We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and a good price! My new favorite in Vancouver.”
Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buchan Hotel
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was a better deal than staying at either Jericho or SameSun hostels. It can be difficult to find a quiet hotel room anywhere in Vancouver, but THIS IS IT! Finally a place where I can sleep like a baby without hearing a party going on in the street below.

The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the shower down the hall was clean and had great water pressure and hot enough water. Downstairs there's a nice living room area with couches, a bookshelf full of travel and other books, free coffee and (I think) wifi. The desk staff was courteous and helpful. We were able to leave our bags for several hours while we wandered around before our flight left the next day. Stanley Park is also very closeby.

I am the first to complain if there are problems. Buchan exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,783)
There are newer reviews for Buchan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,588 - 1,592 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

I got a room on the first floor and it was nice, clean and comfortable. I used the shared shower (which no one ever used but me it seems!) but had a toilet and sink in my room. The toilet was a convenient suprise as I payed for only the basic room. It was also more reasonably priced as I stayed there in the off season. The West End is a lovely area. Wireless provided for a reasonable fee (around $2 a day).

Provides free tea and coffee in the morning and there are lots of pamphlets and suggestions of things to do. It's close to Stanley Park and Robson St and not too difficult to get to other attractions in downtown Vancouver.

It might be just me but I found the bus system a little difficult at first but that has nothing to do with the hotel.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
7  Thank jlv22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We had a brilliant stay at the Buchan. Staff friendly and helpful, very knowledgable about the local area and even allowed us to extend our stay by an extra night. The front room is full of pamphlets, maps and information about what to do in Vancouver. The staff were available 24 hours a day and were always polite. Our room was big, clean, quiet and comfortable. We had cable tv with a vast amount of channels and fast wifi Internet. There was a walk in wardrobe and drawers for storage. We used the shared bathroom which was always available and clean. Room service was brilliant, the cleaners are very friendly and always made sure we were provided with clean towels and linen. We also used the washer and dryer in the hotel which was modern and powerful, very cheap.Free coffee and tea in the morning was helpful, and enjoyable.

The location was the best part, a very short walk from stanley park, Robson street and English bay. We walked every where.. Very easy to get to from the greyhound, take the number 19 bus.

Absolutely brilliant, thank you for a great week.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We Aee a young couple travelling the USA on a budget. We LOVED our stay at the Buchan, amazing value for money. We checked in and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even allowing us to extend our stay by an extra night and offering maps and information about what to do in Vancouver. The staff were always helpful and friendly, they re there 24 hours a day. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. We had cable tv and wifi Internet. There was plenty of storage space for clothes and suitcases. We had a shared bathroom which was always vacant and clean. Room service was also excellent, clean towels and linen on a regular basis. Free coffee and tea in the morning and a room full of information, guides and newspapers etc.

The location was superb, minutes from stanley park, Robson street and English bay. We walked every where, including downtown, Yaletown, gas town, china town, Kitsilano and Granville island. Very easy to get to from the greyhound, take the number 19 bus.

Absolutely fantastic, thank you for a wonderful,wonderful stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenvive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This place was great! I felt like I was staying in a piece of history. The room and hotel itself is very basic and old, but well maintained and very clean. It also has an exceptional location in the best neighborhood in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas_2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
414 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#75 of 92 in Vancouver
656 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
796 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#14 of 92 in Vancouver
1,989 reviews
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 92 in Vancouver
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Address: Buchan Hotel 1906 Haro St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: ₹ 4,104 - ₹ 6,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing