We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Historic Inn walking distance to center city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Victoria Inn
Ranked #14 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
216 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Quaint Historic Inn walking distance to center city”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Rosewood Victoria Inn in June & found this Inn & surrounding area delightful! All colors of roses were blooming along a white picket fence in the front yard. We had a top floor room with a small porch & refrigerator & microwave. The room was immaculate, nice comfortable bed, & small couch. Our front windows looked out over the street & we loved to hear the clop-clop of the horses as the tourist carriages went pass this historic district. It was fun to listen as the tour guides talked about this Inn as a "romantic" getaway! Breakfast was included with this "time share" for an additional cost which saved us from having to drive or walk to a restaurant every morning. It was fun to meet people from all over the country at breakfast time. The breakfast area is in an addition with sky lights giving it a bright airy feeling. China dishes added to the Victorian atmosphere. Each morning a new breakfast "treat" was eaten. The scones & fruit & egg dishes were good & you could sign up for afternoon tea, which was included, if you so desired. We walked to the Royal British Museum & the inner harbor area. The only negative was the lack of parking space. We ended up parking in the driveway next door which turned out fine since no one else knew to park there. The location was perfect for seeing the city & Parliament buildings. They offer movies & swimming at their "sister" hotel within driving distance. All the staff were very helpful. Do sign up early for breakfast as there is limited space. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you are unable to climb MANY stairs, ask for a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatureLover99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    32
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The staff at the Rosewood were exceptional! They were eager to do anything to make our stay more enjoyable. The Inn is in a great location - just a few blocks away from the wharf, museum and other sights in Victoria. Hot breakfast was served in a darling dining area with tables for 4 and 2 with lovely china. Our meal each of the 2 mornings there was very good. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable with a microwave, refrigerator - in cabinets so as not to detract from the ambiance of the room. Some of the furnishings are in bad need of replacement. Upholstered furniture had passed the "shabby chic" stage and were really just worn out! Nonetheless, I would still recommend this Inn. We used RCI points for the room but were charged $13 each for the breakfast which is not optional. That was a bit steep in our opinion. The location cannot be beat. We prefer a neighborhood rather than being in the bustle of things so this provided that and a quick walk to all we were interested in doing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank qtpi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I am a regular visitor to the Rosewood and have been for years. There are a number of things that are important for the visitor to understand:
1. This is a combination of two older buildings joined together with a common eating area. It is expected that internal and external (street) noise will be an issue for many given its age. This is especially true if you stay in the rooms at the front and under the third floor. Expect it.
2. While billed as a cleaning expense the nightly fees include a breakfast and high tea. I have never attended the tea but it appears very nice. The breakfast has always been very well done and more than adequate but visitors should remember that this is not a restaurant - it is, in effect, a B&B - you get what is being served. Sign up for your preference time early as it fills up. My preference would be for the owners to make this optional.
3. Staff have always been most pleasant and very helpful - I have never experienced a disappointment here.
4. Parking is tight at this location - I would recommend you back into your parking space given this fact.... and oh yes ... beware the tree at the entrance!
5. As mentioned I have been a frequent visitor for many years. I have watched the interior, furniture and appliances age as I have - it is time for a makeover. Enough said.
The location is probably one of the best in the inner harbour as it provides the visitor with easy walking to the greatest places to see and visit in Victoria. If you stay at the Rosewood enjoy the ambiance and Victorian style and accept the noise (including the fire engines) as part of the experience.

Room Tip: Try reserving the 1 bedroom units as they are in the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank C_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is our fourth stay here. The time before this was quite problematic but.... this time was great -again. We were celebrating our 40th anniversary this time so it had to be good. We were given the "Venetian" - "Honeymoon Suite". It is a very spacious and nicely decorated room with a huge jacuzzi tub - very nice. Everything was clean and tidy this time around. The breakfasts were "fine" and the afternoon teas were "fine". There is a new innkeeper "Jen" who seems to be very energetic on on top of things - thanks Jen. Yes, we will be back again for our annual anniversary weekend. For those using RCI timeshare points apparently the more points you spend the better the room but I am not exactly sure how to figure this part out. From previous visits we can tell you that there is a great variety of rooms from smallish to huge. Some have jacuzzis - some do not.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank therealsherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Only bummer was the mandatory $200 for breakfasts we didn't want, since there are plenty of places to eat nearby. RCI had told me it was optional. We did eat there once, but neither of us liked mushroom omelets. The food was well prepared and served in a tea room between the 2 Edwardian houses in 2 shifts. 8am & 9am. We were 2, 61 yr old guys. The staff gave us extra bedding so my friend could sleep on the couch. Too many pillows. Women would probably like it; the place is run entirely by women, and the furnishings are done in an old romantic style. Victoria is expensive, so we went to McDonald's several times. Use the sea plane service if you want to go to the mainland. Climate and topography are similar to Northern California. The houses on Beach Dr will knock you out. Do the Galloping Goose bike trail and BC museum.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,688 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,512 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Victoria Inn

Property: Rosewood Victoria Inn
Address: 595 Michigan St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1S7, Canada (Formerly Holland House)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,075 - ₹ 14,395
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosewood Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rosewood Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Victoria Hotel Victoria
Rosewood Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing