We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and roomy but a little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location and roomy but a little dated”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at the Rosellen suites for three nights whilst on holiday in Vancouver.
The location is good, and there are lots of great restaurants nearby in the West End (Tampopo is particularly recommended - all you can eat sushi for $13 after 9.30pm!)
The apartment was a good size and very clean but we felt it was quite dated. The bedroom was also small. We were also on the ground floor which could be noisy at times.
However for families I could see it would be a very good bet and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thanks very much for the your kind comments and the great recommendation for Tampopo. It is one of the staff favorites. One of the many benefits of staying in the West End neighborhood is immediate access to countless restaurant opportunities for almost any cuisine you would desire. We are sorry that you found your suite bedroom too small and would have been so very happy to try to move you to another suite that might have been better suited if we had known during your stay that this was not large enough for you. Our suites range in size from 600 square feet to 1,900 square feet and there is typically a suite style and size to fit almost anyone's taste and/or budget. On your next visit, please mention this to us and we will ensure you have a suite that best fits your personal preferences. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you, again, on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    179
    39
    16
    17
See reviews for
253
170
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

we were here a year ago and now returned in April 2012 so the pertinent question is why did we come back here and not try a newer and bigger and more serviced hotel with pool, restaurants in-house, room service, valet service, etc. etc.? and the answer is likely, without probing too deeply for meanings, because the total environment is relaxing and laid back ------ you hear the call of the Canada geese, blue herons, and swans coming through your opened windows in the mornings; the noise factor from cars and bars is non-existent; in the immediate area are well maintained flower and tree endowed low rise with a few high rise condos and apartments; the walk to the water is 10 minutes; the walk to Delany's Coffee House on Denman St. is 7 minutes; even though we had kitchen facilities in the suite, the walk to a "thousand" Vancouver restaurants, is minutes away, north, south, east, or west;.... want more? the front office people are very friendly (Ken, Tag, Kent) and will go out of their way to help you; we love the cleaning staff; the place is clean; we had no major complaints last year or this year; no, it's not 5 star but once you've stayed downtown amidst the bustle and noise and then come here and find a little peace and quiet, you won't be going back down town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thanks very much for sharing your experience and for painting such an inviting picture of the neighbourhood! We look forward to your return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Myself and two other ladies, shared a two bedroom suite in Rosellen Suites last weekend. We were shown a suite on the ground floor which was totally unacceptable so we asked for another suite. The suite we were originally allocated smelt moldy and the decor was dated and scruffy. We were offered another suite on the same floor for $30 per day extra which was is better condition and had modern T.V.'s. It was a nice suite but was also rather tatty. There were old and torn net curtains and it had only been half modernized. Nice kitchen with granite tops, but why didn't they change the units and old appliances too? All the curtains were scruffy. The fire cover looked terrible. Even the common areas need to be renovated. However, the linen was clean, the apartment was warm and bedrooms and bathrooms were nice. The apartment was a good size and we did enjoy ourselves. Wish it had been as good as the apartments look in the ad. Location good for a short visit to Vancouver and the concierge directed us to a really nice fish restaurant in Stanley Park, a short walk away. I have stayed in many holiday apartments and houses around the world, for a similar price, and this was one of the worst I have stayed in so far. Staff were pleasant and helpful. I have seen the other reviews and can only assume that the writers were staying in a different apartment to the two that we saw.

Room Tip: I would suggest you go and look at the rooms to check they meet with your standards before you pay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMF707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I travel a lot for business and for me a hotel has to be clean, convenient and have lots of space to work and relax! I don't want to sit on my bed to do my work. The Rosellen gives you apartment space at a great price. My unit is usually two bedrooms, a handy kitchen, and lots of living room to relax. There is always a desk and a dinning room table if you need more room to work on. Their internet is fast and free.You will not believe how friendly the staff are because they want you to have a great hotel experience. One of the cleaning staff has been here for 20 years so what does that tell you about the property. There is no restaurant but you are only about 2 blocks for more than enough food selection. Not all the suites have been upgraded yet so if that is important to you ask before you book. The Rosellen will enhance your trip to Vancouver!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tempoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thanks very much for your kind comments. It is a privilege to serve all guests but particularly so with repeat guests, such as yourselves, that makes Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park their Vancouver home over and over again (60% of guests return). We did want to expand just a bit on the different suite options that were mentioned. First, each suite (there are 27) is unique. And, there are two distinct styles. The first is our "Classic" suites. This is the type of suite this particular reviewer prefers each stay. These have retained their original charm of the time and period they were built. The "Classic" suites offer a very relaxed, homey feel. Many of the Classic suites are pet friendly. So, you can feel comfortable sitting back, sipping a glass of wine, reading a good book, while “Fido” rests at your feet. The second style is our “Personal-ity” suites. Each of these suites is individually themed and designed, from wild to subdued, and offers many of the upgrades and conveniences some people prefer such as flat screen TV(s), DVD/CD player, iPod docking station and luxury bedding. At Rosellen, we recognize that all people are different and each has a specific preference when it comes to their travel accommodations. We try to cater to those individual preferences by offering choices and are always happy to help a potential guest determine which suite style would be best for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, bc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We couldn't have had a more delightful stay in Vancouver! A quiet peaceful place with Stanley Park and big city amenities a few blocks away. After staying in a suite here, I'll never opt for a hotel room again! It was very roomy with the generosity of space older buildings possess. There were wood floors throughout, and pleasantly decorated. I felt I was returning "home", every time I came back from my wanderings. The staff was exceptionally helpful and welcoming, the housekeeping great. I felt looked after yet left alone. We were only there for a 2-day getaway. Next time I'm planning a week!! I hesitated writing this review, afraid this cozy quiet spot will become too well-known. .

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a "personality" suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Everyone at Rosellen Suites sends a great big thank you for your comments. We very much look forward to your return and don’t worry about us “becoming too well known”, we promise to give you the same personal service the next time you visit, no matter how busy it may be thanks to your very kind and thoughtful review. Please feel free to call me direct when you are coming next and I will personally make sure you are well cared for. Hope to see you soon. Tag Ng (604) 689-4807
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,423 reviews
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#24 of 92 in Vancouver
2,197 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park

Property: Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Address: 2030 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,984 - ₹ 66,387
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very quiet residential neighborhood just steps from Stanley Park, Rosellen offers that largest suites in Vancouver that can accommodate from 1 - 8 guests. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms and bathrooms, dining area and living room providing plenty of space for everyone to spread out. The staff provides personal friendly service. The hotel is in walking distance to many different types of restaurants, shops, and major Vancouver attractions including English Bay and Vancouver Aquarium. The hotel provides complimentary high speed wireless internet access, local and toll-free calls, passes to the local fitness center and pool, coffee, tea, and popcorn with two premium high definition movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel At Stanley Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing