We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good atmosphere buy not the best hostel I've been to.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere buy not the best hostel I've been to.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Price wise it was alright. Great location breakfast included, nice bar downstairs, and helpful staff. On Granville street close to many great restaurants, cheap eats and bars.

The rooms were quite small and found the bathrooms to be very old and not too clean. The place was a little noisy but nothing too bad.

Most of the people staying here were young and did have a great vibe, so if you wanted to meet people and have a hoops time then this may be a great option but if you like a nicer room and a bit quiter than this may not be the place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameshil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    484
    152
    41
    32
See reviews for
17
112
659
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed for 3 nights and over all it was OK. The location is great for visiting downtown, right in the main street, Granville. However, if you get an exterior room (which I did) it's incredibly noisy at night. It's a busy area at night. Otherwise the rooms are OK and clean enough, but the bathrooms were very annoyingly dirty and the corridors have a very unhygienic fitted carpet.

The staff at the reception desk wasn't particularily nice and some of them seemed quite annoyed to have to answer your questions.

Breakfast was really good, they offered bagels and fruit, coffee, milk and juices.

The bar is good for a beer and they offer deals on sports events which are quite convenient, but otherwise tere's not much going on at the inn.

It's an OK place, but I would definitely look for a better ini if I go back to Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

pros: perfectly located, extremely accessible. right in the heart of the CBD, walking distance to granville island and markets, bus stops right outside the door, skytrain and canada line station just 4 blocks away, YMCA just 3 blocks away, countless restaurants and coffeeshops, and anything else you'd need. the hostel has weekly movie nights, and can do their best on getting you tickets to hockey games. the breakfast is minimal, but it's free. their wifi is also not great, but if you sit in the commons it's pretty decent. lots of cool, friendly people and the kitchen is well equipped. Bathrooms are clean. earplugs are sold at front desk, as well as laundry powder (laundry is relatively affordable). They also have a weekly rate for dorms. SUPER easy to get here from the airport, just take the Canada line all the way to Vancouver City Centre station and it's 4 blocks down granville st, near doolins pub. big neon sign, you can't miss it.

cons: noisy, as downtown vancouver ALWAYS is. until about 3 am.. then it's quiet. earplugs are a GODSEND. Noisy roomates are also an annoyance, but that's what you get when you stay in a hostel... it's to be expected. you should also probably lock your stuff up, but again, that's hostel life.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiekbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I've been lucky enough to stay at the Samesun Vancouver a few times, its a great place and the Beaver Bar downstairs has great cheap eats and drinks and its a great place to meet fellow traveler's. What's even better is its a nice easy stroll into the heart of the city. Check out more my review at http://insydetravel.info/city-guide-vancouver-canada/

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Our stay in the hostel itself was pretty good, no complaints.
It sucked that the hostel was full when we tried to book a second night, but that was our fault.

The BAR was amazing. Even after we checked out, we still came back here at night to hang out.
By the second night the waitresses knew our names and asked if we wanted "our usual table"!

Amazing atmosphere and tons of fun. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in Van--even if only for the bar! :]

Room Tip: Rooms are arranged by country/flag. Pretty cool, but no preference otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattlestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Property: Samesun Vancouver
Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,960 - ₹ 8,771
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing