We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 260
US$ 248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 283
US$ 265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arbutus Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$ 139
US$ 136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 296
US$ 286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 281
US$ 253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 153
US$ 141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
US$ 351
US$ 340
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oak Bay Beach Hotel(Victoria)
US$ 262
US$ 253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
98
76
22
32
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
76
22
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgatsby mansionhigh teaafternoon teatea houseantique furnitureharbour roomsconesno elevatorhuntingdon manoremily carrthird floorrestaurant downstairsold world charmport angelesempress hotellarge roomvictoria clipper
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

I discovered The Pendray Inn by walking past. Came on day 3 of my 5, in Victoria. It's a lovely old home. A small mansion. It was a bit confusing with multiple names posted outside. I decided to come for lunch, hence a perfect opportunity to experience my first "high tea". I would recommend this spot in a heart beat! I enjoyed everything about it. The building history, the wall photographs, the service & decor.

Upon walking up front steps, stepping inside, I was greeted warmly. I loved the intimate antique interior. Warm woods & lots of nice lighting from all the windows. It was quiet & I am thrilled that I chose this place over the giant Empress.

I chose a really delightful tea & lunch tray. Food was good & reasonably priced. My service was exceptional & server was delightful. She was very proud of her home town of Victoria & helped guide me. In between table(s) serviced, she gave me lots of great ideas for Victoria.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank snowbirds259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Pendray Inn and Tea House. We're delighted you enjoyed your first high tea at the Pendray Tea House and appreciated the mansion old-world charm. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our lovely server; she's a wealth of knowledge with respect to Victoria and its many hidden gems.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

What a wonderful Trip back in time. It was so nice to have the whole house to ourselves. There is a tea/coffee/hot chocolate room to heat up in after a cool walk on the harbour and in the summer you could have iced drinks. There a loads of pictures to show what the old house looked like way back when. I love to go to the Gatsby at least once a year!

Room Tip: It would have been nice to have a spare bed for when one of us could not sleep. Or a cot that could be set up..... especially as there were not many other people in the house.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 917bradt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the Gatsby Mansion, now known as the Pendray Inn and Tea House. We're delighted you had such a pleasant stay with us and appreciated its old-world class. We try to keep the experience as authentic as we can. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here after 6 weeks of boring generic hotel rooms so we left the curtains open and sat up in our comfy king bed on the top floor and drifted of to sleep watching all the lights on the busy harbour. The bathroom may be getting a bit shabby but I would definately recommend this little treat when in Victoria

Room Tip: Bellevue or Pendray with bay winow views of the harbour
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MissEckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Pendray Inn and Tea House (formerly Gatsby Mansion). We're so pleased that you enjoyed the Harbour Room's enchanting views of Victoria's Inner Harbour. The bathroom will undergo a renovation in January, which will give it a nice, fresh look to it. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Nice comfortable bedroom. Great location and a beautiful house. Staff member Steven, who looked after us, was absolutely brilliant - source of information and advice at where to eat and what to see. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 128julianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, we're delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the Mansion's old-world charm. We're happy that Steven took good care of you and we feel lucky to have him as part of our team. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Great stay, wonderful accommodation and Breakfast. The staff was very friendly and handled our various requests to our complete satisfaction. We will definitely stay there again and will recommend the Gatsby Mansion to anyone visiting Victoria

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Batut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and recommendation! We're so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated our rooms and unique breakfast service. We look forward to your next visit to Victoria.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews