We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in need of a few updates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bedford Regency Hotel
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at the Bedford Regency for 2 nights just this week.

The location is perfect. You are right in the heart of downtown within walking distance to everything. You are about a 5 minute walk to the harbour and surrounded by quaint tourist shops and cafes. The only thing that was a bit too far was a grocery store; however, it's entirely possible that there was one close by and we missed it. Another pro was the air conditioner. Loved the coffee service and newspaper delivery in the morning.

The only things we missed during our visit was a balcony and a pool. Also, the rooms could use a bit of an update. While they are charming and very European looking, some of the fixtures are quite outdated and look a bit too 80s to pass off as vintage. If you're looking for a cookie-cutter room at a cookie-cutter hotel, this is not for you. Rather, the hotel itself and the rooms have a more antique feel to it. The front desk definitely needs some work. The desk is located at the back on the front hallway, and it's quite small. It would be very easy to miss it. The employees were friendly and helpful enough though. The beds were comfortable, pillows were great, and it was generally a very comfortable stay.

The walls in this hotel seemed very thin to us. We could hear our next-door neighbors come and go, as I'm sure they could hear us. We could also hear their television through the adjoining door. Luckily, we had quiet neighbors but the wrong neighbors could really spoil a nice vacation in this hotel.

There is no shuttle from the airport to the hotel and vice versa here. We booked our stay through hotels.ca who informed us that there was a $7.50 shuttle. When we arrived, we discovered that visitors had to use the ACAL shuttle which was $19/person. I'm guessing a cab ride would have cost around $70, so the shuttle was definitely the way to go for us. I doubt you would find any downtown hotel with a free or cheap shuttle as the airport is a fair distance from the downtown core.

Lastly, if you plan to stay at this hotel, I would recommend getting a room to the back of the building. We were supposed to stay in a room looking out onto the main street, but we immediately noticed the noise from the street below and changed rooms. I'm not sure how anybody could sleep in one of these rooms. Apparently, there are a couple of suites with balconies that are "premium suites". If we could redo our visit, we would consider a few extra bucks for the balcony.

All in all, this was a very nice hotel. With a few updates, I think it could be just perfect for any Victoria visitor.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room not facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deirpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 389 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

The location of the hotel cannot be beat at all. You are right in the heart of downtown, literally steps away from Bastion square (come out turn left, there it is).

The property feels more like an old set of apartments than a traditional hotel and in my mind that's a very good thing. It felt like the property had more character than the simple mega hotel where every room is the same as the next. We had a room with a wood burning fire place, a jacuzzi tub, and a neat little sitting area that also had a small library and bookshelves set into the walls. It gave a very neat vibe to the place. The bed itself was a little on the harder side of things, but not so hard that it was uncomfortable at all and overall there was a lot of floor space in the room we were in. It was not cramped at all.

There is a cafe as well as 2 restaurants on site, but we did not eat there so I cannot comment on them. We did have internet in the room courtesy of the wireless routers around the property and it did not cost anything extra which is a plus since a lot of hotels seem to charge for that for some reason.

Parking at the hotel itself is non existent, a small place in front to unload the car for a few minutes but then you must move your car to the parking garage. It's just down the street a short way and not at all hard to find or get into. Plus parking is only $11 for guests until 1 PM the next day and you get in and out access to the parkade. You can't beat that at all parking near the waterfront in Vic.

If you're looking for a hotel with all sorts of extras or like the feeling of a chain hotel, then this property may not be for you. However, if you're looking for an alternative to the ordinary and want to stay in a place with a little more character and style maybe check this out. For a hotel right in the heart of things

Room Tip: The Deluxe Jacuzzi rooms are nice and very nicely laid out. Also ask about Non refundable rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Upon arrival clerk welcome was awful, even not good evening, just "give me your last name", inexpresive staff. Rooms need an urgent refurbish. Attached a picture taken right now in our room showing that our bed passed maid´s approval...terrible.
Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peiotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I booked this place because it was cheap and I was on a student budget at a conference. The staff were very polite and the room was just what I needed, clean and relaxing, if a little no-thrills. You literally walk out the front door and are in downtown Victoria, no more than 5 minutes walk from the harbour and other sites. The selection of local and craft beers in the downstairs pub was superb and I tasted most during my stay. It isn't too rowdy and I had no problems sleeping each night as what noise there is didn't carry to my room. The food was also decent pub grub and well priced.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgetexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Bedford Regency is a typical boutique hotel. I do not mean that as a negative, but only to illustrate that it is a hotel you choose because it is a boutique hotel and not for many other reasons. I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and the check in process is always an event. On one occassion the young Japanese girls, although curteous, were impossible to understand, another the check-in girl argued with me regarding the type of room and room number I wanted (I had booked weeks prior for a specific room - in my opinion the back side rooms 37,38 and 47, 48 are the best - they have some partial views of the harbour and are quiter). The best experience was the latest one, the manager was very efficient and helpful, I hope he is there the next time if visit.

The rooms are throw-back but nicely appointed, each have working fireplaces and windows that open to allow a nice breeze off the harbour. The cleaning staff do a very good job, the rooms are always very well maintained. The hotel is directly on Government Street and steps from Bastion Square. The Irish Times Pub, Bard and Banker pub, to name but two, and Pescatore's Seafood Restaurant are all easily walked.

Parking is, pay yourself in the impark lot behind the hotel (expensive) or in the hotel lot (still impark) about a block and half away. The elevator is so slow, it seems quicker to walk the flights of stairs!

If you are used to pillow-top beds, flat screen tv's, and a good internet connection, then this hotel is not for you. If you like character hotels, that are not 'cookie cutter' styles, then this is your hotel.

Room Tip: ask for superior rooms, on the 3rd, 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCBusinesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
#19 of 49 in Victoria
667 reviews
The Strathcona Hotel
#38 of 49 in Victoria
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Regency Hotel

Address: 1140 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: ₹ 4,744 - ₹ 9,849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bedford Regency Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Regency Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria, bordered by beautiful Government Street and Bastion Square. This location is within walking distance to major local attractions including the Inner Harbour, the Royal BC Museum, Craigdarroch Castle, Beacon Hill Park, China Town, and the Royal London Wax Museum.We owned 40 classic European style guests rooms. Each of our guest room are furnished with work desks and refrigerators. We also include cable TV and complimentary high speed Internet access.The Garrick's Head Pub is the on site sport pub for guests to enjoy. Nowadays, our business have up to 30 employees as full-time and part-time to provide our best service in Victoria BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bedford Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing