We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An excellent small hotel with very friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An excellent small hotel with very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I chose this hotel because of the Trip Advisor reviews. It is not the cheapest hotel in Victoria but it is certainly well worth staying there. The hotel is in a residential suburb but just a 5/10 minute walk from the harbour. It is a small hotel with a library/lounge/bar room and a dining room which serves breakfast only. Breakfast though is something that everyone seems to comment about and indeed it is very good. It is not your usual North American/Canadian pancakes nor is it you traditional English. You have a choice of fresh juice, muffins, scones and a cooked breakfast. We had poached eggs on grilled asparagus and smoked salmon. The hotel has its own chef with an open kitchen so you can watch its preparation if you wish.

There is free fresh coffee and tea available throughout the day and at 5pm nibbles are served. We had a bowl of soup and savory biscuits which were delicious.

We stayed in the Coach House which is next to the main building. It is literally less than 30 seconds away. Our room was well appointed with an open fire and a balcony. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and with a combined bath and good power shower. Free bottled water and home made cookies were also in the room.

All of the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful in recommending restaurants and walks and things to do. There is also free parking in the hotels own car park.

Would I stay there again? Yes and the next time we visit we shall do so.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LongHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    72
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
707
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton AB Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were fortunate enough to stay at Abigails for two nights(wish it would have been more). The hotel was fabulous, the service was top notch, the rooms are very nice with comfortable beds. The breakfast was delicious with great service. We also took advantage of their spa and wow it just doesn't get any better than that, the therapists were great. We will be back, keep up the good job :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoadley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My arrival at YYJ airport didn't permit being able to participate in the evening hor d'oeuvres...not to worry...my reservation by phone allowed them to know this and save a plate for me which was presented upon my registering...and they were lip-smacking, especially the morrocan hummus. The hotel looks like a residential mansion, and its location near the downtown area makes it very possible to walk to local destinations. My room wasn't large, but I slept so well with the windows open and the quiet of the evening, very different than the real downtown locales. The included breakfast was served to order (not buffet) and absolutely delicious. The chef came out to visit with guests and was a most personable fellow. The staff at Abigail's Hotel was marvelous and very conversant and welcoming. A listing of recommended local restaurants proved to be right on target with my own evaluations. One thing I really liked was the excellent wi-fi reception and the ability to dock my iPod Touch and listen to my own music withour earphones. Of the places I stayed on Vancouver Island, this was the only one where that happened. Stay here...you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at Abigail's to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff was very kind and attentive, and they provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine to help us celebrate. The hotel is just off Quadra Street, which runs perpendicular to almost every main street in downtown Victoria. We loved being able to walk throughout the city.

Also, the three-course breakfast was mouth-watering and filling--a rare combo! It's nice to begin your day on a full stomach in a city that is fairly expensive.

I haven't stayed anywhere else in Victoria, but I can't think of how any place can be better. It's fun and different, has a great location, is reasonably priced, and includes an amazing daily breakfast!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunflower Room, which is their smallest room. It was very cozy and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I booked Abigail's for my one night stay in Victoria due to favorable reviews. I so wish I had had more time to spend there - and I would have spent it all at Abigail's. The staff was lovely and helpful with getting me moved into my room and giving me a short tour of the property. The grounds are beautiful. There are lovely outdoor sitting areas to enjoy a glass of wine (available via the front desk for a reasonable fee). I stayed in the Sunflower room and it more than met my expectations. AC worked well and the interior design was lovely. Bathroom was absolutely spotless and towels were plentiful and lush. I utilized the spa services and was very pleased with both the service and the prices. This is a hotel with a bed and breakfast feel. Speaking of breakfast, a simple menu with several choices is set out and includes scones or muffins, fresh fruit cup, coffee, juice and a main entree choice. I had chai tea infused french toast with chicken and apple sausage and it was fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeARollingStone53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
4.5 km away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.6 km away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#16 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,318 - ₹ 20,244
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick and Expedia so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing