We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice giant Christmas decorations in the restaurant.”

Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 4,147 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 19 - US$ 37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Robson Street
Cross street: Robson
Description: In keeping with the reputation of the man whose name we adopted, Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House has achieved legendary status in Vancouver. For 30 years, Joe Fortes has consistently earned and maintained its reputation as an award-winning Vancouver restaurant. Guests from the world over have come to expect a dynamic culinary experience in this San Francisco styled seafood grill that always delivers more - more hospitality, more variety and more buzz. This iconic Vancouver restaurant is conveniently located just off of bustling Robson Street. Joe Fortes is where locals and visitors alike come to enjoy the food in town, complemented by an award-winning wine list that boasts over 300 wines, and a uniquely personal level of service and hospitality. Quality, service and reputation - that's the stuff that we are made of. And that's what you can look forward to experiencing on each and every visit to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House. We look forward to serving you.
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Very nice atmosphere , great food and excellent service. We had seafood but the steak choices were very tempting.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Froster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 384 of 4,092 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

This establishment was selected again this year to celebrate the festive season and partake of a variety of well prepared food. We were not disappointed., variety of oysters ; some raw, some breaded and some pan fried., NY steak., rib-eye w bone in., salmon., pork chop w bone in...
Service was excellent and considering the variety of food ordered , all arrived...warm and well received by all.
Considering the time of Season etc...I say, “Hats Off to the staff “...continue in the same mode...we shall return, yet again.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Latache2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

We sat at the bar and in time for happy hour and bar keepers we fun and quick with drinks and delicious food.
We had $1 oyster & grilled salmon for dinner....
They have a fresh seafood platter that looks amazing.
Rockport Rebecca
Your Rockport Fulton TX real estate connection

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 402RebeccaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Friends invited us to Joe Fortes to enjoy dinner during the festive season. To our complete surprise we were delighted to discover that their roof top garden had been transformed to accommodate seating during the winter. What a delightful treat given that it wasn't raining. The food and service were more than satisfactory. A lovely evening was enjoyed by all.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Renegade225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The reviews are correct - the place is packed tight with people, noisy but the food is amazing!

We came here for dinner tonight for the first time, even though we have walked by it multiple times. After reading the online reviews, we decided to try it.

It was hard getting a reservation - they are always busy and now I know why.

There were 2 of us and we were seated at a small table, packed tightly with other tables for 2, along the upstairs railings! There was barely room for the servers to move back and forth. It was really a bit ridiculous how they packed people in. I feel sorry for the staff who have to work under those conditions. As a result of the restaurant being so tightly packed, it was very noisy. However, despite all that, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal! Shocking, I know!

Our server, Kevin H., was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and explained the menu well to us. He was attentive and friendly. Despite how busy it was, he handled all the tables very well - everyone felt well looked after.

The food was absolutely AMAZING! I had the clam chowder and oysters Rockefeller as starters. Both were fantastic. There were 4 oyster shells in an order of the Rockefeller but each shell had 2-4 oysters in it!! I was shocked how generous the portions were. It was so tasty and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I then had the miso marinated sablefish entree. The fish was so fresh, the meat just slid off the fork and melted in your mouth! The flavours were top notch - marinated right through the piece of fish! It sat on a bed of sautéed kale, edamame beans & quinoa - very healthy and filling! My husband enjoyed his crab cake and ribeye steak. The key lime pie had the perfect balance of tartness and sweetness.

I would highly recommend this place for great seafood and steak. There is a reason why it has survived in downtown Vancouver for 30 years and why it's always so busy. Great food and great service!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IzzyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing