We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Date Night - 5 Start*****”

Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 18.95*
and up
Lost Souls of Gastown Walking Tour
Ranked #5 of 158 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover Vancouver's dirty history with Forbidden Vancouver. Now staging walking tours Lost Souls of Gastown, Prohibition City, and special event Secrets of the Penthouse. If your idea of adventure is following your guide down lamp lit alleyways, back to a world of illegal booze, opium dens, and unsolved murders, then you'll love Forbidden Vancouver.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A Great Date Night - 5 Start*****”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Wow - simply wow, very entertaining, engaging and interactive tour about area's of our city i thought i already knew much about. I was shocked to learn details of the architecture about one of the pubs i used to frequent (never knew till this tour what that odd fence/gate was all about! )
The level of Detail and info in this tour keeps you interested and hungry for more. I will be recommending this to all my friends and any one interested in the prohibition era of Vancouver. This tour made for a wonderful start to a great date night and even concludes right in front of some great restaurants and pubs. Perfect for couples out for a night on the town.
-Devin

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Devin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbidden_Vancouver, Owner at Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thanks Devin. I'm really glad you enjoyed yourself and it's great to hear the evening was an enjoyable date night for you and your partner. We deliberately host the tour at times that mean our guests can make an evening of it and enjoy drinks or dinner afterwards. We've designed the tour to finish in the heart of Gastown where many of Vancouver's best bars and restaurants are. We can give recommendations on our favourites if guests are interested!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    60
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Delta
1 review
“5 Stars”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Loved the tour from start to finish! Not only was it wonderfully entertaining but it was a great learning experience. The stories were both compelling ("Who knew there was a riot in Chinatown?") and amusing ("Who knew Eddy Munster's mom has a Vancouver connection?"). I would definitely encourage anyone who is interested in seeing a different side of Vancouver to sign up for this tour. Thanks for the wonderful experience Will! P.S. Still can't believe the price was so low.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbidden_Vancouver, Owner at Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thanks for your post Bev. It was a pleasure hosting you and your friends on Forbidden Vancouver and I look forward to welcoming you back before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Unique and Informative”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I found the walk to be something a little different. It's not the same as most walks where you just get the facts. It's more entertaining providing a unique spin on providing intriguing information about Vancouver in a story format. I am from Vancouver and almost all of what was told was new to me!
Would definitely recommend to family and friends!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoPoMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbidden_Vancouver, Owner at Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thanks for your post Jopo - I'm glad you enjoyed Forbidden Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Great New Evening Activity”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great way to spend an evening without breaking the bank and learning something as well! I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of history that Vancouver has...and how little I know if it! On the tour, you will learn about everything from prohibition (Yes, Vancouver had one) to the living conditions during the time period.

The guide and main story teller is also does a fantastic job in engaging the audience!

We went on the rain tour (can't let the rain stop you if you live in Vancouver!) and the guide is strategically designed to always stop under archways and cover. So you can take a break from your umbrella and focus on the story! Would definitely recommend to any of my friends and family!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GutterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbidden_Vancouver, Owner at Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thanks for your post Mr G! We spent many hours trawling the streets of downtown, Chinatown and Gastown to identify suitable dry places for each scene. Our Raincity Edition is a unique tour and in fact your tour was the FIRST to experience it! Glad it worked out - it was fun building it. We'll have to get your back on Forbidden Vancouver on a sunny day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Outstanding Tour and Guide!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I had a great time on the tour. Will was a wealth of knowledge and gave us the perfect blend of Canadian history, Vancouver arhitecture and funny jokes. I would highly recommend this tour to Vancouverite and visitors alike!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbidden_Vancouver, Owner at Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thanks Marta! It was a pleasure hosting you on Forbidden Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing