We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of HI Victoria Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
HI Victoria Hostel
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

I stayed there for 3 nights in September of 2009.

Friendly and helpful staff, nice hostel in a heritage building.

Was a bit noisy compared to other hostels I've stayed at, but was bearable nonetheless.

I did not use the kitchen so I cannot say anything about it, but I ate a couple meals in the kitchen area and from what I could see, everything seemed clean.

Very conveniently located close to pretty much everything you'll want to see in Victoria, but then again Victoria downtown is pretty small so no matter where you stay you'll be close to most things.

Located about 1 km from the bus station, so very convenient if you are going to Victoria on a bus like I did.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    31
    34
    20
    12
See reviews for
4
10
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Overpriced for a depressing private room for myself and two children. (aprox. $75.00)
If you are desperate, this might be an okay place.
Close to downtown.
This hostel needs some better energy....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelnlevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

bristol, england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

This hostel is in a fantastic location but the whole place needs a huge revamp.
The hostel is very old and dirty which wasn't very nice. Also the whole place stank of urine... i don't know if there was a plumbing problem but the smell was very unpleasant.
If i went back to Victoria again i would look for a different hostel as this place is not good value for the price you pay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

The HI is terrible. From the outside it seems dainty and old style but you get inside and its run down and old. The dorm beds are attrocious and considerinf this is one of the more expensive hostels in victoria it is definately not value for money. The only reason one would stay here would be location but there are just too many draw backs to make it worth your while.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swizzlerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

I stayed here for 1 night and I liked it. The staff was friendly and helpful and the place was pretty clean. It was my first time staying in a hostel and I felt safe at the HI. The location cant be beat. For $30 a night, I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 km away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.5 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,425 reviews
0.7 km away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.4 km away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Victoria Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Victoria Hostel

Property: HI Victoria Hostel
Address: 516 Yates St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1K8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Victoria
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,614 - ₹ 4,010
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your HI Victoria Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing