We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Regent Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent location ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Close to everything - You can leave the car and walk to restaurants, shops, and the town centre. From our room we had a view of the Parliament which was lit up at night. Very nice. The desk clerk was professional and courteous. The room we had was clean and so was the bathroom. The queen bed beds were comfortable and we had a restful and quiet sleep that night. Parking is free and so is breakfast, but it's a bit sparse. Not much to select from. It's a good value for a central location in Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ima1derer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    284
    50
    18
    7
See reviews for
351
563
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The suite accommodations are very nice, large & comfortable. Great view of the inner harbour & the Empress Hotel. Good location from which to explore the city on foot. I would give this hotel an excellent rating except on Friday night the lounge next door played loud music till midnight & during the day the exhaust from the float planes may drift across the deck if the wind is coming from that direction. Onsite underground parking is included.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skatecreekrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We very much enjoyed our recent stay at the Regent. While not an ultra-modern hotel, it had everything we were looking for. The King View suite had a very large living area, complete kitchen, dining area, and separate bedroom. The bed was very comfortable. The entire room was very clean. The balcony was just what I wanted - a place to sit and read with the Parliament building and harbor directly in front of me. The price was very reasonable for what we received.
There are some drawbacks. The breakfast area was of moderate size, but there were only cold offerings - cereal, fruit, muffins, toast, etc. Good coffee, though. There is no restaurant to return to in the evening, but the hotel is surrounded by great eateries right on the water within easy walking distance. Yes, the hotel is on Wharf St., but we enjoyed that. It put us on a direct path to the Inner Harbor. There is a small bar/cafe in the same building (but separate from the hotel). The noise from the eatery was considerable on two of the three nights that we were there, but it was certainly tolerable. It was in no way overwhelming. Victoria is a city. One should expect sounds from the city.
We rented a car during our 4 day stay. Free parking. In this day and age, that's extremely rare. Just another example of the nice touches that we noticed. The staff were very friendly and eager to give a local's recommendation for places to eat.
Lastly, we were traveling with our 11 month old son. While that can be a challenge in and of itself, we were very thankful to return to our clean, large suite, a nice bathroom, and a quiet bedroom where he could sleep in his crib and we could relax in the living room.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbor view room. This probably made the difference for us compared to other reviewers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishWY41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Perched out over the water, rooms provide fantastic views of Parliament Building and Inner Harbor. Rooms spacious, modern and well appointed. Fine restaurants within short walking distance. Hotel breakfast room provides beautiful views, but very little food. Needs pancake/waffle machine and hot eggs & bacon to round out experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We selected The Victoria Regent for a quick visit to the Inner Harbour. We had an extended stay in the Hong Kong Regent some years ago... the similarities begin and end with the name...The photos of the Victoria Regent on the website are so deceiving. There is no bar or anywhere to sit and enjoy the view shown on the website. That beautiful room shown on the website is not available to the public. Guests can only enjoy the view of the harbor while eating breakfast;(

And then there is the traffic on Wharf Street. The only worse hotel traffic noise is in Grand Case on the island of St. Martin...

Oh so very disappointing. Not worth the $$$

Room Tip: If you really have to stay here - fork out the extra hundreds and stay on the water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweep5002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Victoria Regent Hotel. First, let me say that we do not claim to have any affiliation with the Regent chain. Our website has a picture of our Deluxe hotel rooms and an accompanying description. The picture shows a city skyline view and the description clearly states that the view is of the city, not the harbour. In no way are we attempting to deceive the people making reservations.

Our rooms and suites are priced according to size and view. Yes, the waterfont suites are more expensive but the difference in price is certainly not "hundreds". We do not claim to have a bar overlooking the water and we do not restrict our guests' access to the public areas. The breakfast room is the only public area and it overlooks the harbour.

If you choose to stay in Victoria in the future, please contact me and I will do my best to upgrade you to harbour view accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regent Hotel

Property: Victoria Regent Hotel
Address: 1234 Wharf St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,177 - ₹ 21,795
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the top 20 hotels in Canada by Conde Nast readers, this exclusive downtown waterfront hotel offers discerning guests the luxurious comfort of spacious suites overlooking Victoria’s vibrant Inner Harbor. Our location is second to none and the suites are perfect for a romantic getaway or the mini vacation you so richly deserve. Relax with an in-suite spa treatment, play a round of golf or explore the many elegant shops, superb restaurants and the Royal BC Museum, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Victoria
Victoria Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing