We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When the service is as good as the food”

Old Vic English Fish & Chips
Ranked #444 of 1,289 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: This place has been serving victoria since 1930 and is a bit of an institution.I bought it in jan2013 and we are going to keep it going strong for manny more years to come.I am from wales in the U.K and have worked in and owned fish and chips shops for most of my years so when the old vic was up for sale it went without saying that it was perfect.We will be keeping the original fish and chips but adding some british additions to our new menu.We are in the process of having some work done as old vic looks a bit tired i.e a new paint and floors etc.. but all in small stages.We will keep with the original look as i think after talking to our guests that they love the old place so not to many changes.Please come and see us and give us your feedback we would love to hear from you thanksPaul
Reviewed 17 July 2017

One of us does not like MSG and the other does not like spicy.

Our server was most accommodating in helping us assemble a really nice meal that didn't have either.

We'd go again.

Spent $32 to feed two

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fooddude47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

Very good fish and chips, original English style, couldn't find a better one in Victoria. Definitely go for this one if you're visiting. Also extremely friendly owner, with very nice cook.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hijiginmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Best fish&chips in town. The food and service was great. Excellent location for tourists. Definitely come back again!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank 844lingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Went in for fresh, authentic British fish and chips and upon entering, found an empty, dimly lit, poorly decorated Chinese / British hybrid restaurant. The lone server seemed confused; having to walk back and forth to the cooler several times to confirm which drinks were in and out of stock (several were out of stock) and then only bringing out 2 drinks of the 7 ordered before moving on to another table. I had to ask for the remainder of the drinks to be brought to the table. The server had to reconfirm each order several times and even after doing so, missed one of the orders completely and had to go back and put the order in while everyone else ate.

Asking for a couple extra tartar sauces seemed to be a monumental task as well - requiring two trips to the kitchen to discuss with the cook at length. While the single server struggled to serve us and a couple other small tables, dirty dishes were left on other tables around us from customers that had departed when or before we got there. The bathrooms were grungy and run-down, which is never a good sign in a restaurant.

While the food was decent, the unwelcoming, thrown-together decor combined with being surrounded by dirty dishes and grungy bathrooms and the clumsy, absent-minded service made for a less than enjoyable lunch.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Brandon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

have eaten here many times and loved the fish. new ownership has changed it into more chinese food. they still have fish but not like you see in the picture and not nearly as good as it used to be. we will not go back.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank db1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Vic English Fish & Chips also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Old Vic English Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing