We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Best value!
Lovely room with king size bed. Excellent location.
We went to the wine festival and walked back after, no taxi required!
Hotel parking is limited but is secure and for $15, it is worth requesting.

Room Tip: Choose king bed with bathroom. They do have rooms with shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    306
    111
    43
    23
See reviews for
104
369
69
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Great Value, loads of character, very friendly staff

I stayed at the Victorian Hotel for 10 days in mid February. Together with my partner and two friends we shared room 23 on the first floor. Although the rooms weren’t massive, they were more than large enough for four adults. The rooms were very clean, the beds extremely comfortable and the cleaners did a great job of maintaining our room.

Although many of the reviews on this site have mentioned that there is a salvation army across the road, there was no noise or any reason that this would be a bad thing. The Hotel is actually situated in a great spot, two minutes down the road is trendy Gastown and plenty of restaurants. And in the opposite direction is the main Downtown centre.

Breakfast is served every morning with fresh bread, toast, bagels, cereal, fruit and coffee and tea. For the price of the nightly rate, the friendliness of the staff, and the character of the rooms we were all very happy indeed.

We also had shared bathrooms that were kept quite clean although could get a little wet in the morning after everyone had their showers.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Vancouver.

Thanks to Cassie and the rest of the staff who we really made us feel at home and we got to know during our stay.

Room Tip: Room 23 had good views from the bay windows and isn't right next to the shared bathrooms. Very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DigitalElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We booked this hotel in order to attend a sporting event at B. C. Place. It was only a few minutes walk from the stadium as well as a number of quick food options. Given the affordable price we were very pleasantly surprised by the nice, comfortable rooms. If you're used to every possible amenity and convenience at one of the major chain hotels, it might not live up to your expectations, but we loved it. The beds and pillows were very good quality and very comfortable. The only concern I would voice is about accessibility. There did not appear to be an elevator although since we were on the first floor, I didn't need it. There are also steep stairs to access the front door. I would not recommend this hotel for someone with mobility issues.

All of my basics - tv with cable, wireless internet, free continental breakfast, clean modern fixtures and finishes - were met. I will definitely book this hotel again on my next trip to Vancouver.

Room Tip: We liked the main floor room facing the street, and did not find the street noise a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCRinBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Vancouver beckoned last weekend! Got a fabulous WestJet seat sale (first time flying with them - awesome), and headed to BC! Booked on line asking for a boutique hotel within walking distance to theatre district, gastown, and got lucky! The Victorian is shabby chic in the lobby, with its quaint little breakfast room, (yes, continental breakfast was included)... but the reception and service was FIRST CLASS all the way! In my two days there, I dealt with our separate individuals at the desk - all of them wonderfuly accommodating, cheerful, and helpful. The room was elegant, featuring high ceilings, good lighting, two double beds with wonderful fluffy white mattresses and linens, lots of sitting space (with bay window), flat screen tv, separate marble bathroom with ext vanity, and soaker tub, large closet and even robes! If you're not looking for amenities (pool, sauna, etc) and want a comfortable, well-situated and easily accessible hotel (30 by cab from the airport - not in rush hour mind you), this is the place! Will go back for sure!

Room Tip: I was given a choice of two rooms - both off the lobby - one was noisier. I chose the quiet one (sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,421 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,522 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,837 - ₹ 18,063
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing