We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience!”
Review of O Canada House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
O Canada House
Ranked #3 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

O Canada House is a very beautiful B&B situated in a quiet street and yet only a short walk away from Vancouver's centre and all it has to offer - my daughter and I certainly chose well as far as location is concerned. Even more so, we chose well when it came to comfort and hospitality - from the very comfortable bed to the wonderful breakfasts and the lounge with its open fire, our stay was such a pleasure and made our time in Vancouver so enjoyable. We would like to thank Cheryl and Flor for their hospitality and friendliness - it was lovely to come down to breakfast each day and be greeted so pleasantly and to have a chat. Not only that, but both ladies were very helpful when it came to things to see and do in Vancouver. O Canada House is so comfortable that we chose to spend more than one evening 'at home' in our room, watching DVDs and enjoying the goodies available from the 24 hour pantry!

It was with heavy hearts that we left our beautiful lodgings, and Vancouver. We would most definitely recommend O Canada House - if we are ever lucky enough to return to Vancouver, we will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the North Suite, which is spacious, has a king size bed and has a lovely view of the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 208 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

We've stayed in several hotels and B&Bs in the west end of Vancouver over the past few years, but there is a reason we keep coming back to the O'Canada House. the staff are very friendly. The breakfasts are fantastic. Way beyond what you'll get at other locations.
I've asked the staff for dinner recomendations on two special date nights with my wife and they made us reservations at exceptional restaurants for us. We now make this B&B our first choice when we head north to Vancouver.

Room Tip: The "cottage" room is cozy and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBalderdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

B&B's aren't for everybody. If you choose this one and are attending a meeting down on the waterfront, expect a walk. But it's a lovely walk (even in the mist and rain), 20 minutes or so, and the city streets along the way are friendly to pedestrians. I was amazed at how Vancouver drivers actually stop for folks in crosswalks. Walking is the antidote for sitting in meetings all day.
B&B's aren't for everybody. If you are looking for creature comforts, space to relax in, access to good coffee 24/7, a mug to drink it in, and a fireplace to sit by, this is for you.
This B&B is fairly small. If you get others to book here as well, you literally can take over the entire house with your friends and colleagues. We did this for the national AAAS meeting. Made the stay even more delightful.
I'd book here again - no question about it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHM008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

O' Canada, you would exclaimed!

Visited Vancouver for a too-short of two days during the gloomiest month of November 2011.
Arriving wet and unsure of what to expect, the charming historical house brought comfort and warm. Rooms opened up with wonderful decorations and the bathroom was intricately decorated.

Suzanne was most welcoming as she took her time and with great patience, explaining the details of the surrounding areas, of the most mundane task, of where to dine in. Very personalized opinions, sharing her experiences with the area of restaurants along Robson and in theWest End area, ranging from Asian, to local seafood, to heartwarming restaurants.

The next morning, the breakfast was simply the best. Cheryl was such a great chef! The best pancakes (second best was in the USA) ever tasted, and free flow of coffee, tea, milk, cookies all day round, the only thing to worry would be the extra baggage put on.

After exploring Vancouver for half a day, the rainy weather had to usher back home to O'Canada, where the adventure of Canada was continued with Suzanne, who most willingly and enthusiastically shared and exchanged different perspectives of Vancouver's life and culture. Whether it is serious topics on immigration policies, health systems, or the more mundane topics like the weather, traveling to Richmond and Peru, it was really a wonderful conversation with wit and humor and knowledge-gaining with Suzanne.

The last morning (the ferry ride was postponed to enjoy the breakfast here), Suzanne made the breakfast, because Cheryl had fallen ill. It was another surprise of wonderfully made sandwiches along with some fruit.

With heartfelt warm, heavy steps, while turning heads behind and viewing this charming house, O'Canada!, exclaimed loudly, one would understand that people makes up one of the important component on the charm of a city, a heart of a country.

(Room rates were reasonable because it was off-peak season. Otherwise, it would not be considered very budget, but definitely it would be value-for-money. Toilets would be cold through the winter season, but do be distracted by the stylish decorations)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balexhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We really enjoyed our stayed in there! Susanne and Cheryl make you feel at home. The breakfast is delicious and if you are hungry in the middle of the day Cheryl makes fresh pastry everyday!!! Is very close to everything. And we needed to get to whistler and they helped us to arrange everything.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiorellino_azzurro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,986 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
690 reviews
West End
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Canada House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Canada House

Address: 1114 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: ₹ 8,988 - ₹ 18,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Canada House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B and home of the Buchan version of the Canadian National Athem in 1909. Perfectly situated on a quiet West End residential street yet only minutes walking to Robson St shops and restaurants, Stanley Park, the cruise ships, English Bay Beach, Granville Island and the downtown centre. Perfect for sightseeing, romantic getaways or the business traveller. Full hot delicous breakfasts are included as well as parking and a guest panry. Vancouver's foremost B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
o Canada House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing