We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds & great pillows, loved the service”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great location with comfortable accommodation and welcoming staff. Lovely views from restaurant.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Ris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank-you for your comments about the Sylvia Hotel, I could not have said it better in so few words, great views, great location, comfortable accomodation and welcoming staff all the things a General Manager wants to hear. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,163 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

If you want everything bright and shiny, this may not be the place for you. But if you appreciate a patina of age, combined with homey comfort, you are sure love the Sylvia Hotel. On our most recent visit, we were given a corner room on the seventh floor, overlooking the busy come-and-go of pedestrians, bikes and cars along the shore of English Bay, yet far enough up for a long view and plenty of quiet. Special pleasures: breakfast in windowed nook in the dining room, re-reading Lois Simmie's Mr. Go-to-Go books in the lobby, and the short walk to see the herons on the edge of Stanley Park. For us, Vancouver wouldn't be Vancouver without the Sylvia

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florence57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

I was so happy to read that you had a chance to read and enjoy the Mr. Got to Go books about our famous cat. We have been a part of the city of Vancouver’s fabric for 100 years next year and will be looking forward to the next 100 years. Please return anytime and we will be happy to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

For a fleeting moment, just before making reservations at the Sylvia for myself and my niece from Santa Cruz, Ca. I wondered if she might find the Vancouver landmark either too urban [lots of traffic, ditto people] or insufficiently posh [what, no boutiques?]. Built in 1912 and nestled into the West End, the Sylvia resembles a small, European hotel in, say, San Sebastian. It has been updated from time to time but will never achieve the efficiency of a modern chain hotel --- if that is what one is looking for. As for my niece, she was won over by the view of English Bay from our room and by the hotel's location: cross the street and you're on the beach; a little further on, and you're in Stanley Park; nearby Denman Street has great restaurants and markets. Our room appeared to have been recently painted and refurnished: the beds were extremely comfortable; the linens, first rate. On the less positive side, the bathroom lacked a fan, and there was a sharp step down from the bathroom to the sleeping area -- a night light or even some reflective tape would have been helpful. The hotel was also having problems with the Wi-Fi connection in the guest rooms while we were there. The computer in the lobby, which seemed to be more dependable, was also available for guest use.
One note: if you're concerned about the layout or size of the room you've reserved, ask if you can see it before signing in. The staff will generally find something more appropriate to your needs if they have vacancies.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BCBackyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank-you for your comments and introducing your niece to the Sylvia Hotel. We do have a great location and views from some rooms and the restaurant and lounge. We are always upgrading the hotel (which is done in the off season) as the rooms are booked most of the year. The step you commented on is only in a few rooms and if this is a concern you can always request a room with out the small step and in most cases we can accommodate that request. I am truly sorry that the WIFI was not working perfectly during your stay, that problem has been resolved. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Sylvia Hotel is a wonderful hotel for a family with children on a visit to Vancouver. We stayed in a corner suite with views over English Bay with two toddlers (1yr and 2,5yr old). The suite has a bedroom, a living room and a small kitchen with all amenities. In the living room is a decent table with chairs which gives you the opportunity to arrange meals on your own. Breakfast downstairs was fairly priced and although mainly consisted of egg dishes ok. Although the atmosphere is more for older people, we felt welcome with our little kids.

The location of the hotel is awesome. There is a beach in front of the hotel with a large walkway towards Stanley Park but also to the east to Granville Bridge. You are very close to Stanley Park so playgrounds or any other outdoor activity for the kids is close by. For the main shopping areas and sightseeing you need to walk a bit or take a bus but we thought the location made up for it.

Although the furniture and the room were a bit worn out and in need of a renovation, we would definitely come back to this hotel. Where else can you find a decent hotel in downtown Vancouver where the kids can play outside in the park and on the beach?

Room Tip: Bayside rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NTC436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

We have so many room types to fit the many needs of our guests at the Sylvia, the kitchen units are great if travelling with kids or staying more than one night to save on restaurant charges. Great access to the beach and Stanley Park. Hope the kids enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Returned for another weekend getaway, this time bringing friends. Once again, enjoyed our stayed. Lovely room with view of English Bay. Considering that this is a perfect ocean location, the hotel does not overcharge, for the rooms or the food & beverage. Brunch was wonderful. We were extremely lucky to have the same waiter we did when we stayed in Oct...Izad was once again very attentive, funny and it was a pleasure seeing him again. Our friends really enjoyed the morning with him as our server. Special thank you to Rick for my birthday upgrade and for taking care of our reservations and answering all our questions. See you again soon. Maybe this time with our boys to watch the fireworks in the summer.
thanks again. two couples from the subhurbs.

Room Tip: check the website for monthly specials, upgraded etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Welcome back, Thank-you for bringing your friends and your comments about appreciating the value we offer. Izad is a proud member of our food and beverage team and I will forward your comments on to him. Rick will also get a note from me about your great comments about his service. I was happy to see that he was able to upgrade you for your birthday. So until we see you again, Thank-you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#45 of 92 in Vancouver
1,471 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,515 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,760 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: ₹ 7,416 - ₹ 12,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing