We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in a great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This Victorian style cottage is well-located within easy walking distance of the harbor. And you'll need the exercise to walk off Vanessa's fabulous breakfasts! The rooms are cozy, with everything you need including tea and coffee facilities, small refrigerator and cups/plates/silverware. Our room had an adjacent rooftop terrace which was quite nice. No AC, but you won't need it. Knowledgable hosts can help you plan activities and suggest dining options.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherynemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is a great little B&B for anyone who wants to stay close to the action downtown. After our delicious breakfast of omeletts and other various goodies we walked to the museum and other points of interest. Next time I would like to stay in the Lavender Room with the white crisp sheets and a garden deck off of it. Our room was suitable because there were three of us girls just wanting accommodations but it seemed rather small for all of us. Vanessa was very knowledgeable of the area and very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgettraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My daughter and I, along with my dear Aunt Ann decided to take the Blackball Ferry from Port Angeles to Victoria, and I had researched this little bed and breakfast. It was all that and more. Very affordable, close to the ferry landing, in a beautiful neighborhood and the breakfasts were just unbelievable. It is so quaint and special in an old-world way. The caretakers were super accomodating (it was a year back so I can't remember their names as I write this, but their names are mentioned in other reviews). The cat, the cockatoos -- everything was just so special.
My daughter was 13 at the time and we're from San Diego so this was very different for us, and such a nice change of scenery. I would highly recommend the high tea at the (I think) White Heather Room? The food and tea was delicious, and it's affordable. The location doesn't look like it will be as fantastic as it was, but it was among the best I've had. Of course the Buchart Gardens are a must. The historic hotel at the waterfront is amazing, and then the Royal museum is also really worth the time and money.
We loved Victoria.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlaEsteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed for 6 nights late January-early February, and chose this location for proximilty to the ocean and to downtown, and for the description of the breakfasts. We were not disappointed on any count, and Vanessa and Dean's graciousness and hospitality were a highlight of our trip.
Readers be warned: the breakfast (brunch, really) is not for wimps! Copious food, lovingly prepared and professionally presented, with careful attention to quality and homemade ingedients. We were sustained right through to dinnertime.
All was as described on the entertaining and informative website: bed was comfortable, with down duvet, and internet was reliable and high-speed.
We highly recommend Gingerbread Cottage to guests who appreciate fine food, privacy, and location near downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinookgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

On our short trip we stayed at the Gingerbread Cottage B&B in Victoria for a couple of day's. Having worked in the Food and Beverage industry for close to 50 years, I am well qualified to write a review.
The owner of the B&B; Vanessa von Schellwitz has a very charming personality. Most chef's could learn quite a bit from her. The breakfast spree that she puts on is out of this world and can compete with any 5 star hotel . Vanessa does all her own cooking.
Jams, lotions, soaps and bath salts are all made by her.
As a professional chef I have never seen such an exquisite Buffet breakfast . There are Smoked salmon omelettes, more egg varieties, then you can think off, Apple struddel out of this world. Excellent coffee , freshly squeezed juices. A variety of items you would only find in a 5 star resort.
From the moment we set foot at the lodging we felt at home.
The B&B is located downtown on a scenic side road close to the harbour and close to the center of all the site seeing.
Because all her guests are either by repeat or by word of mouth , it is advisable to make a reservation very early on, as otherwise you will never have the chance of tasting her wonderful food and hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuchichef43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,053 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,843 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 59 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2A7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: ₹ 6,265 - ₹ 8,897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salzburg chef Vanessa von Schellwitz welcomes you to her Gingerbread Cottage,a quiet and well zoned 1905 Heritage home which is an easy walk from US ferries, downtown and all attractions in Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, 1/2 block from ocean. Take the airporter to and from our door if you are arriving at YYJ. Our reasonable prices include Gourmet 4 course breakfast, cute 1905 rooms with roof gardens. Breakfasts are very stylishly set with Antique Victorian Silver. Vanessa prepares delicious specialties like lox or garden omlettes, berry crepes and fresh Austrian Apple Strudel. Good value, quiet and great location 1/2 block from Victoria's famous Dallas Road ocean promenade, Ogden Point cruise ship docks, and Breakwater structure. Book early as we tend to fill our rooms very fast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing