We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a large family gathering”
Review of Fireside Grill

Fireside Grill
Ranked #76 of 1,279 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Fireside Grill is a wonderfully refurbished heritage manor with an upbeat atmosphere ideal for casual fine dining to small or large parties. The Fireside blends European & Asian recipes with proven West Coast favourites. We source many of our ingredients from local producers and farmers. We believe that farm to table is the best way to showcase our great local cuisine. Come and enjoy our 3 course -$25 menu offered every evening till November.
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We organized a dinner for 45 or so family members at the Fireside Grill this summer. The staff did a superb job accommodating our large party, which included several children, and the food was really delicious. It was well-priced, in a lovely setting - definitely exceeded our expectations on all fronts. Thanks very much!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JPzazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018

We were three for dinner. Two of us shared the kale-broccoli-squash salad. Kale is tough if in large leaves, but the server, on checking with a colleague, assured us they were "medium." They should have been in bite-size pieces. The kale was tough and largely inedible. We also ordered crab cakes. They were grossly over-salted. Is there quality control in the kitchen?

My fellow-diners frequent the Fireside on a regular basis. We indicated on the comment card that the crab cakes were over-salted. We'll see whether there's a response from management. Given a choice, I would not return. Bad experience with service when I was there two years ago, when our server disappeared into the main dining room (we were in the lounge) and we waited an inordinately long time for dessert.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank waba2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, General Manager at Fireside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Greetings

Thank you for your feedback. I would be happy to discuss your most recent experience with us in further detail if you would kindly contact us directly at 250-479-1222.

Kind Regards, Fireside Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

What a pleasant experience to find an intimate bar to enjoy a drink with friends. A great selection of Happy Hour drinks and an entertaining server.

Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, General Manager at Fireside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for dining with us and enjoying our happy hour. We hope to see you again soon.
Fireside Grill Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Fireside Grill has been for a long time one of our favourite Restaurants. Great location, ambience, service and food. Unfortunately during our two last visits we found the food has declined a lot. On our last visit we ordered the seafood pasta and it was not very good (have ordered it before and was delicious). I hope things will improve in the near future. For the time being we are not planning to go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dolcevita12017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, General Manager at Fireside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Greetings Lily,

Thank you for your feedback. I would be happy to discuss your most recent experience with us in further detail if you would kindly contact us directly at 250-479-1222.

Kind Regards, Fireside Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

We went for an early dinner last week while we were visiting from port hardy. Our server was excellent, very polite and helpful with the menu, and patient with us as we were tired from a busy day! Food came quickly and was very good. He was great with the kids as Well! If we ever make the drive across the island in the near future we will return! Next time we will be sure to save room for desert!

Thank jessicajones5626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P, General Manager at Fireside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thanks for the kind words and we look forward to your next visit.
Fireside Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fireside Grill also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Fireside Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing