We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel Great location”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
preston, uk
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Good hotel Great location”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Stayed for two nights.
This hotel is difficult to fault. It overlooks and is five minutes walk from the harbour and ten from a very beautiful city centre. There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.
The BC Museum and IMAX cinema are next door and both worth a visit.
We ate at the KEG restaurant nearby. Expensive but great quality steaks.
We also ate at the Old Spaghetti Factory. Reasonable food and great value.
Breakfasts good at the hotel.
Staff friendly and helpful

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
Thank jcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    265
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
172
304
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kleinmond South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The Embassy Inn Victoria was probably one of the most convenient places we have stayed in a city. We arrived by local bus a couple of blocks away and were able to go out everyday on foot and discover the interesting parts of Victoria. The room was standard but very clean and comfortable. The linen a bit old but everything else in good condition. We did not try the pool but saw many others doing so especially those with children. We took the advice of other Trip advisor reviewers and booked in the tower block which is away from the pool. the staff were very helpful and our welcome from Reece who was at the desk when we arrived, much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Great Location – Great Hotel – Great Staff: The Embassy Inn is not what you would expect. It is very much like a "motel" however the newer section is a hotel. It has a heated outdoor pool and motel like rooms adjacent to it. The location is fantastic; 1/2 block from the seawall right beside the parliament buildings. This is the second year my friend and I stayed there. It is clean and quiet. I would recommend booking it on line through expedia or orbitz. We phoned direct this time and it was about $50/night more doing it that way.
We never ate in the restaurant; free parking and free wifi. We wanted to have a pool side room but they were sold out; which may have been a good thing as those rooms do not have air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherb7667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel is in a great location - right next to the parliament building and just off the harbour, so ideal for visiting Victoria. We had two rooms in the newer part of the hotel and they were both very large - one with a huge queen bed and kitchenette and one with two double beds and both had a balcony and good sized bathrooms. The decor is a little old fashioned and worn in places and the beds had blankets rather than duvets, but overall the hotel is good value and very convenient. There is an outdoor swimming pool that is in the older part of the hotel where the accommodation looks more like a basic motel, but everywhere was clean and in good repair. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and there is plenty of free parking. The dining room for breakfast is large and airy with a good choice of food and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
o
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The hotel is in good location and close to Port-Angle ferry terminal. I wanted to take the 10:30am ferry and the cashier told me to go to the terminal as early as possible liked before 7:30am. We checked out the hotel next day. After we went to the terminal, we found out we were the second car in the parking lot. Luckily the hotel let us stayed in one of our romm to rest until 9am.

I read the advise here and booked the North Tower. But I think we were still placed in South Tower. The carpet is little dirty.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxp0105a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.3 km away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.5 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Property: Embassy Inn
Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,699 - ₹ 15,629
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing