We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Place To Stay In Vancouver” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Erina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Place To Stay In Vancouver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I've been lucky enough to stay at the Samesun Vancouver a few times, its a great place and the Beaver Bar downstairs has great cheap eats and drinks and its a great place to meet fellow traveler's. What's even better is its a nice easy stroll into the heart of the city. Check out more my review at http://insydetravel.info/city-guide-vancouver-canada/

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    469
    142
    38
    29
See reviews for
16
110
613
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Our stay in the hostel itself was pretty good, no complaints.
It sucked that the hostel was full when we tried to book a second night, but that was our fault.

The BAR was amazing. Even after we checked out, we still came back here at night to hang out.
By the second night the waitresses knew our names and asked if we wanted "our usual table"!

Amazing atmosphere and tons of fun. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in Van--even if only for the bar! :]

Room Tip: Rooms are arranged by country/flag. Pretty cool, but no preference otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattlestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed at the SameSun by myself in a private room. The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. Bathrooms were cleaned constantly, and I never had a problem with wait times. They have a bar with nightly drink specials, and cheap food - also a nightly $4.95 dinner special. There's a free breakfast and organised activities, trivia nights, open mic nights etc. Only one thing worth mentioning... If you can't lift your luggage, don't stay here as there is a killer set of stairs, and then depending on what floor you're on, only more. Took me 3 goes to get everything up and down!

Room Tip: Possibly ask not to be near a bathroom, and people come and go all night, and as it's a backpack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZazfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We were booked into a private room for a few nights and after dragging our bags up all the stairs we found myself and my boyfriend had to share a room with 4 others. Luckily the guy on reception was able to change this and we had a private room. However we paid on arrival and the following day we were told we owed another $70. So I found it was expensive. It was a decent size for a hostel, had a fridge and tv. Very noisy, so if you are wanting a decent night sleep get some earplugs. The plus was the wifi, however most people had issues getting any reception in their rooms. Bathrooms were kept clean. The bed however was not great, I still have the bites on my body from the bed bugs. The pillows and mattress have seen better days, way too many bodily fluids have been added to them. I was glad to see the back of the place. Location is a plus.

Room Tip: if you want a bit of peace and quiet make sure the room does not face onto Granville Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Whatever you do, DO NOT STAY IN A 6 BED DORM HERE. It cannot be legal. The room was so cramped, I swear prison cells are more roomy. For $28 a night you'd except more. For $1 more my friend and I switched to a 2 bed dorm at the Cambie (that place wasnt great either but it beat the hell at Same Sun.) The bathrooms were dirty and there was only 1 per floor--about 100 people to a bathroom??? The rooms smelled and the first room we were given had hundreds of horrific bedbug blood stains on the mattress. The only thing redeeming about the place was the free breakfast--but in the end we decided it just wasn't worth it. I think you're better off going to the HI.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 90 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#15 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 90 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Property: Samesun Vancouver
Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,794 - ₹ 8,099
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing