansion, amazing breakfast served in a traditional tea style, top notch service from all the staff, comfortable rooms that are quiet, romantic atmosphere, and just a short walk to everything. Thanks to all the staff that made our stay so wonderful.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katelan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn and Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Katelan,

We are so pleased you had an enjoyable experience at the Pendray Inn and Tea House appreciating its old-world charm and friendly staff. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to have the opportunity welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

I discovered The Pendray Inn by walking past. Came on day 3 of my 5, in Victoria. It's a lovely old home. A small mansion. It was a bit confusing with multiple names posted outside. I decided to come for lunch, hence a perfect opportunity to experience my first "high tea". I would recommend this spot in a heart beat! I enjoyed everything about it. The building history, the wall photographs, the service & decor.

Upon walking up front steps, stepping inside, I was greeted warmly. I loved the intimate antique interior. Warm woods & lots of nice lighting from all the windows. It was quiet & I am thrilled that I chose this place over the giant Empress.

I chose a really delightful tea & lunch tray. Food was good & reasonably priced. My service was exceptional & server was delightful. She was very proud of her home town of Victoria & helped guide me. In between table(s) serviced, she gave me lots of great ideas for Victoria.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank snowbirds259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn and Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Pendray Inn and Tea House. We're delighted you enjoyed your first high tea at the Pendray Tea House and appreciated the mansion old-world charm. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our lovely server; she's a wealth of knowledge with respect to Victoria and its many hidden gems.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

What a wonderful Trip back in time. It was so nice to have the whole house to ourselves. There is a tea/coffee/hot chocolate room to heat up in after a cool walk on the harbour and in the summer you could have iced drinks. There a loads of pictures to show what the old house looked like way back when. I love to go to the Gatsby at least once a year!

Room Tip: It would have been nice to have a spare bed for when one of us could not sleep. Or a cot that could...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 917bradt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn and Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the Gatsby Mansion, now known as the Pendray Inn and Tea House. We're delighted you had such a pleasant stay with us and appreciated its old-world class. We try to keep the experience as authentic as we can. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here after 6 weeks of boring generic hotel rooms so we left the curtains open and sat up in our comfy king bed on the top floor and drifted of to sleep watching all the lights on the busy harbour. The bathroom may be getting a bit shabby but I would definately recommend this little treat when in Victoria

Room Tip: Bellevue or Pendray with bay winow views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MissEckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn and Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Pendray Inn and Tea House (formerly Gatsby Mansion). We're so pleased that you enjoyed the Harbour Room's enchanting views of Victoria's Inner Harbour. The bathroom will undergo a renovation in January, which will give it a nice, fresh look to it. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Nice comfortable bedroom. Great location and a beautiful house. Staff member Steven, who looked after us, was absolutely brilliant - source of information and advice at where to eat and what to see. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 128julianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn and Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, we're delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the Mansion's old-world charm. We're happy that Steven took good care of you and we feel lucky to have him as part of our team. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
#19 of 47 in Victoria
687 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,914 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#3 of 92 in Victoria
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendray Inn and Tea House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendray Inn and Tea House

Address: 309 Belleville St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: ₹ 7,181 - ₹ 12,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pendray Inn and Tea House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing feels more like Victoria than the Pendray Inn and Tea House (formerly the Gatsby Mansion). A boutique B&B experience in a historic Victorian mansion where each of its 9 rooms has its own distinct characteristics and charm. A heritage building, the mansion does not have an elevator and may not be suitable for guests with mobility issues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pendray Inn and Tea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatsby Mansion Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing