We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Staff need customer service training” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Staff need customer service training”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The location of the hostel is convenient for first time visitors to Vancouver as it's convenient to main attractions, shops, nightlife, and eateries. The rooms are sufficient, bathrooms are a good size and clean, and there is a good variation for breakfast.

Unfortunately the front desk staff need more customer service training, they are aloof and more interested on whatever is on their computer screen than the person standing in front of them. The exception is a lovely Dutch lady (unfortunately I didn't catch her name) who is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiM452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCTHostelManager, Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver Central, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear about the service you received and I've messaged you privately to discuss. We aim for a much higher level of service than what you described, and I'm eager to help our staff be successful in their jobs so that we can offer the best service possible to our guests.

Kind Regards,

Keith, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    123
    72
    22
    12
See reviews for
10
67
111
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The Best Hostel in B.C. Great location; only a few minutes walk from the Granville SkyTrain station. Extremely helpful staff. Great facilities; free WiFi, well equipped kitchen, TV room, common room, inexpensive laundry room, ultra clean and modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms and cosy bunks with individual backpack sized lockers in the room. The all you can eat breakfast is a godsend. Situated in the heart of the entertainment and shopping district, stay at HI-Downtown with confidence.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaszanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Overall good experience! The location of HI-Vancouver Central is exactly that, CENTRAL! It was right in the middle of downtown and within walking distance of just about everything! They offer a great selection for the free morning breakfast (bagels, cereal, coffee, preserves, and other assorted pastries). They have private bathrooms and plenty of them. I never had to wait for a bathroom (morning or night). They offer free Wi-Fi, too! I split a private room with a buddy and it was worth it. They had a sink/mirror in the room and a small closet (as well as two individual lockers).
For things to do, we went to Grouse Mt by cab (about $60 round trip) because we didn't want to jump from bus-to-bus (which is far cheaper, but slightly more complex to get to your final destination). We only had about one day to mill around and so we didn't have much time to learn the public transit routes.
Their 'common' areas were not very large, though and the kitchen/seating was even smaller.

All said, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Took a higher floor and it was incredibly quiet, though I'm not sure what it was like on the low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bongo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lustenau, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I liked the hostel, although it was very old, it was clean and good. At the reception desk there are daily activities you can participate. This is really nice and with the "Eriks Tour" you see a lot for less money. Sometimes the breakfast room was overcrowded, because there arent so many tables and seats. Breakfast is included and you get some muffins, bread with jam and milk with froot loops ;)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustriaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed in this hostel for four nights, in a four-bed dorm (for four of us, so we had no strangers coming and going, but one small niggle was that there were no bed lights, so the main light would have been going on and off if people were in and out - it was a little annoying anyway). The beds were comfy and the room was fairly clean, but not sparkling. Shared toilets and showers were pretty clean. We were on the top floor at the front of the building, fronting onto Granville Street, but the lights and street noise did not disturb us.

There was a laundry, paid computer access, free wifi, and breakfast of muffins and fruit was included. However, it was not always easy to eat it as the communal spaces were really inadequate - a few tiny tables and chairs in the kitchen/diner, two sofas in the TV lounge, and a few more sofas and chairs in the lounge across the hall.

But the staff were very friendly and we had a great time there - the lights and seating were really the only issues! This was probably more of a 3.5 than a 3. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,345 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#17 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Granville Street
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
#52 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Property: Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Address: 1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L4, Canada (Formerly Royal Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,133 - ₹ 6,191
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smack dab in the middle of Granville Street's pub and club district, we're one of the newest Vancouver hostels -- and if you're angling for access to all the partying and good times you could want, without compromising on security, comfort, and cleanliness, then we're where you want to be!If you're looking for the fun of a hostel, but still want privacy, you'll love our ensuite private rooms (cable TV included!) and our two-bed dorms. These are our most popular room types, so make sure to book in advance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Central Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing