We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Parisiene (Formerly Le Bistro de Paris), Vancouver, BC”
Review of Le Bistro de Paris - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Bistro de Paris
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Robson Street
Cross street: Robson
Transit: Robson at Denman and Georgia at Denman
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Decided to dine at this restaurant with family and the whole night turned out to be a great time.
Had a great time with our family as well the food we experienced was just amazing. The special that night was Boneless Beef Shortrib with roquefort cheese crust...OMG, amazing. Two of us had this and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Someone also had the Pork Tenderloin and another had the order of Muscles. We all really enjoyed the main course. Oh almost forgot the appetizers. One was a cheese fondue, and if you like good and sharp cheese, was very good! Someone had a very nice salad and the other some type of seafood. Overall, the food was great and the company of course, perfect. The wait staff was plentiful and yet not on top of you. We were somewhat early diners but the place filled up very fast. Now I can see why. Parking in the area is at a premium, but behind this location are about three spots for the customers..good luck with that, but well worth the effort of parking. One could consider it pricey but if you want quality food and service and not just an average experience, then go for it. No 'scenic view' but go opportunity for people watching on Denman Street.

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CookyM-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

Hadn't been to this restaurant since the late1970's when we would come into town from West Van with a French friend for the heavier Bistro fare. Now downtown empty nesters surrounded by new restaurants, we noticed it listed in Dine Out Vancouver, and went. The dine out menu didn't appeal, so I ordered the Salade Nicoise, and my husband the Bouillabaisse, which he said was very good. We split a hamburger and chips, which was also good. The pièce de ré·sis·tance, my Nicoise, was incredible. Seared sushi grade tuna (as good as Blue Water Cafe) atop lovely greens, with the usual fixings of egg etc, and with an assortment of the best, plumpest olives I have had, even when visiting the Middle east. I must ask where they get them. Liked it so well, we went back the very next week for me to have the salad again (same excellent quality), this time with a French Onion soup which was, as most are, too salty for my taste. A fantastic plus: there is free ample parking in the back lane, almost unheard of in the West End. Actually, now I am worried you will all rediscover the restaurant, and next time I want to drop by at the last minute, all the parking spaces will be gone, and the tables full. I can't speak to the quality of dishes others have found lacking, but know what will draw me back again and again. I felt the prices for what we had were reasonable.

Date of visit: January 2012
Thank Shar0n_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This used to be a place where we could find the taste of Paris we longed for. The frites (French fries) were - and still are - delicious. But something is different. I don't miss the haughty French (and French Canadian) waiters, and the ubiquitous Edith Piaff music is still there (why oh why must we be punished with endless Edith Piaff when there is so much other good French music?), but it's different somehow. The food just is not as good as it was ten years ago. But as for the toughness of the meat - if you order even a filet mignon well done, it's not going to be tender.

Date of visit: May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jebsldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Had Dine Out menu at le Bistro de Paris recently. The service was very good and the atmosphere was fine. The food was okay but not great. Prices were fine for Dine Out but would be overpriced otherwise.

Date of visit: January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Macpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Came here with my husband for Dine out Vancouver 2012. Ambiance is cozy and service is great, but food is a big disappointment. Clam chowder is great with big chunks of salmon. I picked the Halibut dish for the main course and the fish is a bit dry and too much spice overpowering the halibut itself. I was looking forward to the dessert, Creme brulee, but did not enjoy it also.

Date of visit: January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jen_Min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistro de Paris also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing