We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't waste your time & money here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BiBo Pizzeria con Cucina

BiBo Pizzeria con Cucina
Reserve with OpenTable
BiBo Pizzeria con Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #391 of 3,599 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 23
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: Burrard St
Transit: Two doors from bus stop that serves lines # 4, 7 and 84.
Description: Welcome to The BiBo Restaurant, the TRUE Italian Experience! The BiBo is not just a restaurant; it is a philosophy of life…an obsession for quality that is translated through every prepared Italian dish, which is created with the highest quality ingredients from all different regions in Italy. The owner's drive and dedication to provide the most authentic Italian experience translates into a menu that truly brings a taste of Italy to your table with "antipasti" created with fresh imported ingredients, hand made pastas prepared daily, and the most traditional Neapolitan style pizzas cooked in our wood burning oven. To top it all off, The Bibo offers freshly made Italian desserts and a carefully chosen wine list. Buon Appetito!
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
577 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time & money here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Have tried this place twice--and despite decent food--the terrible service outshadows any desire to return--especially given the pretty high prices for pizza here. Last visit, arrived at 1:30 pm--waited for lunch crowd to pass. Waited 15 minutes for the waiter/manager to take our order and he couldn't have cared less!!! One other table in the restaurant at the time. Waited another 20 mins for a meat & cheese platter to arrive--nothing to be cooked here--just assembled. Seriously--20 mins. Then we waited another 30 mins for our pizzas--we finally asked if they were coming!!!! The waiter/manager explained that they were getting ready to close for the afternoon break and the kitchen was very busy doing food prep. There were 2 cooks in the kitchen standing around and talking the whole time. The waiter/manager didn't even seem bothered that we had been waiting this long until we asked. Finally around 45 mins after we arrived our pizzas arrived--at exactly the same time as another table who came in 30 mins after us also got their pizza. I guess the kitchen finally decided to put us out of our misery and make our food!!!

Abysmal lazy service and an attitude that reflects a "whatever" attitude--don't waste your time & money here espcially when their pizza's run a premium price!!! Not worth it and I suspect they won't be in business for long.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AirSchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    7
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Never thought I'd be thinking "where's the salt?"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We were looking forward to eating at The Bibo having heard the reviews about a "real" Italian restaurant on 4th Avenue. Unfortunately, the restaurant gets a "Meh" as a review.

As others have said, the decor/space is interesting, with the b&w movies being a great touch. We ordered the tagliere charcuterie and cheese platter as an appetizer, which was pretty good - very large size and interesting combination of meats and cheese. After that, we were really looking forward to our mains.

We were both keen to try their fresh pasta, so I ordered the pesto gnocchi and my friend ordered the Bibo Matteo porcini pasta. After a long time with empty wine glasses and water, the pastas finally arrived (the restaurant was not busy - there was clearly a problem in the kitchen). Alas, mine was not pesto gnocchi, but instead was the ragu gnocchi. Having waited so long, I decided not to send it back and just to live with it. I dug in for the first taste...and bland, bland, bland. I had my friend taste, and she asked "Does it need salt?!" No, we decided, it was just missing flavour. We gave hers a try, and it was better, but still not great.

Oh, and our wine and water glasses were still empty. We looked for the waiter to ask for parmesan cheese, salt or pepper...to no avail. Finally, we each pushed our pasta around our plate a bit and eventually when we saw the waiter, asked for the bill.

Had it only been the pasta being tasteless, I might have gone back to try the pizza, as a lot of people seemed to be order the pizza - maybe that is their specialty. But, the pasta coupled with the poor service means I won't be going back.

It's too bad, as I like to see personally run restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Resipsa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice venue, average fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I find this place's ambiance to be very comfortable: linear arrangement of tables in a well appointed room, visible pizza fire, and especially the classic Italian movies, which are like mental fly paper. Look up and you're stuck, nicely.

The food however is variable. I would concur with others that the pizzas leave a little to be desired: good crust, but skimpy, bland-tasting toppings, all at an bit above average price. There's typically no topping at all on the inch and a half of crust nearest the edge.I would never recommend anyone go here for pizza.

Their bruschetta selection is, in contrast, ample and tasty.

Good service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NormBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband (he's Italian) and I are always looking for the perfectly baked pizza - we found it at Bibo. We tried the Formula One - with tomatoes, buffalo mozzarella and basil. It is pricey at $22 but it was delicious. Bursting with flavor. The crust melts in your mouth, not soggy, perfectly cooked. We started with the Bibo Tagliere cold cuts & cheese - which was a meal in itself - 6 pieces of foccacia, salami, prosciutto, porchetta ? (guessing) 3 types of cheeses (one was pecorino), more bread with melted Tallegio ? and olives. The Rigatoni alla Norma was hearty and authentic with lots of eggplant and salted ricotta cheese. For dessert, we had the panna cotta - delicate but a little bland, not too sweet. Overall we had a wonderful authentic meal. We will be back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keena_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
259 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Pasta, Pizza, Salad, desert, and Appetizers Isn't Enough Selection For Us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

After trying several times to get a reservation at the highly rated "The Bibo", we finally got in on a very busy Saturday night. When we opened the menu, we kept looking for some healthier Italian choices--like fish or chicken, especially since Vancouver is famous for its fresh and local seafood. We were stupid because we didn't look on-line at the menu, and even though we knew there was an emphasis on Naples' style pizza, we figured there was more there. But there isn't. So we ordered a pizza and a salad with delicious mozarella, not the pricier mozarella, and it was great. But we won't go back. The deserts looked fabulous, the wine list was fairly priced with good variety, but not being able to order fish or fowl will keep us away. We split a pizza and a salad so it was an inexpensive meal and shared wine with our friends.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beeperVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BiBo Pizzeria con Cucina also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to BiBo Pizzeria con Cucina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing