We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice updated room -- VI Owner Review”
Review of Rosedale on Robson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosedale on Robson
Ranked #40 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Puyallup, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Small but nice updated room -- VI Owner Review”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I booked a girls weekend trip courtesy of VI’s bonus time for last weekend. I was a little leery after looking at some the pics on this site but our room (#809) was really nice and appeared to have been recreantly fully updated. I knew VI had redone the kitchen areas but I didn’t know what to expect regarding the rest of the unit. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that everything had fresh updated look to it. The living room/kitchen area in the two bedroom suite was definitely smaller than at other VI resorts I’ve been to (only about a fourth of the usual amount of space, if that) and with only 1 bathroom, 1 living room chair, a couch that sits 3 and a table that seats 2 in my opinion it’d be WAY too small for a party of 6 but for a party of 4 it was comfortable. The TV in the front room had horrible reception, very snowy. I reported it to VI so hopefully they’ll get that fixed. The TV in the 2nd bedroom was fine and we never tested out the other one so I don’t know what it was like. I found the beds to be firm as well but the linens seemed fine to me. The check in and out process was very quick and easy. They do a temporary security charge of $100 when you check in. It’s $5 a day for internet and $16 a day for in & out parking -VERY TIGHT spaces and was a little challenging trying to find a space our 2nd night and the tax amount was around $13 for the two nights added together. We spent Saturday walking in a huge circle around Vancouver. We checked in with the concierge and let us know the safer areas vs the maybe not so safe areas. We had a huge brownie desert in the hotel restaurant the night we arrived (big enough for at least 3 to share) and breakfast there the next day, both good experiences.
One thing we noticed about Canada vs. the US was how much more expensive everything was. A $3 bottle of wine down here goes for around $13 up there just to give you an idea. Also if you use US cash in stores they exchange it at 95 cents to the dollar compared to 99 cents to the dollar at the banks and most credit card companies charge an international exchange fee except for Capital One.
There’s a 7-11 right across the street and tons of Starbucks around. All alcohol (even beer and wine) is only available in liquor stores.
All and all it was a great little get away spot, I’ll definitely go back again at some point.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheerMom602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    744
    244
    59
    37
See reviews for
426
654
65
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We like this hotel. Have stayed there a couple of times and it is an easy walk uptown or down to Yaletown for some good restaurants. The higher floors have very good views and the bar downstairs is great for a beer and an easy meal.

Room Tip: good views from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetravellots101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, bc
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Many people have mentioned location and its true, its an awesome spot for walking around downtown.Its also in a good neighbourhood. The rooms werent bad. i liked the size and the fact that my kids could sit in the bedroom and watch cartoons and we could sit in the small living area and watch tv as well. The decor was little bit older, but I didnt think it was dingy or icky in anyway, its just not a fancy, modern place.My only minor complaint is that the bed really wasnt too comfortable and the bedding was just regular (nothing fancy) The pool was great. The staff were friendly, check in was a breeze. Besides the location, the second best part of this hotel is the cost of parking, VERY resonable for Vancouver (16 or 17 bucks a night) Ive paid as much as $45 a night at other Vancouver hotels!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosedaleGM, General Manager at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for your comments. With regard to the beds, we have put new pillow tops on them which has addressed most of our complaints. We are in the process of testing a variety of bed comfort levels and getting guest feedback. Once we have done this test period, we will be ordering new beds to fit the majority of the comments. Our decor has been given a more conservative look than previous as most of our clients found we were a little too much the other way. We do take guests comments into account and work on addressing them as time goes by. Once again thanks for your thoughts.

Jim Miller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We had two stays here that were pre-paid well in advance. The first was an overnighter in a one bedroom "deluxe" suite. We found the living area to be a bit dark and dingy even with all of the lights on. After putting our bags in the bedroom and settling in a bit, we were surprised to find that the living area had not been cleaned after the previous occupants. The carpet had not been vacuumed and there was food, sticky thick caramel I think, smeared on two of the walls and dribbled across the carpet. These were not light unnoticable marks either; one was about 4cm wide, 20cm long and 3mm deep. Yuk. We pointed it out to the staff member who brought up the extra towels for our family (we had to call for this as there were 3 towels supplied for a party of 4). He just shrugged and said "New Years Eve, we haven't had time to repaint". There was also a wall size mirror that was broken and repaired with sticky tape.

Our second stay was 4 nights in a 2 bedroom suite. I'm happy to say that the room was clean this time. The kitchenette however, was poorly equipped and made it difficult to cook anything e.g. one small pot and a small frying pan were the only cooking tools supplied in our unit that was designed to sleep up to 6 people. The fridge was small with no temperature control. Disappointingly there was no table to sit at to eat either. We made one meal and decided to eat out on the remaining nights.

As others have pointed out, the location is good, with plenty of eating and shopping venues close by. But I think that if we ever go back to Vancouver, we would look at alternative accommodation. This hotel was not very good value when compared with the other self contained properties we had stayed in in other locations-even New York.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tsbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosedaleGM, General Manager at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. The cleanliness issues are very distressing and so was the condition of the suite. We will be reviewing the matter with the various departments to ensure that we do have this happen again. As for the suites, we repaint every year and do touch ups as necessary. In some cases we do take suites out of service earlier if they have been abused. Also we do a deep cleaning twice a year.As for supplies, there are normally full extra sets of towels in the dressers. This information would be in the guest directory. The pots and pans can be augmented with a call to our Housekeeping department. We have plenty of extras as well as a variety of sizes for pots and pans, With regard to dining tables, we do have them upon request. We have pulled them from the suites as most of our guests prefer the extra space. In closing I would like to talk to you further about your stay so when you get a chance can you email me at jamesm@rosedaleonrobson.com.

Thank you: Jim Miller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a few nights and found the hotel to be in a great position. Close to everything.Plenty of shopping available and some great restaurants. Rooms were clean, well furnished. Four of us stayed in a self contained suite. Kitchenette was clean, well organised and fully equipped. Continental breakfast in the morning was more than enough to see you through until lunch. (Cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, different varieties of bread and a great coffee machine with free newspapers). Staff were helpful and price was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tonybanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale on Robson? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale on Robson

Property: Rosedale on Robson
Address: 838 Hamilton Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6A2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,266 - ₹ 20,103
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedale on Robson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the entertainment and sports district, the Rosedale on Robson Suite Hotel offers you comfort and relaxation, with water and mountain views, in a perfect central location. We are a very short walking distance to Rogers Arena, BC Place, the Queen Elizabeth Theatre, the Westside Church, and historic Yaletown, Gastown, Chinatown.Discover fabulous shops and cafes along the way. Choose from our array of one and two bedroom suites with 2 doubles, queen-size and/or king-size beds. Every suite offers the comforts of home with fully equipped galley kitchens for people who love to have that convenience. Need to stay connected? You can access WiFi throughout the hotel. Need to relax? Enjoy our indoor lap pool and whirlpool or find a touch of nature in our second floor garden terrace. Fitness on your mind? The poolside lobby fitness area has treadmills and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Rosedale on Robson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Robson
Rosedale On Robson Hotel Vancouver
Rosedale On Robson Vancouver
Rosedale Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing