We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Harrison Hot Springs, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Needs Updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed for two nights as a romantic get-away for my husband's 50th birthday. Our room was in the Coach House, so it was quiet and private. The room itself was spacious enough, and well appointed, but the decor of both the room and the bathroom was very dated. It looked like the original decor from when the rooms were built, and the fixtures in the bathroom were a bit tired and worn. For the price of the room, I had expected everything to be absolutely top notch, so was a bit disappointed in that regard. On the positive side, the location is excellent, grounds are very nice and the staff, service, and breakfast were all very good. I feel that for the price, the value wasn't really there and will definitely try other hotels in the Victoria area rather than return to Abigails on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 86Shelbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear 86Shelbygirl,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in our Coach House. These are a popular room category for us and many of our regular guests choose this category above all others for their stays.

As a heritage property, we pride ourselves on maintaining our buildings to the era in which the Main House was built. With respect to our Coach House, the building itself was actually constructed in 1998, unlike our Main House which was built in 1930. The Coach House has undergone two complete renovations since construction. While not modern and contemporary like some of the newer hotels in the city, we purposely try and keep the style and décor with the theme and era of our property. In a hotel such as ours, where styles vary so much between rooms, we understand that the décor may not suit all tastes and try to account for this with the many photographs and detailed room descriptions we have on our website. Notwithstanding décor preferences, our Coach House rooms are scheduled for their next round of renovation in January 2013 (approximately one year from now) in accordance with our scheduled capital plan. We completely shut down our hotel for a two week period every January in order to perform our annual maintenance, updating, touch-ups and renovations and we are currently in the process of “refreshing” four of our rooms and last year we refreshed six rooms.

We believe we offer exceptional value to our guests. All of our standard room rates include the following features/amenities: three-course breakfast, lobby level hors d’oeuvres each evening at 5pm (often using local, organic and ocean-wise product), wireless internet, parking, guest computer/printer access, fresh cookies on your bed upon arrival, two bottles of water in your room upon arrival, local phone calls and access to our DVD/movie collection.

We thank you for your kind comments about our staff, service and breakfast. Should you wish to give our hotel another try, we would be happy to discuss other room options with you that may better suit your style.

Best regards and safe travels,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    74
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
78
728
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Not great, not bad but OK. The room itself was tiny! We had a room in the coach house and it was so small that even with only the two of us, it felt a little claustrophobic. The bathroom was so small the door and the shutters in the bathroom could not be open at the same time. The service and staff was great but the breakfast, once again was just OK.

Room Tip: Coach house is stairs only
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear Stacyz76,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We are sorry to read that your experience with us was “just ok”. We work diligently to ensure that we accurately describe our rooms and services so that a guest experience aligns with the expectation. In your circumstance this does not appear to be the case and for that we sincerely apologize.

However, for the benefit of future travelers/readers; we are indeed an intimate 23 room heritage property that does not feature suites or expansive contemporary rooms. As noted on our website and displayed in our online photography, our Coach House rooms are ~265 sq. ft., feature a king sized four poster bed, a leather loveseat, a writing table and a deep soaker jetted-tub. While not vast, we have never felt these rooms to be tiny. In fact, we feel that the size of our property/rooms are an asset and lend themselves to our reputation for intimacy, privacy, romance and comfort.

We greatly appreciate your high marks for Sleep Quality, Cleanliness and Service and wish you a wonderful 2012. Should you return to Victoria we would be honored to rectify our standing with you and would recommend either one of our 275 sq. ft. Fireplace rooms (which have less furniture in them than our Coach House rooms) or our 350 sq. ft. Honeymoon Rooms. Please feel free to contact me directly should you ever wish to book.

“May the wind always be at your back and may the sun shine warm upon your face”.

Best regards and safe travels,

Nick Saklas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

this by far is the most romantic hotel in Victoria! Beautifully decorated, and very quiet considering it is a small boutique type hotel. We had the 'honeymoon suite' and it was such a wonderful experience with a small fireplace and huge poster bed. The room was exquisitely decorated and kept to the age and style of the hotel. There is no dining for evening, but the 'cozy library ' downstairs is set up so that guests can linger and have a drink before setting off to enjoy many restaurants with walking distance. Later on one can come back and enjoy a brandy before heading up to the room. The breakfasts are complimentary and are full of fresh baked pastries, coffee, juices and a choice of a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed at Abigail's for one night. Our room was lovely, beautifully appointed and clean. We enjoyed the appetizers in the lobby served at 5 p.m. They were yummy. Breakfast in the morning was a 3 course delight. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is 24 hour tea and coffee in the lobby which was easy to use and take to your room. The only disappointment was that the "woodburning" fireplaces do not actually burn wood. They use presto logs which they give you two of (not to be burnt at the same time). I had wanted an Inn with a crackling fireplace so was a little disappointed in that, however, our overall stay was great. The soaker tub was easy to fill with lots of hot water. We certainly enjoyed the property and would stay again.

Room Tip: the Foxglove room is large and has a nice fireplace (see note above). The soaker tub is a dream. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

My husband and I recently celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary in beautiful Victoria.
We stayed 3 nights in one of the honeymoon rooms at Abigail's...our stay with perfect in
every way! The staff was very friendly and attentive, the food was delicious, our room was
romantic, comfortable, quiet and immaculate and our massage at the spa was very relaxing.
The hotel's location is great, just a short walk to all that downtown Victoria has to offer.
Thank you Abigail's! We highly recommend your lovely hotel and are looking forward
to spending our next anniversary with you!

Room Tip: The honeymoon rooms are very spacious, with great bathrooms and fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
4.5 km away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.7 km away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
1.2 km away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,408 - ₹ 19,403
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing